Memories..

I consider myself one of the lucky ones.

Lucky that my school years have been some of the best times of my life. That I had teachers who I adored.

This video had been shared by one of my batch-mates on a social networking site. It says ‘memories of the 2007 batch’ – but surprisingly,Β  it could have been mine. The school grounds, the classrooms, the library I used to haunt…, the annual days, even some of the teachers who taught me are there in the video. To say, that I choked on emotions would be an understatement. It has been 17 years since I graduated from this school – but it feels like yesterday.

Last I went there was in 2005. I was pregnant with daughter then and it was to be one of my last visits to Jamshedpur. Dad was to retire the next year and move to Kerala. I had pulled husband along to come and see one last glance of my school. He had been surprised to meet teachers who still enthusiastically remembered me – one of them even told him that I was a ‘gem’ πŸ™‚ Have to say, that made my day πŸ™‚ It had felt wonderful to see some of my old teachers, the place where I spent 15 years of my life.

Whoever made this video, did notΒ  just capture his memories – he gave me back some of mine – tucked away, almost forgotten memories.Β  As I always say, I just hope that my daughter is equally lucky with her school and her teachers.

34 thoughts on “Memories..

  1. Wow! that’s a wonderful video.

    I loved the idea of having all the fond memories of the school days captured in a video. Loved the beautiful flower pots and the awesome school building πŸ˜€

    I loved what this person put together – I wish one of us had done it when we were in school – but those days, taking a video was a BIG thing πŸ™‚

    I agree school days were amongst the best of my life too πŸ˜€
    Isn’t it?
    Cheers!!

  2. Just watched the vid. Very touching. We do spend so much time at school. It’s only now, when I see the efforts and the dedication of my kid’s teachers, that I realize how much I took my own teachers for granted!

    I used to love school but now being a mother has made it even more clear to me how important schools are in a child’s life.. The video is very touching, isn’t it?

  3. Yes, you are lucky, Smitha! You can see this video often and show it to Poohi too after she grows up, no need to take her to Jamshedpur. Yes, we never forget our school days.

    Yes I was so happy to see the video. It brought back memories πŸ™‚

    Your teacher recognised you, is it? Nice. And your husband too accompanied you to your school! You ARE lucky!

    I forced him to come πŸ™‚ I think he enjoyed the experience too πŸ™‚

  4. That was really touching! Reminded me of my school days too. Last year we had a get togetherof our school mates after 25 years! The best part was there were a few of them whom we had not met after school and they looke almost the same. Wish I could say the same about me too (sigh…)

    Wow! That must have been fun! 25 year! It is amazing, isn’t it, how some people look the same?

  5. i have been wanting to go to my school u know but somehow never happened after I moved out


    Yes – that does happen to a lot us. I was lucky to grow up in a small town, where my parents stayed till they retired.

  6. That was lovely. It does bring back memories no matter which school you go to. I can’t say I loved my school days (had some crappy teachers and some memories I’d like to repress) …but definitely had a ball with friends. πŸ˜€ Oh…and I love the song ‘Pal’ by KK…all time favourite song and is so perfect for so many memories, eh?

    Yes, I guess, that is true. And yes, the song is lovely and very apt!

  7. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    Ppl who’ve had an emotional bond with (some of) their teachers wud really identify with it…
    very nostalgic πŸ™‚ and touching…

    I know – I really loved school..so it makes it all the more special πŸ™‚

  8. Smitha, I do feel that you are a ‘gem’, not considering many things, but I feel it as I am very much fond of your writing style. To be more perfect, I wish I could express simple things with art like you!!
    *****dreamy dreamy******

    nice video indeed! the school days of you… those memorable days! after 17 years!! it is impressive that the memories never become old… evergreen….

    Loved the post… actually I always do πŸ˜€
    good wishes…. πŸ™‚

    Thank you πŸ™‚

  9. Wow Smitha ! Is that where you studied ?? and whoevers behind the video; he is a blessed soul. Its great to have memories like this.

