Letting go..

Letting go, is probably the most difficult thing for a parent to do. The sweet-sour taste of experiencing your child becoming more and more independent is such a mixed feeling.

Poohi has gone her first sleepover, and I am feeling all happy and sad. She was so excited that she has been counting minutes. This is the first time she will be staying away from us. She has stayed with my parents back home, when I had to go to Bangalore, but never with anybody else. So I was a little apprehensive about it. Poohi on the other hand, was emphatic, ‘ Amma, I will be fiiine, I will brush my teeth and go to sleep, and don’t pick me up early in the morning, I want to play with M’.

So off she went, without a backward glance. I had a hard time trying to give her a quick cuddle. She was way too busy with her friend.

Yesterday, we had the school visit for Poohi’s ‘Big school’. She is going to start at a new school for reception, and is super excited about going to the ‘big school’. I was wondering how she would feel, at a new place, with new classmates. Luckily for her, there was one other child who she knew from her previous school.  We got introduced to her class teachers and the kids were off, playing, beading, drawing.. It was such a treat watching her, knowing that she was comfortable in the new environment, knowing that her teachers seemed really nice. The best part for me was to see that she was not put off by new things. She was quite happy with change.

It also gave me an insight to what is in store for me.  It is such a wonderful feeling when one’s child has the confidence to face the world without us. I am just grateful that she has that confidence and just pray that she continues to be as confident and happy. It is difficult to believe that the little baby that came to us, over 4 years ago, is now so independent and grown up(almost).

How am I going to manage when she goes to university 🙂

Now, that I have ranted, we are off to enjoy the childless evening by going for movie 🙂

41 thoughts on “Letting go..

  1. Great Job Poohi..and Mommy don’t worry too much..spend some good time with Hubby and enjoy your and your baby’s freedom…Hugs

    Yes, we did do that 🙂 It was a good evening for all of us 🙂

  2. I was so about to be first, but Kanagu beat me..next time i will comment later and say First..but on a serious note, I am back from my hibernation and coming 2nd is not bad 😛

  3. First.. what is meant by Sleepover??? 🙄 🙄

    And surely it shows how good parent you are, Smitha… she is independent and was not afraid at all 🙂 🙂

    Hugs to Poohi 🙂 🙂

  4. Oh no… gives me the jitters too now.. I dont want to ever let go… brrrrrr…. makes me realise how magnanimous our parents have been, to have never complained and still let go.

    Thanks for this awesome post, Smitha.

  5. Awww….. hugs to both mumma and Poohi!
    She has been so cute telling you not to worry! 🙂

    so, big school eh? i can almost see Poohi all excited and ready to go there! 🙂
    She is going to school and you are talking about University!!! 😛

  6. Awwww Poohikutty is sooo sweet 🙂 I ws waiting for ur post on this one 🙂 Glad she is fine and all set to take on the world 😀

    U make me want a baby soon and worry abt letting go all @ once lol 😉 😉

    • Smithu, I appreciate this – you have finally convinced Swaru to have a baby and very soon too…. 😉 Come on Swaru, tell us the good news sooon. 😉

      LOL! So do I get any royalty when the event happens? Swar, what say? Do tell all those nosy aunties and uncles that I accept cash and kind 😉

  7. ello ! pura ranting hone ke badd…going for a movie 🙂

    I will not say that I know the feeling or I understand…but may be I can imagine what state you’re in..and you’re right it’s happy and a sad state..both!

    Another phase of parenthood ? 🙂

    Good Luck and enjoy the two-to-tango time 🙂

  8. I think you are doing pretty well, I allowed my daughter to go for a sleepover only when she was 13!
    It is difficult to let go, no matter how much we want it. Mothers have been sent to the earth with an extra gene protection!

  9. i think ur daughter is really cool! yes, letting go is tough (always).. but look at it like this, if she was one of those clingy, stuck-like-glue-to-mom type of bachha, it wud be much worse! she’s a happy, confident kid and that great… now what she mother wud have to do in her absence, is something we’d have to think about.. thankfully uni is still some years away so we have enuf time to think! 🙂

  10. Poohi has kept the first step of growing up…now, the next steps will be faster, Smitha! Good to know that she is quite confident in new places.

