You know you are hard up for time when…

..  You have no time to think

– when you waste no time, and yet, have most of the things that was planned for the day undone at the end of the day,

– when you end up chatting with dear friends over the FB scrabble game or on the blog, instead of writing a nice long mail or calling them up,

– when the car knocks up over 10 miles in under 2 hours while finishing off errands,

– when the clothes go into the dryer, despite the wonderful weather outside,

– when you have no time to comment on blogs, or reply to comments on yours. I can’t tell you how bad I feel about this.

– have loads of unanswered emails,

– when you go to bed at 11:30pm  and still feel guilty,

– when two suitcases have been lying open, and empty for the last three days.

– and worst of all, when you have no time to read all the books sitting around. Can you believe it, I have ‘The Space Between Us, Shantaram, A house for Mr Biswas and the The Sari Shop waiting to be devoured, and I have no time to read. Thankfully, I found out today that the library has a concept called ‘Holiday Renewal’, that might be my only hope. That and if I manage to convince husband that it is absolutely essential that I carry these books with me on the trip..

I am in the midst of getting ready to go on our India trip, and nothing, absolutely nothing seems to get done. To add to it, it is Poohi’s last few days at her old school. Come September, she is moving to ‘big school’, a wonderful school near us. It is all wonderful, but she is so going to miss all her friends from her old school. So in the middle of all this, I still plan playdates with her friends as all of them are going to be very busy once school starts in Sept. I feel bad that she will miss all her friends and wonderful teachers.

I have been getting, ‘knock, knocks’ over my ‘disappearance’, so I felt I had better explain my absence, before you guys accuse me of ‘selective commenting/reading’ 🙂

37 thoughts on “You know you are hard up for time when…

  1. I understand totally. all the best for India trip. Where will u be going?

    Thanks Reema 🙂 We will be going to a bunch of places starting with Delhi, Bhopal and ending up in Wayanad 🙂

  2. Ah those busy days will end soon.Just kiss hubby and kiddo when u feel this way or call them and say “give me a tight hug” :).Have a great trip!

    Welcome here, Deethi 🙂 And thanks for the wishes!

  3. Hey Smitha: I cam empathize so well with you!! My list reads a lot like yours. I’m sorry i’ve missed a lot of ur posts so didn’t know you were coming to India. Will you be coming to B’lore?

    No, HM, You did not miss it – this is the first post referring to my holiday 🙂 I have been kind of lazy in the last few days, lazy and a bit busy with other stuff to post 🙂

    Bangalore is in my wish list, but am not sure if it will materialize – as of now 😦

  4. Then I think I’m awfully privileged to have spoken with you today… and that too, twice 🙂 😉

    LOL! Pallavi, it was so much fun talking to you today 🙂

    • If I tell u I am in that list too, does it make u happy or jealous 😛 😛
      But twice, boohooooo 😦 U take it away from me then 🙄

  5. Oh, you coming to India ? when when? any chances of coming down to chennai ? You can bake me a pink cake, remember your promise ? 😀 😀 😀

    No chance of Chennai 😦 Will bake you a cake, when you come and visit us – remember you forgot to call!!!!!

    Im glad you dont have time to read all those books, cuz then you will put up a book review. Someone like Swaram will get inspired, she will buy the book then and put her book review and the chain will go on !! What do I comment for the same book reviews 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

    Very funny 🙂 I actually have around 6 books to review already, but decided not to torture you guys with it 😉

  6. Hugs!!
    Was wondering where you had disappeard! 😀

    Got busy, Pixie. Last week both Poohi and I fell ill, and then I got busy with stuff, this week 😦 Hugs!!!

    Coming to India?! Niiice… have a great holiday! Let’s meet if it’s possible? 😀

    Would love to! Not sure if Bangalore is happening this time, although I might have to. Will email you, send me your no, and we can chat 🙂

    Wayanad is an awesome place! 😉 😉
    And for the books – pack them all for the India trip! that way you will get your reading done as well 🙂

    I know 🙂 That is what I was planning to do, but I suspect husband will throw a fit, if I decide to do it 🙂

  7. It happens…I too thought when you were no where to see but when you told me the reason few days back I was relieved 🙂

    Yes, I did go missing for a bit 🙂

    I know the feeling..Poohi is sure gonna miss the old school..but as soon as she is settled in her new one she’ll be fine 🙂 I’m sure…

    That is what I am hoping for 🙂

    Have fun in your India trip and come back soon..

    Will do 🙂 Will be back in September 🙂

    • because children are more swift in moving ahead than us elders…they understand the situation quick and move on in life with new zeal 🙂 Poohi will love the new school 🙂 Good Luck Hugs to her !

