On about nothing..

I have always admired people who blog on schedule or daily or even 2 or 3 times a day – on a regular basis. For me, these days, doing a post is becoming more and more difficult.

I have ideas for posts running around in my head, but they all disappear as soon as I get to the laptop. Of course, it does not help that daughter wants my attention right then or she would have dropped yogurt on my carpet, making me jump a mile high and forget all about the post until I have scrubbed out every sign of it out of the carpet and have given daughter a verbal scrubbing too. By the time I am done, a post is the last thing on my mind.

If nothing of this sort happens, farmville, of course, is there to distract me. My crops might be ready for harvesting or the animals ready to collect milk, down feathers or truffles. Goodness! This game is even increasing my general knowledge. I had no idea that farm animals had so many uses! I am sure all this farming will come in use, when I buy a farm after retirement. See, I have my retirement plans all chalked out – I am even practising it – virtually πŸ™‚

Anyway, I was talking about how blogging just does not seem to be happening. Sometimes, when I have a post all chalked out, in my mind, a friend would call. And off I go, chatting away, until I run out of time, and then before I know it, it is dinner time, and then night time! Where does my time go? I really need tips from you guys. How do you manage it? Most of you manage while holding down a job and playing games and being on twitter! I seriously need lessons on time management!

Did I mention that I watch that reality show – Pati, Patni aur Woh? Hitchy, please don’t throw your shoes at me – I had not intended to. Really! I started watching just to see what it was like – and then got hooked in. Β But this is it – I am not even looking at another reality TV show ever! I have had my fill of them. My husband has been teasing me that I will sit through that Rahul Mahajan one as well – so I have to prove him wrong.

One of the things I have always been on about has been confirmed by Jairam Ramesh, Minister for Environment and Forest, we would get a Nobel Prize for Filth! Maybe, they need to create a prize for it. Then maybe, we might change our ways. But it was refreshing to hear a govt minister admitting it rather than the opposition saying it.

Talking of the opposition – do we have an opposition in our country any more? They all seem very busy in ‘internal matters’. Do you think our next election might have Congress winning all seats because there was nobody to contest against them?

Christmas is already here. The shops are all decked up. I am forced to walk to the shops to gaze at a huge Father Christmas holding loads of presents. Poohi thinks that if she stares long enough, he might just take pity on her and hand her one of the presents. They certainly have the right idea though. With all the festive decor, my daughter is not going to let up until we get a Christmas tree, which we had anyway planned to do, but she wants a pink tree – which I certainly don’t fancy. And can you believe it – they do sell pink trees! There must be plenty of little girls in this country pining away for a pink Christmas tree!

I guess I had better end this aimless rambling of mine. Have a wonderful weekend, everybody!

42 thoughts on “On about nothing..

  1. I was thinking that you do post quite regularly πŸ˜‰ I found more time to blog when working than now as I was glued to computer for eight hours straight! I have been wondering about time management too.

    I used to post regularly – but in the last 2-3 weeks, have been hard pressed for time. I would have no time to blog if I were working. Yes, blogging is one of the plus points of being at home πŸ™‚

  2. This Farmville thing seems to be addictive – I haven’t yet jumped on the bandwagon…

    πŸ™‚ Yes, it is addictive.. I am finding it tough to break out of it.

    Yes, filth is a huge problem and I don’t see it improving any time soon because people won’t change…I think our culture has got something to do with it…

    I think so too, people do not think twice about littering and soiling public places..

    Yes, Christmas is round the corner and I have to buy M’s gift and Christmas Tree…It’s the first time we’ll be ‘celebrating’ it…

    Oh, am sure she will love it! We are not in town for Christmas, but will be ‘celebrating’ it too πŸ™‚

  3. Farmville is seriously a tough addiction to get over! I had to revoke my access to that game to keep myself off from it πŸ™‚

    You did? πŸ™‚ That might be the way to go πŸ™‚

    Happy weekend to you too.. have a nice time.

    Thank you.

  4. Same thing happens to me also, my mind is brimming with ideas, but when I start writing, I forget everything…though I am free all the time:)

    πŸ™‚ It happens a lot these days, as I have become a little busier that earlier.. Now I don’t seem o have time for anything πŸ™‚

    About jairam..I also read it and felt bad, why he doesnt do anything about it.

