Snow-clad splendour

Last night was supposed to be the coldest night in the UK. Some parts of UK were expected to be as cold as -20 degrees – almost as cold as the South Pole. They are calling it the ‘white-out’ of Britain. Pics of UK from the sky looks all white. Snow does make everything look much prettier.

Never having experienced snow before, I was all excited about it during the move to London, only to know that it hardly snows in London. True to the word, it hardly snowed all the time we were there. A maximum of one or two days of snow which disappeared soon enough too. Snow remained that romantic, exciting event (thanks to the movies, I guess) which never really happened to me.

It all changed when we moved here to Leeds. Snow was proper heavy snow here. Last year we had some decent amount of snow. This year, however, I think, all my craving for snow, has been satisfied. It has snowed like never before.Β  It snowed 2 days before we left for our vacation and it was fascinating to watch. Huge, giant snowflakes coming down and covering everything. I spent ages looking out at the snow, instead of packing. Thankfully it stopped the day we were travelling or weΒ  might have never gone on holiday.

We came back to gloriously sunny Britain after 10 days and a small part of me was disappointed by the fact that the snow seemed to have gone for good. But not for long, we drove into heavy snow on the way, which thankfully lasted only around 20 minutes. To make up for the snow we missed during the Christmas week,Β  last one week, it has snowed and snowed and snowed. I had the fortune/misfortune of getting to trek 3 miles in snow – which was rather fun, quite unexpectedly. Making snowmen in the garden and having fun snow fights πŸ™‚ Of course, not everybody is happy with the snow. Daughter is heart-broken that her school is closed due to snow. Even making snowmen, does not entirely compensate for not being able to go to school. Cars lie abandoned all over the place. We came across a car abandoned right in the middle of a small roundabout. Scraping the snow off the car everyday is one painful thing as we have recently learnt.

As they say, difficult times bring out the best or worst in people. We hear of heroic stories about people going out of their way to help others in difficulty, we also hear of clever thieves who used the opportunity to take off with cars which the owners had left unattended with the engines running for defrosting. Guess it takes all kinds!

Leaving you with a few pics from around here – all cold and frosty!

The streets and the sidewalks all merged into one.

It almost looks like a black and white pic, doesn’t it?

The solitary bench all piled up with snow.

And it gets whiter as the snow fall increases.

On the way back from school – all disappointed at having to go home earlier than usual.

Making snowmen in the garden, kind of, made up for no school.

So how has the weather been at your end? Hope you all are having a less white winter.

70 thoughts on “Snow-clad splendour

  1. Beautiful snow snaps Smitha. And snowman in making is awesome:) I used to leave the engine running for few minutes every morning, and just now figured out that it is illegal!


    πŸ™‚ Most of us do that – leaving the engine running – it is scary if we come back to find our cars missing – more so in weather like this!

  2. Oh my stealing the cars like that is mean!!! I haven’t heard of that happening in the States as of yet .. We had snow here like crazy and I’m not liking it!!

    Welcome here, Doli. Me not liking it anymore either – totally grounds you, doesn’t it?

  3. Beautiful!I don’t miss the snow in the US – nope, not at all…The worst was cleaning the cars which I usually convinced my husband to do for me πŸ™‚

    I am sure I will not miss it either πŸ™‚ Husband is the official car cleaner here too πŸ™‚

  4. Wish I cud hv a somewhat white winter atleast … ur pics make me so so J Smithu 😦 I am only gonna settle down for a snowy vacation next yr πŸ˜›

    Come here for that snowy vacation πŸ™‚

    Poohi is a darling when it comes to school na … she just luvs it πŸ™‚

    Oh yes! She misses it so much!

    So, the thieves r wkg to the best of their abilities nw? sad 😦

    I know. Enterprise at it’s worst, I suppose.

    Lovely lovely pics … I luvvv the bench one and ofcourse Poohikutty’s πŸ™‚

    Thanks πŸ™‚ You go to your photography workshop and then tell me how I could improve these pics πŸ™‚ Are you back from your movie?

