What would happen if there was no moon? Post 10

Asked daughter, and had me stumped for a bit. All I could think of something related to tides, and tidal waves.

So I turned to my guardian angel – Google. Turns out lots of people have been googling it. So I am not the only one who forgot what she learnt at school.

Did you know, that the moon saves us from asteroids. So if the moon wasn’t there, we(as in earth) would be getting hit much more by asteroids. And that the earth would rotate faster around it’s axis, making our days about 6 hours long! Β I can’t manage with 24 hour days, what would we do with 6 hour ones πŸ™‚

Do you get as fascinated as I do, when you read about our universe. Especially how small we are in the larger scope of things?The wonders of the universe, how our ancestors had learnt the basics of physics by simply observing nature. They fascinate me. Have you watched Professor Brian Cox‘s documentaries on subjects like these? They are so spellbinding.

Watch this video of him explaining entropy amongst other things. I am sure most of us would have loved Physics as students, if our teachers explained it in this beautiful way.

He makes seemingly tough subjects, so easy to understand. Explains it in terms that anybody could understand. Even my 5 yr old watches in fascination when we watch his programmes. His passion for the subject comes through, in the way he talks.

Needless to say, I have taken to watching his programmes on you tube, whenever I get a chance. May be, one day, when daughter asks me a question like, ‘What would happen if there was no moon’, I wouldn’t need to ‘google’ Β it?

26 thoughts on “What would happen if there was no moon? Post 10

  1. The tidal things was the first thing that came to my mind too.. hight tide low tide funda …

    If there is no moon what will happen to all that romance in the moonlight … πŸ™‚
    LOL! That is true! We would not have had so many chand/chandni bollywood songs either πŸ™‚

    Wow 😦 sadly i have forgotten all that tooo.. Physics dont remind me of that MR. HMS Sharma, My physics teacher OH MY GOD I got beaten up by him al lthe time and to top it he was my House master also in hostel.. Oh man … and his pet dialogue to me was “dith dith You are becoming a Crook Each and every day”..

    and another
    “If you pass this year I will Leave teaching “.. pity he never did // not man of his words he he he

    LOL! You hated physics? As I said, we might all have loved Physics if it were taught the way Brian Cox explains it πŸ™‚

    I love the national geography documentaries …

    They are really good, aren’t they?

  2. Haha u r right…i wonder how many of us remember those physics classes. Thankg God for little mercy like Google. πŸ™‚

    I know πŸ™‚ I don’t know what I would have done if there was no Google πŸ™‚

    I am going to chk out that video and more
    Thanks for sharing.

    I wonder half the bollywood songs will loose their meaning if there is no moon.

    That is for sure πŸ™‚

  3. If moon is not there..how ladies will brk their kaurva chauth fast πŸ™‚

    That would be a good thing no? No more fasting πŸ˜‰

    for 6hrs more in a days seems fascinating to me…provided office hours are still 9 only πŸ™‚

    Oh no! A day would just be 6 hours long, because the earth would rotate faster.

    thanks for sharing video πŸ˜‰
    Did you like it?

  4. His passion for the subject comes through, in the way he talks. – I luvvvv seeing/ meeting such ppl Smithu! Such dedication to the cause they are fond of!

    Yes, it is amazing to watch truly passionate people at work, isn’t it?

    Poohi is such a smart girl πŸ™‚
    Smart or curious, I don’t know.. But I am happy that she is interested in a wide variety of things.

  5. I LOVE space science. I even wanted to do discover a new planet, name it Scuba and win a Nobel prize for it when I was a kid πŸ˜€

    πŸ™‚ Now that is what I call a smart amibitious kid πŸ™‚ You could still discover a planet, Rays πŸ™‚

    I’ll watch the vid when I go home…

  6. loved the video smitha,., thanks for sharing..
    “only if our teachers explained it in this beautiful way!” agree totally.

    It is a great vid, isn’t it?

    and as far as moonlessness.. i do not even want to think of that state πŸ™‚

    It is so difficult to imagine, for me.

  7. I didn’t watch the video yet cuz I’m on phone and my phone crashes with YouTube. Ya I need a new phone :D. But wanted to say that i toootally understand what you mean by passion for physics. The husband reads physics textbooks for entertainment. :/ Looks like I wont be needing google either haha.

    LOL! That is a huge advantage πŸ™‚ Seriously, he reads physics textbooks for entertainment ? πŸ™‚
    But yes, I by myself am useless without google baba’s and you tube maharaj’s blessings. :pp

    I know, they are essential in my life πŸ™‚ I could not manage without their blessings πŸ™‚

  8. I’ve always been very fascinated by the universe. I think its mystic, mysterious and magnificent. There’s so much I don’t know. Thanks for this post..It was very informative πŸ™‚

  9. Hmmm.. quite fascinating!! I was blank for a minute!! Couldn’t comprehend what would happen without no moon!!
    And the video is quite fascinating too! Will watch more on Youtube! πŸ™‚

  10. What if there was no moon – half the English phrases would be gone, what would poets moon about, nights would become dull and the fairy tales we weave around that celestial body!! Naah we need the moon for the sake of our fantasies πŸ™‚

  11. Thanks for that video…really interesting one. πŸ™‚

    If children dont ask such questions, we’ll never know the answers…. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ But it was fun googling again and reading all abt it. πŸ™‚

So, what do you think?