    I wonder too.

  5. And I admire people who can blog when they have small kids! I would have found it very difficult if not impossible as my kids were always grabbing at something! My younger one particularly was clingy and the elder one was always putting herself into something! I had not help with the kids either as hubby worked long hours.


    I now manage to blog with my daughter being around.. She has got used to seeing me at the laptop. It used to be much more difficult when I was working and she was really little.. Of course, because I have just one child – makes it easier to handle. But these days, time is the bigger issue.

  6. time… where is it…? the office is just sqeezing all the energy out of me… it is no better than a toddler clinging to your ankle… πŸ˜€

    I know! I know for a fact that had I been working, blogging would have been out of the question.

    i too am facing similar troubles.. no time to even reply to the comments.. or just bloghop aimlessly.. or even read my regular ones…..

    Same here – I have so many unread posts that I am scared to even look at my reader now.

    Pink tree… cute.. if u find it.. do post some pictures… πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  7. Aimless rambing? Who says so? I love such posts where u speak ur mind πŸ™‚

    Thank you, Swaram – You are good for my ego πŸ™‚

    The only gud thing abt that reality show ws the cute children na πŸ™‚ Their antics were the only saving grace … Rakhi esp. is so difficult to watch baah!!!

    Oh absolutely! Watching Rakhi’s drama is so irritating!

    Hey, u do post @ good intervals … gr8 posts to top it πŸ™‚ I enjoy reading them πŸ™‚
    I have not been posting for a while – properly.. nor have been able to blog hop..

    Talk abt farmville, I even had a dream sday night πŸ˜‰

    Yeah, read abt it πŸ™‚ Seriously – it is fun na?

    Talking abt Opposition and stuff, every part here, be it the ruling or whatever only want to point fingers @ each other na Smithu .. they even want to do things only to point out the faults in the other party .. not keeping people in mind. Anyways, no complaints as long as things are done .. whatever the motive is πŸ˜›

    I agree!

    Poohi wants a pink Christmas tree πŸ˜‰ I dint know they sell pink ones actually πŸ˜‰ It must be so nice to c everything decked up for Christmas na πŸ™‚
    Yes, they do – anything goes as far as people are ready to buy it πŸ™‚
    When r u gng on vacation? Nt during Christmas?


    Yes, we are going to be away for Christmas – but I suspect that she is not going to be happy with that answer.

  8. Farmville is seriously addicting :D! Even I waste loads of time on it.
    You too πŸ™‚ So many of us seem to be playing it

    About Jairam Ramesh, while I do appreciate his brutal honesty, he could have done better by appraising us of what he and his ministry are doing to improve the situation and also by suggesting ways to raise our levels of civic sense. Won’t do for a man in his position to merely criticize.

    I agree. He needs to do more than merely criticize. I just hope that he plans to follow his words with some action as well. Guess we will know soon..

    Even I wonder when the opposition is going to realize that being in the opposition does not mean opposing each other, but keeping a watch on the govt.

    Yes,I totally agree! I had done a post on it sometime back – https://wordsndreamz.wordpress.com/2009/05/19/opposition-politics/. Opposition certainly means keeping a watch on the govt – not meaningless opposition!

    Have a great weekend with your family πŸ˜€

    Thank you – we did have a lovely weekend:)

  9. I succummbed to the Farmville lure a few days before my delivery & was right back at it after K was born!!! Confession: I farm while I nurse her (is that weird?) My parents & my hubby think my sister & I are crazy (which we probably are), but it is such a peaceful game!!!

    πŸ™‚ It is, isn’t it? I have been lanning to stop playing for ages now – but it is too much fun to stop πŸ™‚

  10. Arey, the Rahul Mahajan one would be damn interesting πŸ™‚

    I am not even going close to that one πŸ™‚ No more reality TV for me πŸ™‚

  11. Then just quit Farmville πŸ˜‰

    Wish it were that easy πŸ™‚

    I still don’t get how y’all are so hooked to it.

    Try it once and you will know πŸ™‚

    Pink trees? What do you think little boys fancy then? Red tree aka Spider Man, or a blue one aka Super man or better yet, Black Christmas tree for Batman!!!!

    Yes! That is all we need! It is madness, I tell you!