      Oh yes! Children do adapt so much faster than us, don’t they? I am sure she will be fine 🙂

  8. Oh this is news to me Smiths 😉 😉 😉 Welcome to India and hope we get to meet 🙂

    Fingers crossed! I do hope we get to meet 🙂

    I wud say leave those books behind. U have a lot of them waiting for u here na 🙂 I can give u my entire Indu Sundaresan collection 😀

    Now that is seriously tempting 🙂

  9. Oh !! India Trip !!! WOW !! Smithu, we shld meet !!! Make a trip to Chennai, na !!!! 🙂

    Not much chance of Chennai happening, unfortunately 😦 Will call you 🙂

    I think Poohi will do fine in her new school too !!! Actually, children adapt and change very well, than us, elders. 🙂 Special hugs to her !!! Wish I can meet the two little ones…. 🙂

    I am sure she will be fine 🙂 But I still feel sad that she will not have her lovely teachers and friends of the last year. But I am really thankful that she got into a good school – that was the biggest worry for me.

  10. Why is it necessary that things are always done in time and always prim n proper??? hehehehe 😀

    It is necessary, if I need to get to the trip with all the things we need 🙂

    Enjoy the mess it is good for a change 😉 and u coming to India??? Hope u enjoy the rains 🙂

    Enjoy the rains? Why me? Just when the weather here turns good, it is time for us to face more rains 😦

  11. Wow…wyanad…make most of ur stay there and enjoy it to the fullest. And if you want to carry one book, then its high time that you get introduced with Shantaram.

    Yes, I do plan to enjoy to the most 🙂 It has been a while since you have come down to Wayanad, hasn’t it? I would like to take Shantaram, lets see..

    • Long time is right. Its been over 2 years now. I plan to come down in Oct. Let me know ur schedule, would be great to meet up in Mumbai, assuming thats where ur going back from.

      No , no plans of Mumbai this time. We will fly back from Calicut – much easier that way, you know. We should all plan to be at Wayanad at the same time, sometime 🙂

  12. oh well I was nodding my head in every point apart from the vacation

    thats not happening for me 😦

    I am so looking forward to the vacation. I really, really need the break.

    will send u my no lets atleast chat and if u can come to blore what fun

    Yes, Monika 🙂 Will email you:) Hopefully we will get to meet.

  13. Oh, Smitha, we will be in Indis too. And u will be in Calicut? Maybe one year we could all meet. Have a nice break. Enjoy God’s own country.

    Yes, close to Calicut, anyway. Are you going to be in Calicut? You have a great holiday too!

  14. Welcome to my world….I am drowning in clothes, cartons and bubble wrap. Moving bit is so stressful…ugh…

    I know! It is such a nightmare! I can imagine how difficult it must have been for you!

    Have a great time in India..I am going to be in Nagpur…where do you plan to stay?

    Thanks, wish you the same 🙂 I will be in a bunch of places 🙂

  15. Coming to India!! Wow 🙂 Have a great time here and write about your experiences too.

    Will do, IHM 🙂 Though it will be tough being away from the blog world for the next 2 months 😦

    And I am in the same boat so far as having no time is concerned… I have been reading posts in reader and then clicking on them to leave a comment and then in the evening all the tabs are still open till evening – untouched. 😦

    It is the same here! I seem to be drowning in work!

  16. India.. oh man.. jsut reading this makes me want to get my tickets booked too…

    🙂 We have been waiting for so long! It has been a long break from India this time for us 🙂

    All the best for the vacation have a blast…. enjoy

    Thank you!

    Its always great reading the articles you write.. and have a safe journey…

    Thank you so much – for the compliment and the wish 🙂

  17. Wow Smitha… you are coming to India… great 🙂 As you have said no chance to Chennai… any chance for Bangalore… I can come over.. 🙂

    I will let you know if I do plan to come to Bangalore 🙂 Could you send me your no? Will call you 🙂

    Poohi was a smart kid… she will adapt easily to new environment 🙂 Hugs to her 🙂

    I hope so too 🙂

    Have a great holiday 🙂
    Thanks, Kanagu!

  18. Have a wonderful trip Smitha… lovely Wayanad.. u r lucky….

    we would be flying down too in 2 weeks time.. nd time decides to drag! not sure where we shall roam this time….

  19. Saw the pics on FB 🙂 Have a great holiday 🙂

    And yes, well… time… *sigh. Just that 🙂 I’m a villian of the aforesaid crimes as well. So I deeply empathize, though I am not sure as to how to go about changing myself :D!

So, what do you think?

