Oh! to be cool..

Will someone please tell me how?

– to walk without a care to school, 10 minutes late to pick up their child after school? Some people I see are so laid back! I wish I had half that attitude. I run like a madwoman to reach school on time 😦

– to not panic when the morning bell goes at school and you are still 1 minute away from the entrance? I panic, and daughter has to calm me down 😦

– to not get into a tizzy when someone knocks at the door, when you are covered, top to bottom with flour, and hands messed after cutting up tomatoes, and the living room looking like a tornado just passed through it. Β  And why does someone have to knock only on the days when everything is a mess? Why, oh why, can’t people drop in unexpectedly when my house is spic and span??

– to be totally calm and controlled when daughter has a nose bleed. I am not queasy around blood, but when it comes to daughter, it is just another story.

If wishes were horses..

But I am cool at some other times, like when daughter announces to the whole world that ‘My mum paints her hair’ or ‘ My mum is 45’! I’ve realized that it works better if I don’t correct her about my age, it Β must leave people wondering about how well maintained I am πŸ˜‰ Cheeky? I might not be cool, but I sure am cheeky πŸ™‚

PS : I decided to post after certain bloggers decided to derive weird conclusions about why people don’t blog πŸ˜‰

43 thoughts on “Oh! to be cool..

  1. Haha!!!

    My mother paints her hair!! That’s hilarious… I literally was for a second thinking.. really.. only to realize… aah! color! πŸ™‚

    πŸ™‚ I know, I was a little confused when she said that too πŸ™‚

    You are completely right about… guests come when house is the biggest mess!

    I sometimes feel like taking pics when it is nice and tidy and hanging them as display pieces – this the way it looks – when you don’t come πŸ™‚

  2. ha ha enjoyed reading this post..Kids they are so sweet and so innocent with their words..house being mess when someone knocks always happens to me as well..

  3. Hmmm y r u covered in fllour and cutting tomatoes. Two things in one time πŸ™‚ .
    And the little one calming u goood
    He he litte one giving secrets out haan

  4. Oh, about people dropping by when we are at our worst, tell me about it!!! Every time my sole neighbour drops in, I am dressed in the same dirty outfit that I’ve been wearing for the last 6 years!!! She must think I go begging on weekends!!

    • LOL! These days I have stopped wearing my decade old clothes(which I love) because I never know when someone will knock at the door πŸ™‚ SOmetimes I even get people who want to get me to heaven’s door quickly, and get even more ardent if I say that I am an atheist 😦 Seeing my state of mess, I guess they must feel that I need help – desperately πŸ™‚

  5. I am with you on the first one. I drive myself crazy to get to Buzz’s daycare on time. Can never be calm about that.

    I know! I wish I could be sometimes! I see people happily texting away and walking to school when I am on my way back with daughter! How cool is that!

    Hurricane, I have a mini hurricane and my house is always a mess. Sigh! we will not talk about that.

    Same here! I tidy it up nice and pretty when she is at school, and all it takes is 5 mins for her to put it back in the same shape! Sometimes I wonder why I even bother – and the day I don’t, I am sure to have visitors!

    LOL at ‘paints her hair’.

    Oh yeah, I am that mum that ‘paints her hair’ πŸ™‚

  6. OMG! I am so so so on the same boat as you. To add to that, I am always, rushing, in a hurry and stuff. My MIL on the other hand never rushes, and she gets so upset at my being perpetually rushed……
    I wish I could be laidback too you know, really really do!

  7. πŸ˜†

    My mom paints her hair!!! heee! That’s the best of the lot! πŸ˜€
    Take a deep breath Smithus! I’m sure all of us panic for the exact same reasons you have mentioned!!

    P.S: Thyankfully I have been blogging consistently, so no such questions have been raised!!!!!! πŸ˜‰ :mrgreen:

  8. Haha! I am glad you posted, fearing the weird conclusions these bloggers would derive πŸ˜›

    Tell me about the people dropping in when your house is messy. It happens to me all the time. Because my house is messy all the time.

    At least you have a child around, who you can throw the blame at and justify the mess. I have no explanation for the perpetual mess 😦

  9. πŸ˜† at all sorts of conclusions bloggers are drawing from your absence πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜†
    I can imagine myself in your shoes someday soon πŸ˜›

    Is that a hint, CB πŸ™‚
    The house being messiest when someone drops in is the story of everyone’s house it seems πŸ˜€

    I know! How unfair is that:(
    Love the sweet way Poohi tries to calm your nerves and says such cute things about you πŸ˜›

    Cute things? Not so cute, CB 😦

  10. ha ha ha….so to clear doubts, u wrote this post huh ???? LOL !!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Oh, how cute she is to tell everyone that u paint ur hair !!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Staying calm under any situation, does require a lot of patience and let go attitude….I am still working hard at it. πŸ™‚

  11. I am unbelievably hyper on school day mornings 😦 both the husband and son have learnt to keep a safe distance away from me on such days. I think we are the first ones to reach school almost every single day πŸ˜₯

    Ahem…Can I tell here that I suffer from the opposite situation? People drop in unannounced to just check if they can catch me with a messy home at least once in their life πŸ™„

    ROFL at Poohi Kutty and her wise talks. So Smi does she tell everyone what colour her mom paints her hair with? :mrgreen:

  12. oooooo i have been one hell of an embarrassing kid for my mom.. I would ask weirdest of questions.. any time, any where..

    πŸ˜€

    Poohi’s dialogues bring a wide smile to my face. Gimmmme morrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrre!!

  13. I remember reading about Poohi’s questions…such imagination!

    It is always there for me…guests coming in on the days the house at its worst in terms of cleaning!

    She is going to be an adoring daughter, Smitha…she is trying to calm you down?!

  14. /*I decided to post after certain bloggers decided to derive weird conclusions about why people don’t blog*/

    LOL!!! I am not the one πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    No they can’t derive those conclusions from you blog absence – hopefully πŸ™‚

    Smitha remember Poohi is going to school and she herself not in a hurry.. so you can be cool πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    I know! She is far more calm than I am πŸ™‚

  15. Ha ha ha! Gud reason to post that πŸ˜‰ And I am glad I posted too phew!
    But Poohi’s annoucements are classic Smithu πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    What’s with the nose bleeding – hope it’s not about now or that she is fine already. Hugs!

  16. LOL @ Hair painting!! πŸ˜€
    EEEEwwwww…. happens all the time… messy home and first time visitors/guests is a rule with me!!
    And also a party invite or an outing on a bad hair day! 😐

  17. Oh I am so with you on this. I am a freak when it comes to getting anywhere for my son.Be it his school, his doctor’s appointmnet, his friend’s B’day party.
    And as for the mess in the house, I have almost given up on that. Because that clean and mess-free home lasts only as long as dad-son duo are out of the house. As soon as they are back in the house, things sort of start jumping out of their places πŸ™‚

  18. Awww….. Bless you!

    Atleast you can stated to people that your house is a home rather than just a building.

    And Poohi is adorable to calm you down when you are stressing to get her to school on time. πŸ™‚

    By the way, what conclusion where people coming up with when you were not blogging???

  19. I guess some parents are just calmer than others when it comes to parental duties or illness of child. But that doesnt mean they dont love them as much as the overly worried ones πŸ™‚

  20. i know this…and i have been a victim of this…and i wonder why it happens to me..glad to know it is not ‘only me’…but yes, it is sad that they never drop in when we maintain things well…and now that you have told about people deriving wierd conclusions on not posting blogs, i should start posting one..long time

So, what do you think?

