When the most interesting thing happens to be the weather..

There is a reason why the favourite topic of the British is the weather.

The last few days, we have been gloating over the rest of our friends on this island. The whole country seems to be under 10 inches of snow, while we have a beautiful dusting of Christmas Card snow. Yes, it is cold, and walking outside is as good as asking for a broken leg, but still! At least we are not snowed in. You see, it is normally the other way around. We are the ones with the snow, while those in swanky places like London, call us telling us how much they wished they could have that kind of snow.Β  Well, you asked for it.

We may not have the snow, but we have all the cold and more. The temperatures touching -11 at night and the max daytime temperature has been -4. I have never lived in such cold climes before. The other day, I was convinced that I had lost all my fingers – despite being well covered in warm gloves. I found I was not the only one covering her mouth and nose, in a desperate effort to prevent my nose from freezing and falling off my face.

Yesterday, I mustered courage, after a couple of days, to enter my conservatory. Our conservatory has central heating – but it is way too cold, even with the heating. So we had just switched of the heating there. The only time I would enter it was to water my precious plants. Yesterday, I noticed that there was a layer of ice, in the saucers that I keep under my potted plants, to catch any water that might leak of the pot. Ice! That’s when I realized that my plants were frozen in place 😦 I rescued the few that looked might have the potential to be rescued.Β  Just days ago, they were fine and still blooming. This morning, I found them all lank and limp. I can’t tell you how heart-broken I am. Do any of you know what I could do to save my petunias and geraniums? I am almost too afraid to google, I doubt if I could do anything to rescue them.

This morning, I found my watering can, which I had abandoned, still full of water, in the conservatory when I had seen the state of my plants, was frozen. Daughter had a wonderful time touching the ice and shriekingΒ  – anything to keep her entertained during school holidays which does not involve any outdoor activity.

All these are still alright, but the travel chaos is the worst. People stranded in airports, holidays canceled – heart-breaking, isn’t it Our friends had their holiday planned 6 months earlier, and it almost got canceled. Thankfully, they have managed to board the flight.

You know what is the worst thing to happen? High Street shops are having massive sales to lure people into the shops, and with the weather being the way it is, we just can’t go 😦 Life’s little ironies…

18 thoughts on “When the most interesting thing happens to be the weather..

    • LOL! You all snowed in? We had that 3 weeks ago – and it took 2 weeks for the snow to finally melt away! So I can’t tell you how happy I am that we have been spared the full treatment this time πŸ™‚

  1. This one I get, I live in Chicago and so its COLD here as well. I wished for a white Christmas.. and I got it. Till now, I am not complaining… but the minute I realise in January, that cold is going to be here in MidWest for another three months, I am going to cry and really hope my tears dont freeze!

    • I know! I never wish for snow anymore 😦 I used to – when we first came here πŸ™‚ We have three months of cold to look forward too. This year, it has started really, really early!

  2. Getting the shivers just reading your post. Come to Delhi, it’s cold, sunny and you”ll love it.

    And I just told a fellow blogger(from Birmingham) that you are in London. LOL

  3. the ones who have snow don’t want it and the ones who don’t have snow want it so much πŸ˜€

    Yes yes I know I would not want snow once I’ve tasted it’s after effects but as of now I want,I want πŸ™‚

  4. The only time I experienced the ‘coveted’ snow πŸ˜› was when I had gone to Shimla πŸ™‚ and I loved it..
    But seriously… after a while.. it is BAD! It was a fun trip so we had to go sight seeing.. we couldn’t sit in the hotel, right! Walking in the snow.. I didn’t realise when my shoe slipped off from my foot.. it was so cold!!!

  5. LOL @ Life’s little ironies… how very true… with all the Sales happening, we are still stranded indoors! But hey, we could still shop online πŸ˜‰ if BT and Virgin allow us to πŸ˜‰

  6. The last sentence made me grin!!! Too cute!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Man..haven’t lived anywhere that cold. It did snow in London while I was there…but the central heating worked well so I was spoilt silly. This sounds freeeezing…brrr!!! 😯

So, what do you think?

