We’re on a break..

A half term break, not a blog break. So all you guys who heaved a sigh of relief, that I won’t be bombarding you with posts, well , not so quickly πŸ™‚

It’s daughter’s half term break, and Β it’s already driving me crazy πŸ™‚ We are even busier than we are when there is school. We have play dates planned, day outs, and other exciting plans(for her). And you know what is the worst part, I am reading the ‘The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo’ ,which is riveting and daughter is certainly not happy to let me read!

I envy all those parents who use these breaks to get lie-ins and extra time to relax. For me, it is rounds of cleaning up and tidying up. Don’t believe me? Look at my carpet 😦

And did I tell you that the weather has been going crazy? Just when we thought that spring Β was round the corner, we got this! Snow, all over again. That should teach me to not rejoice so quickly!

You know, I keep complaining about my dying plants. Now I have a plant growing, and I have no idea what it is. I had planted some tulips and daffodils, but this looks different. Any idea what it could be? Is it some variety of tulips?

So what have you guys been up to? Who else is a fellow term break mum here? And how do you plan to get through the week?

38 thoughts on “We’re on a break..

  1. Not sure if it is a Tulip but is gorgeous πŸ˜›
    Love the cool colored mess on your carpet πŸ˜‰ it says a lot about what all Poohi has been enjoying πŸ˜‰
    Have fun πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  2. whatever that plant is its gorgeous

    I love the way it looks, I just wish I knew the name πŸ™‚

    and the girl with a dragon tatto oh I loved it, unputdownable

    It is great, isn’t it? Loving it so far!

    and ojas break starts in april and I am already tensed god

    We have another break in April – one every 6 weeks! Pure torture, I tell you πŸ™‚

  3. Well stop that now moaning about carpet he he he where else does poohie get to drop colour thats assuming she did it he he
    Wish the weather clears up though
    The plant looks nice and snow when we did not get any its raining though

  4. Sigh!! Lie-in? What is that???? (I’m just being ungrateful now, I had almost the entire weekend to myself, with the hubby away with friends and the brat being a sweety, and I’m still cribbing). Btw, Smitha, aren’t you coming down this weekend?

  5. A BIG SIGH!! 😐 A break from school = A messy home + new plans/activities to keep them entertained or free from boredom + derailment of normal routine + harassed mom at the end of the day!! For me the the punishment starts mid march-April first week (15 days!!)
    Lovely flower that is!! πŸ™‚

  6. Awwww
    Have a nice break.. HOpe you do get some time to lie in and finish that book πŸ™‚
    The flowers look lovely.. And the snow too πŸ™‚

  7. Whatever it’s called it looks sooo pretty!

    I can see she is a creative girl from the “mess” on the carpet!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Yes, I love to sleep in during these breaks the most!

    And oh it’s snowing again!!!!!

  8. The new flower looks beautiful, as if fingers holding a flower!

    The picture with the dirty carpet is nice, because it says that your house is a home and not a hospital which is toooo clean. Children or whoever visits, will not be very comfortable with spotless clean house…I don’t feel comfortable to visit such places! Poohi, jug jug jiyo!

    I liked the snow covered plants too!

  9. And why don’t we ‘overgrown’ children get breaks like these every 6 weeks? where the others will plan play dates and outings for us? Sigh.

    Have fun Poohi. Trouble your mum while you can πŸ˜› *Runs away*

  10. Totally empathize with you, Smitha. I am dreading the big one – summer holidays just a month away- and I shudder at the thought of two of them at home for two months!

  11. Whatever the flower is, it’s beautiful!

    And re term breaks…I’m sure several parents empathise with you. This summer, I had so many of my clients’ parents saying they couldn’t wait for school to go back…especially because we had a rainy summer and it meant the kids were cooped in the house! πŸ˜›

  12. I thought I would comment :whatever the flower is, it looks lovely: and then i went through the comment section most of them has said the same πŸ˜› Thoughts of same flowers, bloom together i suppose πŸ˜‰

    Happy cleaning up πŸ˜›

  13. πŸ˜†
    I’m sure you are enjoying Poohi’s break as much as she is! πŸ˜‰
    Hugs to the litle darling and no clue about the plant! πŸ˜‰

  14. Something is growing and you have no clue what it is!! LOL πŸ˜€ I laughed reading it…

    Aha! U thought spring was around the corner? In UK? IN FEBRUARY??? I hope you’re kidding me! πŸ˜›

  15. Poohi is cute,lots of hugs to her and hugs to her mom to keep the house clean when she messes it up…..

    My house is clean till 1.00 in the afternoon and it is mess till the next day morning 9.00.I got used to it,how much ever i do it is the same.Now because of telengana issue we are having bunds very frequently and holidays for the school and a mess house for full day…….

  16. thats a lovely flower! I hope it can survive the bad weather. I live in London, the weather has been pretty decent of late….spring does seem to be on its way in this part of the world!

  17. Just relax, let her dirty everything… Just enjoy with her…

    At least thats what I’d do and tell my wife as well if she caught me making a mess with my son πŸ™‚

    • You create a mess with your son???? Naughty! πŸ™‚ It is either a mess at home, or we are constantly outside. I can’t wait for tuesday, when school starts again πŸ™‚

  18. Why don’t we get breaks every 6 weeks too… and trouble the rest of the gang at home, and they keep cribbing about us πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  19. Oh yeah, u are right abt that one – we are more busy during kids’ break times than school times. πŸ™‚

    U’ll get to relax when the school is closed soon….but be very well planned to have ur own laptop – dont u think of sharing it with the little ones, we’ll never get our time on it. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  20. My little brother was on half tern during that time. I use to get soo jealous whilst he’s still in bed sleeping I have to wake up at 6.30am to catch my 8.30am train. 😦

    Plus I have phone call duty aswell. Where I have to call him in every single break I get and sometimes even whilst 1 lecture/seminar finishes and I’m walking towards my next. :-S

    Plus my university chooses to make us do BIG PRESENTATIONS during the half term week where we are given a take during the week usual monday and we have to present it on friday in front of all the lectures plus our fellow class mates aswell as professional from industry. 😦

    The half term week we had to present the regeneration of Sleaford which also had a Grade II* listed maltings factory and we had to decide what we wanted to convert it into without changing the external design/architecture. And also design a bridge in which it can have trains go over it and vehicles go under it or vehicles & pedistrians go over it and trains go under it. Which was an addition to how to change the city (Regenerate it). And this is a live project taking place which has the highway agency plus Sleaford’s local authorities working on it since the last 10 years (and is still on going) and we’ve had a period of two weeks to come up with ideas & solutions. 😐

    Fun na??

So, what do you think?

