Just curious..

Actually make it very curious and very envious, of those people who manage to wear a little black dress, with no tights/stockings, high heels, and a little excuse of a jacket, and yet manage to drop off their kids at school, without dropping dead with hypothermia?

And this when most of us are wearing multiple layers, covered from top to toe, and still shivering, by the way. Not to mention that the temperatures are nearly touching zero, and it is a very, very frosty morning?

How do they manage it? We used to see people dressed like this in Leicester Square or Covent Garden, in London, but they clearly looked like they had alcohol to help them along. At nine in the morning, outside school, I doubt if the yummy mummies I mentioned earlier got any help from alcohol. Anyone here knows the secret?

And yes, winter is most certainly here.

 

 

 

 

94 thoughts on “Just curious..

  1. Hee hee… I wonder the same too. Especially those folks who wear mini-skirts, but wrap a pretty pashmina around their shoulders?!!!!!!


    I know! I so wish I could figure out how they manage it πŸ™‚ ALl the layers I am forced to wear, makes me look really fat 😦

    Btw, firstuuuu….. Will call u back once R goes to sleep Smiths!
    Not a problem πŸ™‚

  2. LOL I know I think they just get used to the cold, I once had a friend from US visiting us in dec in delhi and she went out with a small dress and I was like what? its cold and she said yes I have a jacket… baah πŸ™‚

    • Yes, that must be it πŸ™‚ But even people who have lived here all their lives need warmer clothes to combat the cold πŸ™‚ But some people, I can’t help be amazed πŸ™‚

  3. He he may be beauty just wins over the cold-beast πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰
    Hd met a lady once who said wearing all those layers would hamper the beauty of her dress! And this ws when it was freezing cold in Manali! So there :mrgreen:

    That must be it πŸ™‚ But you sure need a LOT of will power to dress like this πŸ™‚

    • Vampires? You want me to be scared and cold during the school run πŸ™‚ Goodness, I shall never be able to see that woman with out that doubt running through my head πŸ™‚

      • Or, they could have learned the ancient secret of keeping oneself warm by chewing on some herb or the other. It is said that the ascetics living in the Himalayas use this technique to survive in the harsh cold . πŸ™‚

  4. Winter has set in there?? Has it started snowing too?? Post pics, Smitha, fast fast!


    Winter has set in here, but no snow yet. We wait for snow, until it happens, and then wonder, why? Why did we ever think that snow would be fun πŸ™‚

    As for secret, I’m as curious to know as you. So let me know when you find out πŸ™‚

    Will do , Deeps πŸ™‚

  5. LOL!!! Good question πŸ˜› I keep asking this when I see a bollywood movie where the hero is wearing an overcoat and the heroine wud be either in a LBD or a sleeveless blouse and a sheer saree πŸ˜€

  6. As Smita says, I was also wondering why this discrimination between heroes and heroines?!


    Me too! I could never understand the logic behind this. I just end up feeling sorry for all those actresses 😦

    Those ladies must be freezing inside and not outside!

    That must be it πŸ™‚

  7. i guess it is just getting used to it … i expected it to be much colder than it actually was , so while my friend was decked in layers, i just had my 100 Rs shawl and a jacket … and was not cold at all …. I was surprised too, as I had grown up in a v hot/humid place where temp never went below 25, and i used to find the 21 deg a.c. at office chilly …. surprising how our body adapts !!!!

    • Welcome here Deepa. Yes, it is a matter of getting used to it, as well, but when only one or two people are dressed like that – it does make you wonder, doesn’t it πŸ™‚

  8. πŸ˜†

    And talk about the actresses who wear short dresses and carry sexy [almost lingerie look alike] blouses in the scenes where the hero is well coated with fur and what not πŸ˜‰ But hey at least they’re getting paid for the show off there…what are the real life women getting ?? πŸ˜‰

    • Oh yes! I can never ever understand that! And what irks me is that the actresses seem to be fine doing scenes like this? Doesn’t it make them mad? Yes, they are getting paid to do that.. As for real life women – it beats me – unless the genuinely don’t feel cold!

  9. This might be just the individual body mechanism. Some people tend to have better adaptivity to extreme cold than rest. Otherwise why will some people wear sweaters in chennai weather too πŸ˜‰ while some yummmy mummies you mentioned bares it all πŸ˜‰

    • There has to be some body mechanism which allows them to survive the cold.

      Sweaters in Chennai weather! LOL! That is even more unbelievable than yummy mummies not wearing coats πŸ™‚

  10. Smithu I would have loved to take the pain to answer your question by undergoing the experiment on myself. But am sure that will end up in a slight change in my status which will be “Single and not left in a state to mingle” πŸ˜₯

  11. Even i wonder in movie songs which is picturised in snow the actress wears less clothes, but for them they have heaters once the shot is done they go and sit near the heaters.

    Slight change in the season i wear sweater and make kids also wear it.

    • I don’t wear sweaters at the slightest climate change – but I definitely need my layers of clothing when the temp starts nearing zero πŸ™‚ Poohi is totally immune. If she has her way, she will discard her coats and everything and wear a t-shirt with a skirt πŸ™‚

  12. women dont feel COLD.. did you not know that .. and offcourse even if they do , they ahve to show off the new jacket or the new shoes etc etc

    Then why, why, why was I not given those genes??? 😦

    I always wanted to ask this question and now that you put a article i do need o ask it DO women not feel the cold..

    I certainly feel the cold – and I am a woman too πŸ™‚

    the other night i was working on broad street in birmingham and I was wishing i had another layer of clothes on me, i alreayd had shirt-fleece-vest-floruscent jacket.. and i was still cold ..
    but there were ladies with as good as nothing on and it seemed they were pretty fine with it .. πŸ™‚

    At night, I am convinced that alcohol does help πŸ™‚ Especially in this country πŸ™‚

    winters are here the car had ice , deicer coming to use now πŸ™‚
    Oh yes it is! The roads and the pathways are all icy and slippery 😦

  13. Lol! Well, at the place I was at previously, average temperatures during the day ran around -10 to 15F (-20 to 26C). At this current city, temperatures are like at your place – around 2 to 5C during the day mostly. I don’t bundle myself up in heavy coats and boots any longer, just a pair of jeans and a fleece is enough. Going by that logic, maybe these ladies you mention are from the poles? πŸ˜€

    That must be it πŸ™‚ They must be from one of the poles πŸ™‚

  14. I sooo know wht u mean … here I was shuddering as I went to work at Seoul and there had chinks all over perfectly dressed as if it wear summer…

    It made me wonder where secretly they have invented electrical heating in underwear and I am blissfully unaware πŸ™„

  15. They are definitely high on something my friend. And yes London is def. much more fashion conscious than happy and casual suburban America!!! What to wear while dropping my kids to school was something I never thought I would mull over!!!

  16. no clue.. i just layer up the clothes when the temperature dips.. its getting cold in delhi … but of course its not as cold as it is in ur place…and thank god for that.. i’d simply d-i-e in the winter otherwise!

  17. Pingback: Nothing much to talk about… Post 20 « Any Excuse to Write…

  18. Pingback: The cheat that is.. | Any Excuse to Write…

So, what do you think?

