The Trials of Motherhood

PnA’s post, reminded me of how I have crossed over to the other side of the divide.  I am now a mother tut-tutting away at all that I consider ‘inappropriate’ for my daughter, while she looks for ways to flout my rules 😦

Poohi is extremely girly, in a way, I never was(and still am not). She loves nail colour, and long nails, and is absolutely unable to understand why she can’t have all of it.Thankfully, she is more fond of school than nail colour and all that jazz, so telling her that she can’t wear nail colour because school does not allow it, works.

This last holiday, however, she found a way to get around that rule.

And if nail colour was not enough, she also wanted some body art!

and some more 😦

Disclaimer – Those long nails are the effect of not letting someone’s mother cut nails 😦 Thankfully school is far more exciting than long nails, which is a mercy 🙂

37 thoughts on “The Trials of Motherhood

  1. Haha!! Lol…it took me back to my childhood days…a little before I was a complete tomboy. I went through a girly phase and always wanted to try on my mum’s lipsticks but wasn’t allowed to. However, in junior kindy, I was part of a dance and needed to wear lipstick and I still have pics with my mouth wide open because I thought if I shut it, the lipstick would rub away! 😛 And I’ve tried Poohi-like nail polish although it was red… 🙂 And it is a good thing she likes school better than all this!!! 😀

    It is a mercy that she likes school more than all this:)

    LOL@ because I thought if I shut it, the lipstick would rub away! I remember feeling all exotic the first time I got lipstick on my lips -for some school drama, if I remember right 🙂

  2. 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 Nail paint and body art 😛 😛
    From a totallly girly cum tomboy phase to an absolute loss of a dress sense at the Uni which unfortunately still continues… I’ve known it all!

    LOL, PnA!

    All the experiments were during those Summer hols and Christmas vacation because schools allowed nothing other than a gold stud for a earring nothing more to decorating the bodies!!

    Oh yes! The lure of the forbidden 🙂

    oh Poohi 😀

  3. Aww….Poohi is a cutie pie 😛 😛
    She is like me as far love for school overpowering all other attractions 😀 😀 😀

    🙂 Thank god for that 🙂

    Loved that attempt at a green nail paint with colored pens 😀

    You too, CB 🙂

  4. So cute, typical girlish, as you said, Smitha! She must be fond of tattoos too, then, we get them free with bubblegums!

    Really? It’s good hat she does not know that then:)

    Poohi, good work, paappa!

    Good work? You have no idea how much effort it was to wash all that off 🙂

  5. I was never a girly girl throughout my childhood..though have changed a bit post marriage 😀

    oooh! That sounds interesting;)

    But I always loved making art any where on my body which was feasible 😛 and Dad was the one against all those sketch pens drawing on my palms and legs ..just like Poohi 😆

    LOL! You too 🙂

    So,I think this one is common with every kid..taking ones body as the landscape 😉

    I guess 🙂 So all those people getting tattoos actually are kids at heart 😉

    And as far as her being totally girly right now..you never know..she might turn into a tom boy by the time she grows up..these preferences change and I have seen my friends go through these changes 🙂 So let’s hope Poohi goes through this change too 🙂

    Am sure she will 🙂 Am sure she will go through all those crazy phases 🙂

  6. Awwww Poohi Kutty and her body art. Let her do all that na? It’s so adorable than having a boy who thinks life is all about wheels and planets and continents 😥

    Oh no, Saksh! She talks about planets too 😦 She has been obsessed by planets for a while now. And all her whys? Am not sure which is better makeup or whys about planets 😦

    Tell me did she pose for you to take all these pics? She must have been mighty proud of her masterpiece ain’t she? 😆 I loved the snail like swirls she painted on her knees 😛

    Yes, she wanted me to take pictures – she was very proud of her art – unlike her normal stance of ‘no more photograhs’ 🙂

  7. Oye! Cutie pie. I love this little girly girls…. I was never one myself, and so i think I like them even more…. send her over, and I will give her all teh nail paints, and manicure sets she wants!! kisses to the lil darling.

  8. Totally girlie girlie….Hugs to the little girl….. 🙂 🙂

    Oh my….all these girls want to try out everything na….I like the body art on her….btw, what has she drawn ????

    Thank God, she prefers school, Smithu…I totally understand that feeling. 🙂

    And its another pain to wash all these off the skin… 😉

  9. Awww my sweetheart. U r multi-talented I say 😉 See hw many things u hv learnt @ this young age 😛 Smithu, she gives u a blog post and even poses for pics so well and u complain che che 😉 😉

  10. LOL, Smits! I need to thank my stars that I read this post of yours when Namnam was away in school. And I’m not sure if I’ll show her Poohikutty’s work of art either..If I do that, I’ve no doubt she will insist that I let her grow her nails too, not to mention get her a green nail paint as well 😀

    Know what, y’day she had applied ‘nail polish’ on her hands and legs with her blue sketchpen and as if that was not enough she was running after Ravi to paint his nails 😆

    Ummmmmas to my kuttimani BTW..she is the sweetest!! For one she is giving you ample fodder for blogposts 😀

  11. green color nailpaint…wow 🙂 I like her drawing on knee 🙂
    Me too like you was never interested in any girlie thing and just thinking how angel will turn out 🙂 She once applied my lipstick on her hands and also on whole face while trying to attempt to put it on lips 🙂

  12. Enjoy all that and some because you can say ‘body art’, she would have grown up and flown! She sounds like a little person with oodles of charm 🙂

  13. LOL!!! 😀 The title is SO apt for this post!!
    She brought back memories of my own childhood…and I was as bad. It was only during my teenage that I went on to being tomboyish—the effects of which last till today, much to my dad’s dismay.although I’ve sobered down a lot now…

    Let her be… she’s enjoying being a kid… u’re a watchful mother anyway so u wont let her get into trouble either. she’ll be fine…but can i say the same abt u? 😀 😉

  14. ha ha ha 🙂 🙂 what a childhood without body art 🙂 at least she is not drawing on the walls… 🙂

    And I loved the conversation of planets.. is that become such an important topic in KG classes.. 🙄 interesting 🙂

So, what do you think?

