Public Displays of Affection

.. that I love!

Daughter hugging me and planting dozens of kisses on my cheeks in the middle of an aisle in a supermarket buzzing with weekend shoppers, kind of made my day. Even more so because there was no real ‘reason’ for it πŸ™‚ It was just a spontaneous display of affection that she just had to make!

Every time I see her, I marvel at the big girl that she has become. All set to enter the threshold of ‘big school’. Proper school finally, with uniforms and all. Last Friday she had aΒ  story telling session at school, and off she went without a backward glance. Broke my heart and made me proud at the same time.Β  She had been going to nursery since last year, but big school is big school. Now she gets to go to school ‘everyday’, the thought of which makes her beam with excitement.

As she crosses milestones after milestones, the happiness is mixed with a tinge of sadness that my baby is not going to be my baby for too long. Soon, such public displays of affection will not be ‘cool’ anymore, and I might just have to read this post to remind me of the time when I was so adored by daughter!

43 thoughts on “Public Displays of Affection

  1. Pingback: Public Displays of Affection | ΓονΡίς σΡ Δράση

  2. First!!! Oh, I sooooo understand what you are saying. Things like spontaneous hugs and kisses and ‘you’re the best’ will very – very soon – be things of the past… good idea, Smitha, to look back at these posts when we need them one fine day πŸ™‚

    I know! Already she just walks off to her class without a backward glance! Not even pausing for a quick hug 😦

  3. Awww…it’s like all these kiddos are growing right in front of us. Poohi ij a big girl now. Ummas.

    I know! Too quickly for my liking 😦

    BTW I don’t mind the other kind of PDA once a while. πŸ˜‰

    I don’t mind that either πŸ™‚

  4. Awwwww! Hugs. I can imagine the bitter-sweet feeling you are having right now. I am sure the love remains just as much all their lives, its just that they are under peer-pressure once they grow up. πŸ™‚

    I agree. And once they get conscious, they are less spontaneous 😦 But hopefully the feeling will still remain πŸ™‚

  5. Enjoy it while you can…M doesn’t let me even pat her in public let alone plant a kiss…

    She doesn’t let me do it, but she does hug and kiss when it suits her πŸ™‚

  6. awwww I know what u mean… each time they cross a milestone the heart goes awwwww together with what???

    I know! I am happy and sad at the same time!

    hugs to u and the little big poohi

    Thanks Mon, and hugs!

  7. Awesomeness is the name of this post… seriously… I always am worried my son is growing up so fast… !!! when he clings to me after a movie show sleeping in my hands… or when he just clings on my back I simply love it… and yes… it wont happen soon… !! Sigh… !

    I know ! They grow so fast, don’t they! I wish I could capture this phase and preserve it just like this πŸ™‚ These such lovely moments, aren’t they?

    another thing about the big school, while Hriday wasnt so keen about his school in Indore, over here I just have to whisper in his ear when he doesnt get up, “We will miss your school bus, do you want chutti ?” and he is up !!! He has started absolutely loving his school πŸ™‚ here in bharuch.

    Wow! That must be wonderful, that he likes it so much πŸ™‚ Poohi is happy in her new school too. Next week is going to be the real test when she goes full time. This week, they come back after lunch – so it is just half a day.

    and about Public Displays of Affection… I have no no offence to it at all… !!!! 😈

  8. Poohi ready to go to school, wow. Best wishes little one.I remember my emotions from last year. It came back this year as S started school here with uniform, bigger backpack etc… My younger will start prek next month and I am not sure I am ready for it πŸ™‚

    Aww! They do grow up too fast! A is ready for preK already?

  9. Oh, so sweet Poohi…I love the way she did it….in the aisle !!! Such spontaneity to express love is so cute and I miss it terribly. πŸ™‚

    I can imagine πŸ™‚ Am sure I will be missing it in a little while too πŸ™‚

    My daughters try to wriggle out of my hug, when we are out, so nicely and quietly, not to offend me !!! They dont want to hold hands too…. 😦
    LOL! I can imagine πŸ™‚

    But, thank God, its the total opposite at home…so much hugging, that I tell her to give it a break…he he he…lol…#

    Aww!! Hugs to the two darlings! That is so sweet!

    Extra special hugs to Poohi, who made her mom so happy with pride. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Oh yeah, kids grow up so fast…enjoy all these moments. πŸ™‚

    Will do Uma πŸ™‚

  10. she will adore you with a different style πŸ™‚ that’s how it happens I guess when the kids grow up..the parents don’t πŸ˜€

    Hopefully πŸ™‚ Fingers crossed πŸ™‚

    But yes you can always come back to this post and more to read and remember Poohi’s childhood…

    That was what I was planning to do πŸ™‚

    I’m glad she is growing into this smart and independent girl who doesn’t have to look back while performing on the stage…3 cheers for her πŸ™‚

    I am glad that she is not the clingy whiny sorts, you know. It would have been quite tough on me then…Atleast I know that she is fine and can take care of herself.

    HUGS to your Smiths πŸ™‚

    Thanks Scribbler πŸ™‚ Hugs!

  11. Nice heartwarming post πŸ™‚
    So long as there is affection between kids and their parents, I guess its OK even if the PDA is bomewhat curtailed. Lets just enjoy this so long as it lasts…and hope that it doesn’t last ever πŸ™‚

    I agree πŸ™‚ And we can only hope that even if they don’t show it, they still feel the same affection πŸ™‚

  12. Aah. I hear you.

    I am feeling it already with my kid. Ibrahim is a yr and 9 months old and he already runs away from any kind of hugging and sloppy kisses.

    It is acceptable ONLY when they chose to show us some affection πŸ™‚ never the other way around πŸ™‚

  13. These PDAs are so sweet-you should cherish them. Now we have major showdowns everywhere. How I long for these sweet moments.

