Christmassy fun!

It is nearly Christmas, and usual, we are made aware of it in more ways than one. Everything is lit up and the holiday feel is already here.

Our Christmas tree is up, and someone is very busy singing Christmas songs and all pretend-play is based on the ‘special baby Jesus and Mary and Joseph’. All the after effects of the Christmas concert at school.

Today was the special day. She woke up all excited. We had been issued instructions on how we needed to be early, and how we need to be in the first row(which we could not make, there were parents who were quicker than us). But we did make it to the second row. It was Husband’s first Christmas concert experience, he did not make it to last year’s performance. I don’t think he is going to miss any more Christmas concerts(or any other concert that daughter takes part in), ever again.

I was reading through what I wrote last year, and surprisingly, it was exactly the same this year. I was still moist-eyed at the end of it, despite having seen it all last year. Can we as parents, ever have enough of seeing our children on stage? All of us parents were buzzing with excitement, and the sight of our children had us waving, in delight and excitement. The excitement levels were so high that they first had a ‘big wave’ to get it out of the way!

The performance was so beautifully executed! The teachers gently getting the children to follow the cues, they managed small hiccups like a little boy getting upset beautifully, without making him feel worse, and the children, they were so cute! They just gave it their all! Singing, performing..just having a wonderful time!

Every time I attend an afternoon like this, all I can do is be thankful for the loving environment that Poohi has at school. The genuine care and concern of the teachers makes me count my blessings. I just hope that daughter gets a happy and safe environment everywhere she goes.

And now she has the school Christmas party to look forward to – what a fun life! I want to be a child again! I wonder if they would take kindly to a mother gate-crashing?

23 thoughts on “Christmassy fun!

  1. That is how Christmas should be, especially for kids.
    As for the Christmas play, I still remember the one my niece had in kindergarten- she was Joseph and a boy was Mary!! How we laughed.

    I echo your thoughts on a happy and safe environment.

    Early Christmas wishes to you and specially to Poohi!

  2. how cute is that πŸ™‚ issued instructions on being early and in the first row πŸ˜€

    I can imagine your happiness [on stage performance],satisfaction [great environment at school] and concern [wherever she goes the good environment that she deserves]

    Pat on Poohi’s back and wow she’s going to have a Christmas party too,yay !! True that..what a fun-filled life these kids have…ekdum tension free πŸ™‚

  3. Awwie.. do you have pics of her on stage? πŸ™‚
    I love December because of Christmas and keep dreaming about my Christmas parties in school. Wish I could go back πŸ˜€

  4. awwww next year on their annual day will be the first time I will so ojas on school and N says he is sure I will cry truck loads πŸ™‚ it must be a such a mixed feeling to see them on the stage… u must be very proud

    give her a pat from my back and a huge hug

  5. If they r gonna take it kindly, I wud luv to join too.
    But seriously, thatz so true abt parents no. I was an MC for an event recently and my parents behaved as though I hd just won an Oscar πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
    Lovely post Smithu πŸ™‚ Snaps mangta hai πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

  6. So much fun for poohi,here we dont do much for Christmas here but in dubai varu school used to celebrate christmas by decorating the christmas tree by the kids.

    Want to see the snaps in fb πŸ™‚

  7. Smita said already what I was about to..the post does look incomplete without the pics! Pics please!

    I can so imagine how proud and grateful you must have felt after watching Poohi perform, Smits. Hugs and ummas to kunjumani :). Let her know her Deeptiaunty is very very proud of her too, will you?? God bless the li’l darling πŸ™‚

  8. Yes, really this is so much fun and a proud moment for the parents. πŸ™‚ Am glad for such moments for you. Enjoy… πŸ™‚

    Christmas tree pic, plz….

    So, whats baking there for Christmas ???? πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›

  9. So, Poohi and her baby hearted mother, are enjoying christmas celebrations?

    Yes, we never get bored seeing our children on stage. Every performance will be a memorable one, ask me!

    Enjoy!

  10. Xmas is always fun, isnt it ? Oh, Im missing my old office now ! i just hope these busy souls here have time for such celebrations !!

    and like last year, WHERE ARE THE PICS ???

  11. That show sounds like it was wonderful, Smithu!! I repeat earlier request… hope u took loads of snaps!!! πŸ˜€

    And a Christmas party too?? Listen, you borrow my polka-dotted frock, I have two. And we’ll tie our hair in pigtails, and pump shoes and socks… no one will know…

    πŸ™„

    I wanna go to this Christmas party!!!! I’m sure they’ll have cake there!! πŸ˜€

  12. Christmas always have this wonderful festive feel and that too in UK it will be really good πŸ™‚

    All the parents were really happy to see their kid on Stage.. πŸ™‚ Enjoy these wonderful moments Smitha πŸ™‚

So, what do you think?