    Nice to know that you have started adjusting to this stage of Poohi, i.e. leaving her to grow up. Now, enjoy the free evening…Poohi will be happy too!

  11. Hey bhaggu! U are already thinking about University??? 😀

    I guess once a kid comes our world revolves around them only 🙂 but as you have yourself said “let go” and enjoy the time that you have in hand 🙂

  12. Hey, everywhere I go my comment is just after Smitha..it seems as if I am folllowing u, Smiths…
    And what u wrote is so true…I had the same feeling when I left my younger one at her friends place…
    And now for the holidays, we will be leaving both of them at my mothers place..I am sure they will love it but HOME will be so lonely without them.Don’t know how I will manage!

  13. Awww!!! I know the feeling!!! It’s an awesome feeling – seeing that confidence!! When they are young it seems unimaginable that we’d ever be able to let them go… I still can’t get over my daughter, 19 – going everywhere on her own!!!

  14. Aww..that’s such a sweet post 😛

    Thanks CB 🙂
    Loads of hugs to the little princess and her sweet mum 😀 😀

    Hugs back from both of us 🙂

    You are right, she’ll be just fine for she’s loving exploring the big wide world 😛

    She did have a lovely time last night 🙂 She is back home now 🙂

  15. You’re doing a wonderful thing, Smits, by letting her have a sleepover at her friend’s. You are letting her become independent from so early on which is an amazing thing.

    I sure hope it is a good thing 🙂 She is back now. Apparently she had a lovely time 🙂

    Awww,Poohi has got through the BIG school..congratulations to the sweetie-pie and lots of hugs and ummas to her 🙂

    Oh yes 🙂 Did I not tell you? So sorry, I thought I had. We are so delighted – it is a five minute walk from home now 🙂 She will start there in Sept.

    Here Namnam too is very excited about her new session which she will be starting in a new school. Oh yes, she has been telling us “I’ll be going to the BIG school!” 🙂
    Oh I can imagine! When is her new session starting? Big school is such a BIG deal, isn’t it 🙂
    Yes, it is a wonderful feeling, Smits to see our children handle their independence with so much of confidence.

    I know.. I am grateful that she is enjoying it so much..

    Here’s wishing Kunju all the very best in life. I’ve no doubts she will grow up to be a fine woman for she has you and N as parents to guide her through 🙂

    God bless her always 🙂

    Thanks loads, Deeps 🙂 Hugs! and thanks again 🙂

    Hugs!

  16. Pingback: Letting go.. | Γονείς σε Δράση

  17. Uber Cool is the lil girl poohi !!!!! {{{{{hugs}}}} to her… I still cant believe she is actually going for a sleepover..!!!! she is what ?? 5 ?? gee…

    I dont know if I would be glad to do that with Hriday… not sure.. its not been asked and so really dont know… ! lets see… times will tell !

  18. awwwww thats so sweet… hope she had fun at her sleepover…. pass my hugs to the little big girl 😀

    I just know what u meant by this “The sweet-sour taste of experiencing your child becoming more and more independent is such a mixed feeling.”

    so very true… every step they take forward ur brim with success and confidence and yet there is something

    good post smiths

  19. Its a lovely thing – what Poohi is doing, its part of her growing up. 🙂 And I am glad that you are “letting go”. Its a tough lesson for the parent to learn and once you do it, it’ll do wonders on the child.

    Hugs to Poohi on her first sleepover !!! Great going, darling, I am so proud of you !!! 🙂

    Smithu, enjoy Poohi’s independence…and let go always…life will be easy and smooth for you. 🙂

  20. So nice catching up with your posts, S. What mixed feelings you must have about Poohi growing up…..The things are parents experienced without us ever knowing! Take care.

    I do have mixed feelings. I read all your posts, but do not comment, because you have said it all – I have nothing to add 🙂

  21. How sweet… the first sleepover!

    I think I had my first sleepover when I was 10. 🙂 I did not have any real close friends till then, but I wonder whether my mom would have allowed me any earlier ..

So, what do you think?

