The Need for Speed.

Some people (like husband in particular), need the speed.

Speed as in while driving. He comes in the category of people who believe that speed limits are minimum speed limits. He considers it an outrage if he were to drive below the mentioned speed limit. There are times when he likes to stretch the limit, a little too much for my liking, I must say.

I, on the other hand, am perfectly fine with driving within the speed limits. You see, my driving instructor was very particular about stressing that the speed limits are actually, maximum speed limits, unlike what husband believes πŸ˜‰ I am perfectly happy following that old couple who does not notice that the lights have changed to green, or who prefer driving at 20 mph on a 30 mph road.

So when we are together in a car, more likely than not, one of us is unhappy about the speed the other drives at. Once I tried taking a picture when he was at 100 mph, only to capture it at slightly lesser than 100 mph. Husband was most disappointed. So the next time, he accelerated to 120, expecting me to click another one, recording his ‘records’. High hopes, indeed. At those speeds, all I can do is close my eyes and pray that he slows down. He has programmed the car to give ‘speed warnings’ whenever he crosses 100mph. That horrible beep does not help me either. It just makes me press those imaginary brakes on my side of the car – hard.

And here is the photograph that Β I did not take at the right time.

Then of course, there are those drivers, who like to travel an inch behind you. Who have never heard of the concept of safe stopping distance or the 2 second rule. Last weekend, we saw one such driver in action. It was a single lane road, and there was a car, doing 60, on a 60 mph road. The car behind was so close, that it was almost on him. The car that was ahead, moved to the left, hoping that the car behind, overtakes him, but for some reason, the second driver had no intention of overtaking either. It just continued to drive at an inch away from the first car! That makes no sense to me. I would hate to have a car nudging me all through. If some one is in such a hurry, why can’t they over take when they get a chance, instead of driving that close? That could be so dangerous.

How are you with speed limits and driving? Do you feel the need for speed?

36 thoughts on “The Need for Speed.

  1. LOL, loved the narration, Smitha πŸ™‚ Esp the ‘minimum speed limit’ πŸ™‚ I am sh*t scared of driving and could never learn it.. so for me your last ques is a convenient ‘n/a’ πŸ™‚

  2. With cycle I have no limits πŸ˜† πŸ˜†

    LOL, Kanagu! You know, I am very scared of cyclists – am petrified when I see one on the road, I can’t breathe properly unless I manage to overtake them safely πŸ™‚

  3. oh I am the kinds of ur husband… actually thankfully both me and N are the same kinds… we love our speeds… and we have taken our car in India to 185kpmh πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    but yeah we make sure the speeds are for four lane highways and try and go easy in city roads (which BTW means that we try and not go above 100kmph in blore roads)

  4. Loved that picture…he he he…I guess my S too falls in that category, even though its difficult to fall into speed limits in Chennai…

    LOL! All these guys have some common gene ?

    But given a chance, he’ll be driving at his maximum allowed speed and enjoying it too…

    I drive at the max allowed speed too, but don’t go above it πŸ™‚

    My elder one constantly tells him to slow down – she is the break, u see !!! πŸ˜‰

    She is the break! Poohi does that too, ‘she goes, Daddy, you have to slow down ‘ πŸ™‚
    LOL @ you following an old couple at 20 mph…. πŸ™‚

    I did not want to overtake them or scare them by being too close πŸ™‚

  5. hehe!
    I stay within speed limits inside the city on my 2-wheeler!

    πŸ™‚ I would assume that in Bangalore πŸ™‚

    But, K likes to zoom around even in a traffic jam!! πŸ™„
    LOL! How does he manage that?

  6. Ah! It’s the same here. Hubby wants to be a Michael Schumacher, and I’d prefer the speed of a bicycle. 😦

    LOL! That sounds about apt for our situation πŸ™‚

  7. hehehe I like speeding!!! There is a rush which is unexplainable. I hate when my hubby drives slow!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›

    Really? My husband would say ‘Lucky your husband’ if he were to read this πŸ™‚

  8. I tend to drive fast, much to the consternation of mom. She incidently considers 40kph to be the max speed limit. When iam on the wheel she keeps an eye on the speedometer and starts issuing warnings when i cross 30 which is about 2 mins into our ride! But on the other hand, i dont get irritated if the car in front is slow. Iam happy to tag along till i get an opening. And yeah, pls switch off the warming system. Its irritating and scary. Dont get Nishant to drive when you come down to India. Imagine driving in Delhi with Need For Speed in mind!