  5. WOW OWIEEE…. loved the snaps !!! I just love snow, but I donno how I would feel at such a situation; hate getting stuck at home for any reason !

    Yes, getting stuck at home for any reason is bad. Worse when it is all cold and frosty 😦 All my fascination of snow has gone for good πŸ™‚

    I was there during summer, na? I guess its the right time for me to put the next part of my travelogue !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Yes please! The part with the Peak district? You haven’t posted that, have you, yet?

  6. Can I sue all those people here who make Winter and Snow sound so scary?? 😑

    bahh Vim2u6 loves snow?? *sakshi faints and falls on an unsuspecting snowman*

    The presence of Poohi kutty making a snowman in her flowery jacket can make any snow hating person a convert :mrgreen:

    LOL! Not so much of a convert if you have to ‘help’ her make it πŸ™‚

    Smithu I am ignoring and redirecting your wishes for a less white winter towards SJ πŸ˜€ :mrgreen:

    Ok done πŸ™‚

  7. Snow is indeed pretty to look at. But wait for it to begin melting, and then its a NIGHTMARE!! Shucks..what a spoiler I am πŸ™‚ Beautiful pics, Smith. Why don’t you email them to BBC dot co dot uk?


    ‘But wait for it to begin melting, and then its a NIGHTMARE!! ‘ – I know, Pallu! I hate it when it starts turning to slush and you slip on every step! uggh!!!!!! I like it if snow stays snow πŸ™‚

  8. For all you snow haters….hummmmpf!!!!


    Sakshi, As much as I like Let it Snow – walking outside and falling on my bum is not very nice πŸ™‚ I would love winters if I had a helicopter to get around – but then it came on the news the other day that a helicopter got stuck to the helipad because of the snow πŸ™‚

      • I actually like snow – as far as it stays like snow. I hate it when it gets icy or slushy. The day it snows real heavy – it is actually nice – but 2 days after that – and it gets horrible 😦 Even more horrible when it gets inside your clothes – because you are brave enough to step ouside in a T-shirt and jeans and land on your bum πŸ™‚

  9. lovely pics Smita…really really beautiful. Snow does have it’s charm. I love it as long as it’s still white and i’m inside the house :). hate the after sluch and black snow.

    I so totally agree! Snow is lovely to watch – as far as you don’t have to go out. I hate slush and black snow too – it gets too dangerous then.

    a very happy new year to you and teh family

    A very happy new year to you and your family too, A! How have you been?

  10. Wow! fabulous pictures of snow draped UK. I would love to visit somewhere so white someday. It’s fun time for the kids making snow houses and snow men and no school πŸ˜€

    Believe me it is fun if you are visiting – but certainly not if you live here πŸ™‚ No school? My little one is in tears at the thought of no school πŸ™‚

    But driving around would be real difficult specially to get to work.

    Take care dear and hope you get gifted a warm sunny morning real soon.
    Sunny morning – that will take some time, I guess πŸ™‚

    In the meantime enjoy the snow and take loads of pictures πŸ™‚

    Thank you πŸ™‚
    Cheers!!

  11. to me it is all looking a dream like situation:)..never been there in this weather…but my sis lives in canada and she hates this time as everyday they have to shovel the snow in their frony of house etc..

    πŸ™‚ Yes, I can imagine that πŸ™‚ I used to wait for snow – but this time, I think I have had my fill πŸ™‚

  12. Even I love snow… I guess going only in summer to Himachal makes it possible… staying in 45 degree hot place… I ‘d have anything but the sun !!!!!

    πŸ™‚ Yes, Hitchy – the grass is always greener …

    those pics are awesome !!!!!!! It looks like straight out of a fairy tale… !!!! seriously !!!!