  12. I just saw this.. but rushing away… !! will comment from Bharuch !!!!!!!! πŸ˜›

    Comment whenever you can πŸ™‚ I could see on FB that you are busy guarding your luggage πŸ˜‰

  13. Very few bloggers manage to blog regularly, reply to all comments, read other blogs and comment there. Phew! A huge task in itself, no? The fun of blogging is we can come after a week and put up a post about how routine the week was and there still will be people who’d like the post πŸ˜€
    See…now this comment was aimless, unlike the post

    I know. But some manage it so well πŸ™‚

    ‘The fun of blogging is we can come after a week and put up a post about how routine the week was and there still will be people who’d like the post :D’ = Oh absolutely!

    This comment was in no way aimless πŸ™‚

  14. If you decide to have a pink tree please post a photo, I tried hard but couldn’t imagine what it looks like.
    Farmville is addictive, I know because of my daughter, the strawberries perish in 4 hours and she has to take care of them πŸ™‚

    I will. They are artificial Christmas trees. We saw one in white too today πŸ™‚ Will post a pic πŸ™‚ Oh yes, strawberries perish in 4 hours :), so your daughter is hooked on Farmville too!

    About Jairam Ramesh, people should ask him, what does he plan to do to get rid of the filth, he is a cabinet minister and has to take responsibility.

    I agree! Yes, I wonder how he plans to work on removing all this filth and ensuring that it does not build up again.

  15. LOL…dont worry. you arent late with your posts, its just your comments that come late. I really look forward to comments in my post from a few bloggers, and to be honest, one of them is you ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Oh my goodness! I am touched, Vimmuuu! I am hopping over right away to see if I have missed any posts of yours πŸ™‚

    I just went through this writers block a few days back ! I guess, things are back in track now for me. I juggle work, friends, blogging, my songs, laxmi and a few other things too. Sometimes it gets a little taxing, but then thats the whole thrill ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Dont worry, when your daughter spills curd the next time, write a post on how to clean it !! Ohhh, you have already done it πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Yes, it does get taxing. As for you, am sure you will disappear for a while after you get married πŸ™‚

    LOL@ curd cleaning post πŸ™‚ If I do any more cleaning posts, I will get delegated to a household tips blog πŸ™‚

  16. Boy your post is making me feel guilty πŸ˜₯ I don’t write posts bcoz to be very frank my brain is not that functional when it comes to jotting down stuffs :mrgreen: But yeah I don’t think twice before putting comments everywhere 😳 Do you think I should cut down on my comments 😦 and make people think I am all wise and cultured? :mrgreen:


    I don’t think cutting down on your comments are going to make you look all ‘wise and cultured’ πŸ˜‰ Did I tell you that people have been coming to my blog searching for you πŸ™‚ Famous Sakshi πŸ™‚

    Arrghhhhhhhh Poohi kutty wants pink tree? I saw them in every shop here and it’s so weird na? They have white trees too….I just hope by next year they don’t plan to bring out a rainbow tree 😦

    I know! White, Pink! Its so crazy! I like the normal old fashioned christmas tree.

    • Hee hoo haa at people coming here searching for Sakshi. I think everyone is in a mood for serious pest control on their blogs then πŸ˜₯ So what do they ask? What are the preventive measures we can take before our blog is infected with Sakshi? Is there a vaccination against Sakshi landing at our place? :mrgreen:

      πŸ™‚ Yeah, Sakshi virus πŸ™‚ You are just as famous as H1N1 πŸ™‚ I don’t mind my blog being infected by this virus , though:)

      Hi5 to you….even I like the old fashioned Christmas tree and that’s what I am gonna put up near my window…psst psst…I have got so many chocolates to hang beside the ornaments. I love picking then from the tree and munching off πŸ˜›

      Hi5! Chocolates hanging from christmas trees! I want some too! I wouldn’t dare hang chocolates – They would end up in my tummy before even reaching the Christmas tree πŸ™‚

  17. Btw you call this post of yours aimless πŸ˜† :shock πŸ™„ ? Gosh Smitha are you indirectly telling me to stop writing nonsense then? :mrgreen;

    What would you call this, Saksh πŸ™‚ This post is so vague, that I almost deleted it off πŸ™‚ Your posts are not nonsense, they are incredibly funny πŸ™‚

    Time management? sobs…sobs…I never seem to have time to iron all the clothes I was per week….sobs!!!!!