    I agree! He sure is a blessed soul – so many of us must be thanking him πŸ™‚

    I dont have nice memories about my school. Bt even then, I checked if there are any similar videos of my school; there isnt ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I cant even go to my school that easily. Gotta take visa, ticket and all crap ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    LOL! Yes that would be a little too much to ask for πŸ™‚
    Nice one Smitha !

  10. ohhhh school memories are fantastic….I miss school.It was like a cocoon in which you could have fun, learn and even discover life at your own pace.

    I miss school too – it was one of the best!

  11. Nostalgia.. nostalgia.. where ever I am going there are memories and I think tears will roll out of my eyes if I read 2 more posts…..

    Too many nostalgia posts πŸ™‚ OK – my next, I will make sure is not one πŸ™‚

    truly wonderful video Smitha.. and I was took back to my school days when my father or mother accompanied me….

    I was so delighted to see it too – I guess, FB an Orkut have their advantages πŸ™‚

  12. So much of nostalgia… Let me spend something thinking of my school days… what else can be a better way to enjoy vacation πŸ˜€

    πŸ™‚ yes, ‘what else can be a better way to enjoy vacation :D’ – I would agree with that πŸ™‚

  13. Aww its so nice to get some video like this … took me down the memory lane .. I so wanna go bk to school when I visit Blr the next time πŸ™‚


    You should πŸ™‚ There is something about it – I felt so good when I went back. Even the chowkidaar recognised me and I was so touched πŸ™‚

    And I agree with them, u r a gem indeed .. thankful that I found u here πŸ™‚

    I don’t know if I am a gem – but I am equally thankful to have met you here too πŸ™‚

  14. Wow! that was a treat from a gem…

    nd now we have FB and Orkut to get the forgotten faces back into our memories..

    Yes, Orkut and FB have been wonderful in that sense – I have re-connected with so many friends since..

    School days are the best times in one’s life..
    It certainly was, for me..

  15. This guy who made video and gave you back your memories too…and you have given all of us those school days memories πŸ™‚

    I thought it was only me πŸ™‚ It felt so wonderful to see it πŸ™‚

    After seeing these videos i also started thinking abt school ..though not sure if i go there now after 11yrs..teachers will recognise me or not πŸ™‚

    I am sure they will – I thought they would not too – but they did πŸ™‚
    You are sure gem of person and its evident from your writings πŸ™‚

    Thank you, Rash πŸ™‚

  16. wow!!! Such a beautiful video!!! Takes you to another planet!!!

    Seriously what days they were!!!

    At that time it used to be a combo of love them & hate them but as soon as we move out of School we realize what life we miss!!

    I dunno whether my teachers would remember me or not that is if I ever plan to go there but yes if they do am sure I wud be on cloud 9!!

  17. Wonderful video smiths,you are the lucky few who are able to see the places u have spend 15 years of your life.The social networking sites are a big boon to the people who leave india and settle abroad.

    btw i am one year senior to u πŸ™‚

  18. Great memories. I connected with my best friend in school just few months back after being out of touch for many years. Nothing like school time:) Is it not wonderful when teachers rave about you after so many years. Way to go πŸ™‚

  19. oh gosh, Smitha, I wouldn’t dare take P back to my school!!!!! i like the impression that he holds of me. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ wouldn’t want to ruin it. ;p

    LOL! I was a little worried, but thankfully my teachers had a better impression of me than I had of myself I guess πŸ™‚

    and vah, ur teachers remember you as a gem. that must’ve made your day and im sure it still makes you smile. very sweet!! bless. πŸ™‚
    Oh yes πŸ™‚ It more than made my day πŸ™‚

  20. lovely video. I always feel like visiting old school and my college but never get around to do it. 😦


    I kept planning to and finally went when I knew that I might never go back there again after my parents move – and it was worth it πŸ™‚

So, what do you think?