    I know for sure that all this won’t last long πŸ™‚

    And yet it is such a joy to see them grow up-happy and confident.

    So true.

  14. Awww..hugs, Smits!! I hear you! Our kids are growing up much faster than we want them to 😦

    I know, Deeps 😦 Too fast for my taste. Madam went to school today – her first day, and asked me to leave as soon as she was there – Parents are allowed to stay on for a little while – but all this one wanted was for me to be out of sight πŸ™‚

    Ummas to Poohikutty! Here’s wishing her all the very best for her ‘big school’ πŸ™‚

    Thanks Deeps πŸ™‚ Will pass the ummas and the wishes already seem to be working πŸ™‚

  15. Aww thatz so so sweet Smithu. Sigh! Hw I wish I cud hv met the li’l girl before she grows up soo much πŸ™‚
    Muahs Poohikutty. Enjoy all that u do sweetheart. Live life πŸ˜€

    Hopefully we will meet the next time – or even better, plan to come here on holiday πŸ™‚

  16. Such PDAs are so cute and sweet and leave a lingering feeling of happiness! πŸ™‚
    Have a great lovely time savoring all these goody good times!
    Cheers πŸ™‚


    Thanks Shilpa πŸ™‚ Yes, such PDAs are really heart warming, aren’t they? Well, she decided to undo the good work, by asking me to leave her class as soon as I dropped her at school. All the other parents were lingering on, with their children holding on to them. Mine had to have her own ‘space’ πŸ™‚

  17. Childhood finally becomes a collection of memories.So give them cherished moments to memorize.Growing up is th best times of parenthood.We will keep our memories as well.The fondest memories are the earliest ones !

    I guess the memories are more for us to cherish πŸ™‚ I wonder how much of all this she will remember, but hopefully I will always.. Welcome here, Dr Antony.

  18. Poohi is one little sweetheart πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    Enjoy every moment of all this but worry not, for somethings will never change even if the way to express it might πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
    Hugs to the little princess and her sweet mum πŸ˜€

    Thanks CB πŸ™‚ ‘for somethings will never change even if the way to express it might ‘ – I certainly hope so πŸ™‚

  19. All the best to the “big” girl and also to her mother who is feeling left out πŸ™‚ nd now you just need to wait for her to become a teenager..

    ‘nd now you just need to wait for her to become a teenager..’ – That is all I need πŸ™‚

  20. That is soo cute. I think little boys are a wee bit more reticent about PDA. My son at the ripe old age of 5 advocated a strictly hands off policy once outside the home :)My daughter now 8 has no such hang ups, though.

    LOL @ ‘My son at the ripe old age of 5 advocated a strictly hands off policy once outside the home ‘! Your daughter doesn’t miind? That gives me hope πŸ™‚

  21. So many awww’s above me; even hitchys started with aw !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    there goes your anti-awww campaign πŸ™‚

    Poohi will always be poohi for all of us; however BIG her school is ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    LOL! Yes, I should tell her this πŸ™‚

  22. Awwww such a cute post..I knoww..sometimes,even I am filled with an overwhelming sense of wellbeing,when my little one suddenly comes and hugs me..and I want to just keep her there..coz soon,it will be uncool to hug ur mom..ohh why do they have to grow up!!

  23. I’ve a nice idea.

    When she grows up, have another one πŸ˜‰

    Nice idea:) Why don’t you implement it and the rest of us will copy if it works as per plan πŸ˜‰

  24. I dont mind it at all.. I remember us guys having a hug now and then when we meet, or sometimes holding others hand here when i came to uk I had a funny incident we were sitting in a pub and as we were talking i happened to put my hand on my FRIENDS leg or thigh he jumped up as if someone had pricked him.. DONT TOUCH MY LEG.. I am not GAY
    and i was like confused what does he mean, I asked my cousin whats all that about and he told me here people dont like or think otherwsise

    Lai I said hamare india main, this is the only way of showing LOVE.. a BIG HUGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG to anyone and everyone …


    LOL! You know what? When I first started work, we had a training programme, and one of the subjects was cultural differences. So the guys were told not to hold hands or hug or stand with arms around each other πŸ™‚ And one time when I was in the US, there was one guy who used to go around throwing his arm around others and all the guys usde to run πŸ™‚

    soon the kids will be all grown up time flies …

    I know 😦

  25. awww so very , very cute:)
    *touchwood*
    lots of love for your little one

    Thanks Indy πŸ™‚

    Daughters always are their mom’s confidante you know. And dad’s bratty, ‘butter wouldn’t melt in her mouth’ princess.
    Its a centuries old fact πŸ˜€

    LOL! That sounds about right πŸ™‚

  26. Pingback: Maan & Geet: Geet’s Affection 4 Maan – Bhaage Re Mann | Articlewrap.com

  27. Poohi..growing..as you said save this post…So sweet of her..

    I plan to πŸ™‚ I have a feeling that I will have to read this to remind me of how she used to be πŸ™‚

  28. No No…. u’ll get PDA’s after a few years also.. maybe when u let her pick up that secret bottle of wine/beer for her sleep over … You are a cool mom that way aint you πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ … why is your nose red.. r u fuming πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

  29. she become a big girl… I myself still imagining her as a very lil kid I have seen in your FB photos..

    Should meet you and poohi soon Smitha… But UK is very far away from here, u see..

  30. “Soon, such public displays of affection will not be β€˜cool’ anymore, and I might just have to read this post to remind me of the time when I was so adored by daughter! ”
    So true…at teenage all this becomes embarrassing and uncool πŸ™‚
    I still kiss and hug my mom a lot πŸ™‚

So, what do you think?