    Ironing clothes! I can’t even start to tell you how badly I am backlogged – and I actually love ironing clothes 😦

  18. LOL!!

    Pink trees?! I want one too! A Pink Christmas tree!!
    You too πŸ™‚ Let me post a pic of it -it really does not look as good as a normal christmas tree πŸ™‚

    I have too mnay posts in my head too…. sigh…
    I think that’s the case with most of us πŸ™‚

  19. sometimes one finds nothing to blog and no time either…

    but your ramblings are great as it is.. so just write what is in your mind.. nd please dont forget to post your comments πŸ™‚

    Thank you Happy Kitten πŸ™‚ I have your posts pending to read as well. Will get to it.

  20. I also wonder how ppl maintain blogs so well….there are so many blogs listed in my reader…now i was off just for two days and 50 unread post….its not compulsion to read all but still i wnt to read most of them…
    with office work , my daughter and household work..me too finiding it difficult to maintain blog…

    I know! I have way too many pending posts too 😦

    Tell me too if you find any good solution πŸ˜‰
    pink tree …wow…i was also too fascinated by this pink color in my childhood…my first doll name was pinky and then next mamma pinky , dadi pinki , aunty pinki etc πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    πŸ™‚ She is crazy about pink! Almost all little girls here seem to be.. But pink trees would be taking it too far πŸ™‚

    Hugs to cutie poohi πŸ™‚

    Thanks Rash! Hugs to little angel too!

  21. oh its a tough task to be regular… i dont know why i never took to farm ville… though i am addicted to other games on Fb… wondering why?

    It is, isn’t it? I don’t play any games on FB – and I got hooked on Farmville! I am now staying away from all other games. Farmville is addictive enough πŸ™‚

  22. whoa!!! how many ideas did u actually have in mind when u started to write this post??? its gone all over the place! πŸ˜€ but cute it is!

    Yes, it is all over the place πŸ™‚

    Proud to announce that I havent yet moved to Farmville!! heard its scarily addictive.

    Oh it is ! Stay away if you don’t want to get addicted!

    i was a regular watcher of Rakhi ka swayamvar but never got around to following pati, patni aur woh. there’s only so much rakhi-drama i cud take! πŸ˜›

    Oh yes! I feel like throwing something at her – this is the last reality show that I watch!

    and as for managing time with blogs, pls let me know if u get any bright ideas. i cud definitely use them myself! 😐

    πŸ™‚ Yes, we could all use bright ideas for sure πŸ™‚

  23. Twitter distracts me a lot!! Tried Farmville but didn’t find it interesting. I think blogging twice a week is ok. Thrice and more than that is sometimes too much for readers!! And may lead to a burn out for the blogger unless he/she writes every mundane stuff of his/her life!


    You are amazing on Twitter πŸ™‚ I hardly find the time to log onto Twitter. Yes, twice a week is a good frequency. I have been blogging once in 2 weeks, these days πŸ™‚ But yes, I agree that twice a week is ideal.

  24. Time management is a big question mark now, with me too, Smitha! I just get 2-3 hours max. to sit here. If I get one or two phone calls…finished. I need to concentrate a lot for writing a post…forget half the words while writing! Reading and commenting is not a big problem!

    I have not been able to read and comment either. Somehow, I just don’t seem to get the time to sit down and do it.. It has been a little crazy for the last few weeks..

    Jairam is right. And about the opposition…we are struck with congress for some years now. No other good leader is in the horizon!

    I know. I wish we had leaders who we could look up to!

    Just now joined twitter, because everyone is talking about it! But ‘farmville’…not my cake!

    Hvae you? Could you email me our id? Mine is Smithapi. Though I am not really active there.

    ‘Poohi thinks that if she stares long enough, he might just take pity on her and hand her one of the presents.’
    – typical children…’hugs’ to Poohi! Pink christmas tree? Post a photo please!

