Baking Disaster :(

I am more or less used to kitchen disasters. My cooking does not always give me the perfect result. Who am I kidding, I am happy if what ever I make turns out palatable.

But when it comes to baking, I do get better results. Today, I turned murder 😦 I killed the yeast, apparently. You see, I had this ambitious plan of making cinnamon rolls. It all started when I saw this huge box of cinnamon rolls in Costco. I had to try it out. After hours spent on researching the simplest, difficult-to-mess-up recipe, I zeroed in one. Everything seemed to look fine, until I left the dough to rise. 20 mins and no sign of it rising – at all.

Research tells me that I might have ‘killed’ the yeast with the warm water. I had planned on checking the temp before I poured it in, but, I was in to much of a hurry 😦

It is now one hour, and the dough seems very happy to sit where I left it 😦 No rising, or shining or anything. Do any of you know how to salvage cinnamon rolls which did not rise?

24 thoughts on “Baking Disaster :(

  1. That is because you are not sharing what you bake or cook with the blogsphere people .. NAZAR LAG GAYI πŸ™‚

    so i suggest you invite us all and treat us to all that you cook and then you see such disasters wont happen .. promise πŸ™‚

    and how to save well .. just eat them as they are πŸ™‚ I am sure they will be tasty or give them a different name .. πŸ™‚

    I am the last person who can advice .. yes i can give plenty of advice on HOW TO EAT πŸ™‚

  2. aaah I have had enough yeast disasters in my life to know what to do πŸ™‚

    what could have gone wrong
    1. as u say it cld have been the water temp
    2. or more often than not it could have been the yeast itself trust me

    and what u can do now

    make cinnamon crisps…

    bake it once as a roll and than take it out let it cool cut in slices and bake again at low temp for about 10 mins till crisps… it will be yumm

  3. Smitha next time you bake with yeast try to proof it first. Warm half the amount of water in the recipe and add 1tsp sugar and add the yeast, set it aside for 5mins. Its should bloom if the water is the right temp and yeast not old. Then just dump this water-sugar-yeast mixture to the dry ingredients and continue with the recipe. This way you won’t waste the flour, sugar etc.-experience talking here!

    No clue how to salvage. All I know is if the dough doesn’t raise and you bake it it comes out like a rock-experience #2.

    • Long time, Suma!

      I normally do it, Suma – just this once, I did not 😦 And now, I will always do it. But it turned out not too bad after all. Not as fluffy as I would have liked, but still alright. It did rise in the oven. I have to give it another try to make it properly.

  4. I have no clue how to fix it ,but i’ve killed some mean yeasts myself :-)..I have only worked with dry yeast before and people tell me that active yeast works better. cinnamon crips sound yummy !

  5. Alright.. am terrrible at kitchen..
    (have i ever entered kitchen? *scratches head*) πŸ˜›
    i dont have any sanjeevani to offer for your murdered yeast.. but i could pray πŸ™‚ πŸ˜€
    let us know what happened!

So, what do you think?