    LOL! I get worried only when we reach speeds of 100 or more πŸ™‚ I don’t suppose, Nishant plans to drive in India at these speeds πŸ™‚

  9. I know it’s thrilling to drive fast, but my fast is slower than everybody else’s slow πŸ™‚ πŸ˜†

    LOL, IHM! I tell that to my husband πŸ™‚ This is my fastest, can’t help it if everybody thinks otherwise πŸ™‚

    I love all these new themes by WordPress!!

    Me too! I feel like giving all of them a try πŸ™‚

  10. I too tried to take a picture like this one, but somehow couldn’t… maybe my hand shook, the car also didn’t move smooth enough.

    Oh yes, that has happened to me too. This time the road was smooth, so I was able to get it. Although I could not get it at 100 😦

  11. Like Smitha above, I too love a bit of speed, never above the speed limit but hovering around it. Otherwise I feel there is no fun at all. I keep a distance though, it is for safety reasons. I love the thrill of getting accelerated at the touch of the pedal, maneouvering in and out of traffic…

    Really? I hover around the allowed speed limit too. I don’t see the point in going 20 or 40 above the speed limit πŸ™‚

    I always keep a safe stopping distance – am too paranoid. Maneuvering in and out? Haven’t done that in a while πŸ™‚

    • “I love the thrill of getting accelerated at the touch of the pedal, maneouvering in and out of traffic…”me too me too, Sindhu, you know that,na. So when are we having the next thrilling girl’s days out??? πŸ™‚

  12. He he .. both of us are all for speed here πŸ˜‰ Its kind of thrilling for me, but ofcourse when the situation is friendly too πŸ˜‰ nt like the fella who ws so close behind! Sheesh!

    Yeah, I agree. I don’t understand why people feel the need to follow so close behind.

    But honestly, I enjoy speed more on the bike more than the car πŸ˜›

    Really? I haven’t sat in bike for years now! Find it more scary 😦

  13. I stick to the speed zones, you’ll see me 5 less than every speed zone. Even at the 110 zone I stick to 105 πŸ˜€
    πŸ˜€

    πŸ™‚ I am not 5 less, I try and stay 1 or 2 less than the speed zone – husband would kill me otherwise πŸ˜‰

    I am not into speeding at all, love the comfortable pace πŸ˜›

    I agree! And speeding really does not make all that much of difference to the journey time, is what I feel πŸ™‚

  14. Are there no cameras in UK? In Dubai, now there’s a camera at every 2 kms. Makes it impossible to drive anything over the speed limit.

    There are cameras, but only in some locations, and they warn you in advance πŸ™‚ So people slow down in time πŸ™‚

  15. I am used to the speed now.. thanks to Hubby and now I detest when he slows down ….but like a good wife I tell him to slow down when he goes too fast :).. and I do get scared at times even if I love the speed!

    LOL! ‘like a good wife I tell him to slow down when he goes too fast :)’! My husband would tell me that he wished I weren’t so good a wife πŸ˜‰

  16. For the last several years the city roads near where I live have been in permanent surgery. So we drive slow out of consideration for he car, and get all carried away on the expressway, until the car knd of vibrates.

    LOL! Until the car vibrates πŸ™‚

    Everyone with a need for speed is welcome to Pothole Nagari. Keeps things in perspective.

    I should really send my husband there πŸ™‚ He complains about roads here πŸ™‚

  17. LOL! This post is too cute πŸ˜€ I’m sure a lot of ppl wud identify with it…

    That horrible beep does not help me either. It just makes me press those imaginary brakes on my side of the car – hard.
    I could actually imagine this πŸ˜†

    Husband hates it when I do this πŸ™‚

    Nah I m one of the careful drivers. I like speed, yes, but not necessarily breakneck speed πŸ˜› It depends on the road, weather condition, traffic etc. that I take speed. Love late night long drives though πŸ™‚

    I’d emphasise and clarify this though – speed is not equivalent to being reckless. I’ve seen a lot of fast drivers…but they are also very much in control and driving smoothly, not swerving and narrowly missing or anything of that sort.