    It looked beautiful then – now it looks miserable – you should see it – all slushy and dirty !

    the kid surely had fun playing in the snow ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    Oh yeah she did – but she likes going to school more than playing in the snow πŸ™‚

    soooooper pics… I did love to be sitting near a fire place… watching snow flakes fall and sipping my drink… !!!! (i always drink in my imagination !! πŸ˜‰ ) aaah… soooper… !!

    Yeah – that is the picture perfect snowy day πŸ™‚

  13. What loveley pictures, Smitha!

    Thank you, Manju πŸ™‚

    I wish we had some of that snow here- in Mumbai it isn’t cold at all- we never even get to wear sweaters!


    LOL! As I was telling Hitchwriter, the grass is always greener on the other side πŸ™‚ I keep saying that I wish we had a season when we could confidently step out without a jacket πŸ™‚

  14. Awesome pics! I had loved snow when we were in Manali but then yes it becomes gloomy after a point of time.

    Poohie is adding life to the otherwise dark surroundings πŸ˜‰

  15. Looks beautiful! Only experienced snow briefly on holiday. Don’t know if I could live with it like this though …… grey skies depress me 😦

    Yes, the grey skies are depressing – especially over a prolonged period. But here, when it snows it is comparatively less grey – for some reason. But it is when snow turns to slush and black ice when it gets really horrible.

    How is the little one doing? How was her first Christmas?

    • Hmm, I didn’t know about black ice before…..don’t want to dwell on that!!!

      Baby is doing fine, thank you πŸ™‚ We came to my parents’ place & had some other relatives over for Christmas, so it was absolutely wonderful!!!


      That sounds wonderful! They must have been delighted to have their little granddaughter with them for Christmas too πŸ™‚

  16. Wow! Amazing pictures. I am going to be a bit wicked here and wish you more of this kind of weather if it means we get see such awesome pics πŸ˜€

    Dreamer- looks like your wish did not come true πŸ™‚ The snow is finally melting πŸ™‚

    • Hey just saw Deeps Blog ! Happy Belated Bird Day Smitha and I see that you’ve given yourself this new Pyaar Impossible lookalike haircut πŸ˜›

      Thanks loads, Rakesh!

      Oh dear! I wish I had known that πŸ™‚ I can honestly say that neither I nor my true-blue Yorkshire hairdresser had the slightest inkling that this was a Pyaar Impossible lookalike 😦 Who in the movie had this haircut btw?

      • Yeah yeah… Priyanka who else.

        See this


        Well, I can safely say that my hair looks nothing like her’s πŸ™‚ She would be committing suicide if she saw this comment of yours πŸ™‚ I was worried that you would say that it was Rakhi Sawant or somenbody πŸ™‚

  17. heart-breakingly beautiful πŸ™‚ makes me nostalgic… all white n (brrr) cold!!

    πŸ™‚ Why am I not surprised πŸ™‚

    Daughter is heart-broken that her school is closed due to snow.
    my heart stopped on hearing this 😯 lol πŸ˜€
    i guess it speaks volumes of the education system there…

    Oh yes! It is so much fun that children wait for school – atleast mine does πŸ™‚

    enjoy the snow while u can … and be thankful homes in london are equipped to deal with the cold… unlike in delhi πŸ™„ πŸ˜›

    Oh Absolutely! I know! It is a real blessing!

  18. Picture Postcards, that is exactly what those photos should be used for. Gorgeous Smi. I have never seen or experienced snow in my life yet, so this looks really breathtaking to me. But I wonder if it gets a bit toooooooo cold for carrying on with routine activities. I loved the cold in Delhi, but hated anything which needed me to touch water!! Hope you are having fun for the few days that this lasts. πŸ™‚

    It does get a bit too cold – but inside the house it is very comfortable. I mean, we don’t wear warm clothes inside. The water is heated so it is perfectly fine indoors. Only problem is that stepping out is a bit of a problem πŸ™‚ The snow has started melting now – but it is very slippery and dangerous to be walking outside 😦

  19. Beautiful photographs, Smitha! Everything is gray in colour like a painting!

    Thank you Sandhya – it was a pretty sight to watch.

