Give us some sunshine!

One of the things that make me happy is sunlight.

The sight of sunlight streaming in through my living room windows, or casting a beautiful golden hue on the beds upstairs, my hungry-for-sunlight flowers soaking in the luxury.. It is amazing, how much power the sunlight has. I would have never said this a few years ago, but now, I truly appreciate the beauty and the need of sunlight. The mere sight of sunlight streaming in lifts up my spirits, makes me perky and bright, has daughter running outdoors to play, so what if it still is chilly.

In the big freeze in December, all my plants in my conservatory died. And broke my heart. This was my first time in a house with a conservatory. Normally all my potted plants are indoors – this time, I did not realize that conservatory does not really count as indoors. I just have 2 plants left, and I pour all my love and attention to keeping them alive. Today, the gorgeous sunlight had me opening every blind and curtain possible, rotating my rose bush until it got sunlight from every quarter. Every new leaf that sprouts has my heart erupting with joy. I think I monitor my plants almost as diligently as I monitored my daughter’s activities when she was younger.

This morning was even more magical. We had a light layer of frost, which had side-walks glistening like millions of diamonds, when the gentle sunlight fell on them! Oh so gorgeous! I only wish I had a camera handy to capture it!

Oh spring, do come soon! How I long for days of uninterrupted sunshine, daffodils,splashes of colour, days spent outdoors, and not having to worry whether my plants are getting their daily dose of sunshine!

31 thoughts on “Give us some sunshine!

  1. yes indeed its sunny in birmingham too.. sadly everything in the garden is dead .. and pot plants gone , but i guess i have got used to it now and know that come spring i have to work a couple of weekends to get it all back into shape..

    It feels so sad, na, when all the plants die 😦 It broke my heart!

    but with the extreme weather this year luckily none of the fish died, last year 3 or 4 had succumbed to the weather condition dont know why..

    oh dear! Thank goodness they did not die this year!

    as i read ur article i looked out and it seems s obright and clear.. dont u think the atmosphere outside is so PURE.. and u can see the blue sky…

    I know! It does feel pure, clean, pristine! I love walking in this weather. I did a couple of miles today – after ages. Had been lazy so far, but the gorgeous weather really makes me active πŸ™‚

    • when there is no snow you need it and when there is plenty of it you want sunshine πŸ™‚

      The grass is always greener on the other side, isn’t it πŸ™‚

      Human tendency to want what we don’t have πŸ˜‰

      Absolutely!

      Sad to know about your plants though 😦

      Yes, makes me very sad..

  2. Suddenly winter is looking beautiful.. I dont have a green thumb at all. i have one plant in the house, and it is thriving.. thats a start right??

    I amnot sure how much of a green thumb I have, but I love plants!

    Spring for me is also at least 2-3 months away!!!

    Same here πŸ™‚ But that does not stop me from wishing πŸ™‚

  3. What a sweet post πŸ˜›
    I am a Sunflower if love for sunshine was in question πŸ˜† πŸ˜†

    I was not like this, CB, but living here has made me into a sunflower πŸ™‚

    So sorry to learn about your plants, but I can totally understand your agony for I too lost my beautiful garden cause of the floods at our end πŸ˜₯ πŸ˜₯

    Oh dear! The floods have been merciless, haven’t they?

    Here’s sending loads of sunshine and colors of spring your way πŸ˜›
    Thank you CB πŸ™‚

  4. wow… you seems so excited Smitha… this is the way I get excited when the surroundings completely surrounded by fog with chillness in air πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  5. Well I must say you sound like a poetess in love :mrgreen: But all said I am a person who can’t tolerate our sunny boy much :cry:The joy you feel when you see the sunlight is exactly what I feel when I see clouds, snow and now the famous SFO fog. Yup, all these bring a spring in my feet πŸ˜›

  6. Nice poem-like prose post, Smitha! I can feel from here, how you feel like! I feel like this when the first rain pours and washes the dust off the leaves of my plants. I can feel their happiness, their bright green colour comes out and the brown dusty layer is washed off. The ground becomes softer for them to spread their roots more!

    I feel happy to go near them unlike during the dusty days because I am allergic to dust. Spend more time plucking the dry leaves and sometimes trim the leafless branches and they look greener!

    Felt happy reading this post Your header is beautiful, Smitha!

  7. Oh Hw I wish u hd the cam handy too πŸ™‚
    I think I monitor my plants almost as diligently as I monitored my daughter’s activities when she was younger. – So true Smithu! That’s exactly how I feel about my plants too πŸ™‚ Some problem and it tugs @ my heart πŸ™„

    Enjoy the sunny days πŸ™‚

  8. Oh Hw I wish u hd the cam handy too πŸ™‚
    I think I monitor my plants almost as diligently as I monitored my daughter’s activities when she was younger. – So true Smithu! That’s exactly how I feel about my plants too πŸ™‚ Some problem and it tugs @ my heart πŸ™„

    Enjoy the sunshine πŸ™‚

  9. Oh yeah….I love the summers…we get to know the worth of every ray of that golden sunlight, only when we lack it for days together…right ??

    I have one teeny weeny tulsi and money plant (no space for any more pots…) and I know how many branches and leaves it has…I know when the new leaf comes…its amazing how we attach ourselves to our potted babies… πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Put up a pic of that rose bush, na… πŸ™‚

  10. Oh…sorry to hear about the plants. That’s such a shame!!

    Love the sunlight too but for different reasons (read: beach) and unfortunately we’ve had an awful summer with rain most of the time. Now that I’m back at work, it’s sunny during the weekdays and rainy on the weekends. Murphy’s law.

    • You must have seen that – when you were here πŸ™‚ I love it so much! The next day, I stepped out , with my camera. There was frost alright, but no sunlight 😦

  11. Pingback: Any Excuse to Write…

  12. Pingback: Give us some sunshine – Again! « Any Excuse to Write…

So, what do you think?

