A Place Called Home

It is funny to think how a once alien place becomes home. All it takes is time and friends.

A few years back when we had first come to the UK, we had felt quite lonely and desolate. After having a wonderful circle of friends and family in Bangalore, London had seemed quite cold( both literally and figuratively). Our lives revolved around work, deadlines, and weekends devoted to housework and sightseeing.

Slowly we made new friends and acquaintances, some at work, some at obscure places like Pizza hut, where we ended up chatting to our next table neighbours, some in our apartment lift. London soon became home for us. The fact that local shopkeepers and even cashiers at the neighbourhood supermarket starts recognizing you. And just as you get comfortable, life has a way ofย  handing you something new to tackle, and we had to move to Leeds.

The same cycle started all over again.Moving to another new place, making new friends, finding new avenues of having fun, starting afresh. Why am I talking of all this today? From that point where we knew hardly anybody, today, I hardly have a day to myself. Ever since we got back from holiday, my days have been super packed with activities, and Poohi’s school is yet to begin. From an Eid get-together to Ganapati Puja parties, it has been such a busy fulfilling time. Today I invariably run into people I know in the super market, or in the library. It gives one such a feeling of belonging, a feeling of familiarity. Then again, getting to know the cashier at the supermarket might also indicate that I shop way too much there ๐Ÿ˜‰

And when I look back, I am just thankful for everything, for good friends, for the life that we have here, for the knowledge that every place can feel like home. All it takes is a little time, a little effort and some like-minded people – that I have invariably found everywhere I go.

23 thoughts on “A Place Called Home

  1. Agreed lady… people make all the difference, and once we have some familiar faces around and good friends too, the place does turn into ‘home’ ๐Ÿ™‚ Btw, shopkeepers know u well huh? Interesting… Does N ever see ur credit card bill?

    • Yeah, shopkeepers knew me that well ๐Ÿ™‚ Remind me to tell you what happened when we were moving to leeds ๐Ÿ™‚ Credit card bill? He knows better than see it ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Thats what I am lacking here, Smitha…and I find it very strange to feel like this, in my own city. Its certainly not the same like Hyd for us…we so want to get back.

    Am sure Uma, you will find your niche here as well ๐Ÿ™‚ Just give it time ๐Ÿ™‚

    Am glad u found a home, away from home. ๐Ÿ™‚ You are blessed. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Yes, I certainly consider myself lucky. It makes so much of a difference when you feel comfortable in a place.

  3. I now how you are feeling to be in a place where you have home not the house.

    ๐Ÿ™‚ I knew you would know ๐Ÿ™‚

    Few days back i went to my old house to see how it looks now,the moment i got down from auto people started recognizing me,felt so happy.Went there after 8 years and i never thought i will be recognized,the grocery uncle,telephone booth girl and many called me by my name,felt so happy smitha.

    Aww! That must have felt wonderful, Sari!

  4. Such a sweet post, Smits! Yes, it is so important to have friends in your life, just as important it is to have a family. There are times you feel the need to have them around more than anyone else. Especially, when you leave your base, to set up a home elsewhere its the people you meet, the friends you make,who help you make the stay worthwhile and memorable ๐Ÿ™‚

    I know! It makes such a big difference, doesn’t it, when we have people we can count on. Especially when it is far away from home. It makes me just glad that I have these wonderful people around here.

    As the saying goes, ‘friends are the family you choose’. It holds so true sometimes, isnt it?

    Absolutely!

  5. that’s a god sign,right ? Having like minded people around is so much important and then rest of the things fall in place ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hmm..shopping way to much in the store ๐Ÿ˜‰ the cashier is handsome or what ๐Ÿ˜€ LOL

  6. A wonderful post Smitha ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€
    Finding new friends with familiar interests each time you move to a new city is always a challenge but worth the trouble ๐Ÿ™‚
    I am glad you’ve found such loving friends in the new town where you’d moved ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€
    Me too curious about the cashier though ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. Isn’t it nice? We make beautiful memories with new people whereever we go. As I once wrote, Home is where the heart is and my heart is where we make memories. Till we settle, we will remain wanderers creating wonderful memories for our child.

  8. I feel the same. I was full of emotions few months back as we were moving back to India. After couple of months here, I have started making friends. It is such a relief to see a welcoming smile and a friendly chit chat. Friends make our lives whereever we are.

  9. Having lived in the same city for the first 20 years of my life, I used to feel uprooted every time we moved cities or even apartments-now I think it has made our life so much richer with new experiences, and of course new friends. I can relate to your experience very well. (Oh but I still HATE packing and moving house)

    I agree! Every new place comes with it’s own culture, people, and it is such an enriching experience isn’t it? I hate the process of packing and moving house to ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But there still is that anticipation of what might be, that fuels me ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Hugs for this sweet post Smiths. That’s exactly what I felt when we hd so many ppl visiting us during the festival this time. 3 yrs in a new city and so many ppl to call ours – it’s such a lovely feeling ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    You know exactly how I feel ๐Ÿ™‚ It feels wonderful, doesn’t it? That a place we did not even know a few years back is not home.

  11. Pingback: A Place Called Home

  12. In a few days, Im relocating to Kerala ! Chennai is like my second home and its almost 10 years now, but what to do ! Nothings permanent in sales ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I usually dont have a problem with others, but I sincerely hope people in Kerala will spare me alive !! ๐Ÿ˜›

    Relocating to Kerala ๐Ÿ™‚ Nice nice ๐Ÿ™‚ Just don’t show people your blog, then you stand some chance of staying alive ๐Ÿ™‚ Where in Kerala – Cochin?

    • Friends and society makes so much of a difference, doesn’t it? I have been lucky to find like minded people almost everywhere I have been – fingers crossed ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. /*getting to know the cashier at the supermarket might also indicate that I shop way too much there */

    ROFL ๐Ÿ˜†

    True Smitha.. All its needs is a lil time and effort.. surely we can find people with shom we can share and have a nice talk ๐Ÿ™‚ And no place will be difficult to live..

So, what do you think?