    I agree. Speed is not equivalent to being reckless. Husband likes speed, but he is very very careful. He drives at these speeds when the conditions allow, not in every place πŸ™‚

    • But your description of the car nudging from behind was freaky … yeesh! Whats the fun of driving with a fear as if a dog is running behind you to bite your pants? πŸ˜›

    • My Mom always does the imaginary brakes thing when Dad is driving πŸ˜› We used to be on Dad’s side always and cheer him to go faster πŸ˜› With Mom, it was more of careful driving πŸ˜‰ I tell her I feel like hvng imaginary accelerator when I am with her ha ha πŸ˜‰

  18. When my husband had Bullet, we used to go to Bangalore from Hosur, within 40 mts. covering some 45 Kms. , sometimes! It is unthinkable now, with all the traffic.

    Wow! That must have been fun! Now it is all crowded, isn’t it?

    So, the contest is over by tomorrow! You have covered different subjects everyday and all were interesting too! All the best, Smitha!

    Thanks Sandhya, can’t wait for it to get over. It has drained me πŸ™‚

  19. Oh I love speed,Smits. Especially when I’m driving :). Of course I’m cautious. Here you know its pretty normal to touch 100mph. But most of the cars here are programmed to give a warning signal when it crosses 1400mph(if I remember correctly) ‘cos thats the danger mark. I remember R had crossed that when in Muscat while driving up to the valleys. It was really fun πŸ™‚ Here we havent got a chance yet as the roads are not as wide.

    Really? 100mph is an accepted speed limit? Here the highest officially is 70 , but people seldom drive at 70 on motorways!

    But driving is something I absolutely love, you know that :). Driving while listening to my favourite music are perfect combo for me.

    I love driving too – as far as I get to go at my own pace πŸ™‚

  20. Whatever happens anything never sit in the car when I am driving .. I make sure i get my cars worht, baught it because of speed .. If you cant test it then why spend so much on it .. might as well buy a maruti or a swift or fiesta πŸ™‚

    Now that is another reason to drive fast – to test the speed πŸ™‚

    But but ahmm ahmmm SERIOUS thought People please dont drive fast, obey traffic rules , better late then nexr and always always ALWAYS wear seat belts they are there for a reason ….

    Dont sit with me though… πŸ™‚ he he he

    LOL! That is nice πŸ™‚ After all those rules, don’t sit with me?

    next time i need to ask someone to take a pic of the speedometer for sure he he he πŸ™‚ nice one

    Husband wants me to capture those mind chilling moments – god knows why! It gave me material for a post, though πŸ™‚

    and driving so close is dangerous very … I hate people who do that .. I wud purposely put my foot on the breaks so the bakc light go on.. and slow down to such a slow speed that they will have to overtake.. πŸ™‚ I am bad sometimes

    I can’t stand that either – and the guy we saw, just refused to over take! He had plenty of opportunity too!

    and the people in india who honk the horns .. get on my ___ idiots no reason press the horn …

    Oh yeah! I forgot about that!

    You need to ask your hubby to come to uk , I can take him to places where he can get the adrenalin rush and take care of his speeding issues no problem πŸ™‚

    We live in the UK too. Bikram πŸ™‚ I doubt that he would have touched these speeds with such ease in India πŸ™‚

  21. oh I believe in safe driving and that means following all the rules as much possible (cuz in India even if u try to follow them others wont let you!)

  22. i love speed too.. the man who drives me to work these days is wonderful in that regard. he knows where the cameras are and his driving feels stable and thrilling at the same time. same is the case with amit. we love to speed wherever its safe to do so.

    Yes, thats what husband does. I kind of stick near the speed limits πŸ™‚

    I am sorry dear, i come, read and leave without comments but I love coming here.. its just that life is moving on the fastest lane these days.. no time to see around much 😦

    I know, Tara πŸ™‚ Comment when you can πŸ™‚ You are the sweetest to come and tell me this πŸ™‚ Hugs!

  23. lol….100 mph….is that in India? I used to do that in India (mostly during my first few maverick years on the road). My perspective towards driving has changed ever since I came to the US a couple of years back.
    Still, speed does drive me…..

So, what do you think?