    Though it is drizzling for the past two three days, at times, we are sweating here, in Chennai…hmmm!

    Oh wow! I haven’t experienced that in a while. Here we shiver all the time – almost πŸ™‚

  20. Wow.. wow… true bliss to see how the snow covers the whole place.. I wish I were there… I would have enjoyed it like anything… I LOVE SNOWS… πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    πŸ™‚ Am sure you would not say that it you lived here πŸ™‚

    Poohi is too cute… creating snowman… πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ that pink colour dress is really superb… πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    She had a lovely time making it πŸ™‚ She is always in pink 😦

    but common Smitha… do something so that she loves the home more… πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
    I know! I just knew what that thing was πŸ™‚

  21. I love how the snow makes colours stand out that much more. It’s gottten a bit boring to be honest, all this snow. I’d really like to have trains running on time again.

    It is quite horrible now – all slushy and dirty 😦 I wish that thawing cycle did not happen πŸ™‚ I have not been using public transport these days – but I can imagine the chaos!

    Beautiful pics πŸ™‚

    Thank you:)

  22. OMG!!! Awesome snaps!! loved them πŸ™‚ It had been quite cold here too but its getting warmer as Sankranti gets closer.

    Thank you , Reema πŸ™‚ I did see on the news – there is a cold spell everywhere I think 😦

  23. Wow.. that is an awesome collection of pics! Wish I could witness such a snowfall here in Bangalore πŸ˜‰

    Am sure you do πŸ™‚ Am sure you will change your mind if you have to live through it too πŸ™‚

    Loved all the pics for sure. Thanks for Sharing smitha!
    Thank you πŸ™‚

  24. Wow-The pictures seem to be straight out of a fairy tale-and little Poohi is like a splash of color in the pics.

    Thank you, Hypermom – it was lovely on that day πŸ™‚

  25. Fantastic pics smitha πŸ™‚ You have already seen how beautiful it is up north. U are in UK and so am I. I am in Lancaster in the North west. Great to meet an Indian blogger in this phoren land.

    Welcome here.Have emailed you πŸ™‚ Btw, I love your screen name πŸ™‚

  26. Brilliant snaps..
    Why doesnt it snow here in India 😦


    Mystery, You are would consider yourself lucky if you were to live here πŸ™‚ It is wonderful to see -not so great to live in πŸ™‚

  27. beutiful pix. I liked the one with ur daughter’s back. It is liek those archies’ card. Evrything is B&W and just a rose is red! πŸ™‚

    Oh – I never thought of it like that – but I see what you mean πŸ™‚

  28. Wow! lovely pictures……

    Thanks Asha πŸ™‚

    nd here in Kuwait for the first time since I came, the winter has been very mild and hence the weather is very pleasant…..

    Is it ? Lucky you πŸ™‚ I heard it is quite cold almost everywhere πŸ™‚

  29. Nice! πŸ™‚ My only snow exposure has been in Manali for like 20 mins and I’ve never seen it snow. But my dad lived in UK for a few years and he keeps telling me how beautiful it is and all that! πŸ™‚ I like the pics! πŸ™‚

    It is beautiful – just quite difficult to go on with work and stuff πŸ™‚

  30. Gorgeous pictures!!! Read about it in the newspapers!!
    It’s colder than usual this year.

    It is, isn’t it? I believe delhi is also colder than usual this year?

    Loved all, specially the last one πŸ™‚

    Thank you πŸ™‚

  31. Hi Smitha

    Well, sitting here in India those pics almost look like as if from some other planet.

    Enjoy the winter.

    Welcome here πŸ™‚ and thank you πŸ™‚

    Global warming , anyone???

    Actually, a lot of people are asking the same here – but the experts say that one cold spell does not mean that Global warming is not happening. So we will have to wait and watch I guess.

    Cheers.

  32. Pingback: We have been waiting.. « Any Excuse to Write…

So, what do you think?

