Weekend tales

I can’t help wondering if I was right in the mind, when I decided to take up the NaBloPoMo for this month. Whatever made me think that it would be do-able?

From the look of it, every single thing is trying to ensure that I do not complete it. For one, the weather is so beautiful, despite it being not-so-sunny, that it is impossible to be indoors, and then to top it all, Poohi decided to run a temperature. Β So it means that I have no option but to write this inane post, which by the way, I am giving you enough warning to skip πŸ™‚

The weekend was one unexpected bonus. We woke up to a clear and sunny sky and that had us scrambling for the phone to check the weather at a nearby seaside resort. Turns out that it was all sunny and gorgeous and not one bit windy. Now, that is too good to be wasted, so we started calling all our friends and getting together a plan to spend the day at the beach. We set off, all excited, all the beach gear in place and praying that the weather stays the way it was.

We got stuck in the longest queue of traffic, within half an hour. Husband started figuring out detours on his beloved android phone. And turns out, Google Maps reported heavy traffic ahead and gave us a much better detour. That lead to him declaring his love for google, which incidentally he declares far more than his love for me. Did I mention that I drove this time, and it was my first really long drive – 70 miles, so it gave husband all the more time to spend with his phone and google( all the while declaring how great google is, btw).

Finally,we were about 10 miles away from our destination, when Poohi notices dark clouds in the horizon. Within minutes, we were being pelted by the heaviest rain we had experienced in the recent past. With disappointment weighing us down, we continued on our way, deciding that we might as well go and shop, since we are this close. Husband kept refreshing BBC weather and exclaimed that BBC still shows sunny! As if, that will make the rain go away.

Once we reached, we decided to take our time, have lunch and wait for our friends, who by the way, had not taken the detour, we had not been able to contact them before we took the detour. After lunch, the weather still looked dismal, and we decided to walk around the town,when suddenly the rain disappeared and it got sunny again.

It was the best moment ever! We could not believe our luck and we raced to the beach. Needless to say, we had the best time ever. Plenty of splashing around in the water, making sandcastles, lazing around in the sun. Β It was the perfect way to make up for the previous disaster of a weekend.

We are still recovering from that one day of fun πŸ™‚ And poohi most certainly seems to have exhausted herself and has come down with a temperature. So she has ended up missing school today. She was so upset because she was looking forward to meeting her friends again – they had a half term break last week. And I was looking forward to her going to school, so that I could get some work done, but it was not meant to be πŸ™‚

So how was your weekend?

23 thoughts on “Weekend tales

  1. Ohh how is Poohi kutty? hope she gets well pretty soon.

    Good to hear that you had a rocking weekend. and Hi5 for driving that 70 miles. I know how it feels when you do your first long drive and the husband says it was great to be in the passenger seat πŸ˜›

    πŸ™‚ Yes, and he said I am not too bad – which is great coming from him πŸ™‚ He did say that he did not like my dabba gaadi after his swanky bmw though 😦

    So it’s official he loves that gadget more than the hardworking you?? Next time let him get food from that gadget only :mrgreen: psst psst does he read your blog? I don’t want him to refuse taking us to a restaurant when we are visiting your place as I don’t like too much salt in my food πŸ˜€

    He does not have the patience to read my blog πŸ™‚ After being forced to listen to me 24*7, why would he read all that again πŸ˜‰ As for restaurant – he will be the first to suggest it – anything to avoid my cooking πŸ˜‰

    Poohi had loads of fun on the beach i suppose? Mine was a bad weekend spent in screaming my lungs out at the hospital where monsters in Doctor coats tried to dip me in freeing water. They wanted to make Sakshi Flavored Popsicle I think…

    What happened? Did you get sun burnt or something? You alright now?

  2. Wow, you drive, Smitha? Lovely!!!! Where did u go to? Pics please!!

    We went to Scarborough – North Yorkshire – Pics uploaded in FB πŸ™‚

  3. Weather at your end really tries your patience. I am glad you finally had a good weekend and Poohi had wonderful time πŸ˜€

    Blog marathon is very trying for someone like me, hence I haven’t dared to give it a shot yet πŸ™‚
    But you are going great till now πŸ™‚

    I hope Poohi feels better and gets well soon πŸ™‚
    Racing off to FB to get a look t the pictures πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  4. finally made it huh !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    and you drove??? The hospitals on the way wouldve got a lot of admissions that day, na? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    and, hows the lill one now?

  5. Oh dear! Hope Poohikutty gets well soon πŸ™‚

    Smiths, u r really dng a nice job of the NaBloPoMo .. pls dnt talk abt nt posting et..al πŸ™‚ I luv such mixed bag posts more than anything else.

    A few Wordless Wednesdays, few tit-bits, some tags here and then and ofcourse book reviews .. and we r done πŸ˜‰ Yay to us πŸ˜€

  6. Poohi paappaa will be on her feet soon and she might want to do this tour again!

    She is fine now πŸ™‚ And yes, she wants to go back there πŸ™‚

    You did all the driving? Nice. I like drenching in the rain. I have not yet developed the habit of regularly visiting FB, I am happy with Twitter, though. Will check the pictures now, Smitha!

    πŸ™‚ I am very bad with twitter – I hardly log in. I prefer FB, in that sense πŸ™‚

  7. Poor Poohi!

    How was my weekend? Well, I have a really long one now – 2 months…I don’t know what to do with M…And the weather has been horrible…I think the rain has migrated from England to Singapore…Usually, it rains for an hour or so and then stops but for the last 2-3 days, it’s been raining, drizzling, raining, drizzling all day long…

    Have the summer hols started? Here they don’t start till end of July and it is only for 5 weeks πŸ™‚ We are off to India then, so I am not too worried about keeping her occupied πŸ™‚ I hate it when it rains – there is so little we can do! It inevitably boils down to painting or drwaing which she gets bored of so easily !

  8. Hope Poohi kutty is feeling better! hugs to her!
    Glad to know you guys had a great time!
    And yay for you driving!! πŸ™‚

    Poohi is better – she is at school today πŸ™‚

    My weekend – shopping, watching Raajneeti and eating Kulfi! πŸ˜‰
    It’s been raining here, so lots of drives in the rain! πŸ˜‰

    Wow! I want to watch Rajneeti – guess will have to wait till it comes on DVD πŸ™‚

  9. What is this Nablopomo…I have become very irregular in this blogworld…FB seems to be taking up much of my time…and then work is there to pepper me up…

    FB is rather addictive, isn’t it?

    How is Poohi now? I have always learnt that whenever we have good fun…something happens as an aftermath! But on the positive side, when kids get bigger they outgrow these small ailments…

    I guess, that is true..

    And did u shop on ur weekend?and where did u go?

    No, just the regular grocery shopping, this time:)

  10. Hope Poohi is all fine, now. πŸ™‚

    She is still not alright 😦 Taking her to the doc in a little while today.

    Love for Google, Cars, SLRs, Mobiles, Laptops all top the list, before wife comes in !!! LOL !!! πŸ™‚

    I know!!!! Wife comes in at the end πŸ™‚

So, what do you think?