    Will do πŸ™‚ I don’t plan to buy one, but should be able to find a photo in the internet πŸ™‚

  25. I love aimless ramblings πŸ™‚

    You do πŸ™‚

    You know what? Like you even I have so many ideas going on in my mind but somehow when am at my creative best I don’t get time to write and when I sit to write the creativity goes for a toss!!! But then I think it is a phase which will pass why worry too much?? πŸ˜€

    I know.. not worried at all πŸ™‚ Just needed an excuse to post πŸ™‚

    BTW even I have been seeing Pati Patni & Woh πŸ˜€ and on & off I even see “Lux Perfect Bride” though the 1st one isn’t bad at all but the later is bad & staged but I still watch it once a week for entertainment sake πŸ˜‰

    πŸ™‚

    πŸ™‚ We started watching Perfect Bride, but it was too much for me πŸ™‚ I would sit and criticise and husband got tired of listening to my rants πŸ™‚

  26. my daughters would love pink christmas tree too!!!

    All these little girls! They just love pink, don’t they?

    thankfully they have not seen anyone…currently they like any Christmas tree..

    She saw one the other day and has been after it since πŸ™‚ I still plan on a green one πŸ™‚

    i plan to put it up after thanksgiving..
    Here, we don’t have Thanksgiving, so Christmas decor is all around already πŸ™‚

  27. same story here smitha…
    earlier I used to find so much time and now that i have shifted to a new project, forget about writing new posts, i am finding it difficult to catch up with others posts 😦
    Hope i will learn time management and come up with a post soon πŸ™‚


    I can imagine, Mystery! It used to be like that for me too. If I were working, blogging is something I doubt. I could have done, with any sort of regularity.. I am amazed that you still manage to blog πŸ™‚

  28. ohhh farmville ….come on ….
    love to read your views about reality shows like MTV splitsvilla

    I don’t watch any other reality show. What happened was, that I started watching that Rakhi ka Swayamvar because I wanted to see, who actually wants to marry her :)Then got hooked on to this Pati , Patni aur Woh – now no more! It is just a waste of time πŸ™‚

    • I asked you coz, b4 i used watch that occasionally .those shows are ‘too’ much for family view (even one of the contestant’s father commented that “i can’t watch his program with his mom”) and also unfortunately there producers are doing all kinda cheap publicity stunt for these craps(in the ad of one of those programs, they even projected the allegations came about them in b-grade channels and newspapers ….what to say , pathetic πŸ™„ )
      yeahh you are right, these craps are just a waste of time πŸ™‚

      I can imagine.. I wouldn’t want Poohi to watch any of this! I make sure that she is fast asleep before even switching on the TV.

  29. Even i fail to understand how i used to post in my food blog,every day or every alternate days i used to do post and write comments on other blogs,now i am not getting time at all.What ever little time i am getting i am harvesting,planting etc………………

    I know, Saritha! My whole free time goes in Farmville 😦 I have to stop it – but it is too good to stop πŸ™‚

    Since last few days one after the other are failing sick,now today all are better so i put both of them to
    sleep and came here.


    Oh yes, Even Poohi was home last week with a ear infection and it was difficult to get much done at home.. She is at school today, so I hope to get some work done :)How is Varu and Pinkuda? Hope they are better soon! It feels terrible when they fall sick..

    Poohi thinks that if she stares long enough, he might just take pity on her and hand her one of the presents—- so sweet,hugs to little girl.

    She is one crazy girl πŸ™‚

  30. Poohi spills yoghurt too on the sofa?? Give her a same from Namnam. I Why do they always have to target the very area we forbid them from??

    Sofa would have been still ok – its leather so easier to wipe off. But she decides to spill it on the carpet! I can’t tell you how much extra work that is! ‘Why do they always have to target the very area we forbid them from??’ – I think they come programmed to do it πŸ™‚

    Pati Pani aur woh??? seriously smits? I hate that serial.

    I hate it and I still watch it – I need my head examined πŸ™‚

    Farmville mentioned here too??? πŸ™„ You guys are seriously in need of councelling πŸ˜†


    Yes, yes, in serious need of counseling. I am hoping that my US trip might cure me – 2 weeks away from facebook might just do the trick πŸ™‚

    chrismas mood set it? wow! It must be festive,nahi?here too the climate has got much better and I now love going out in the evenings.

    It is rather nice.. But here the weather is still miserable.. Cold, wet and windy.. So stepping out is not so much fun these days..

  31. Oh…come on…you are much more regular blogger than me.
    I have lot of excuses for not writing regularly … at times its nothing but the comfortable couch holding me back ;D

    I used to be quite regular – have been quite irregular for a while now πŸ™‚

    Btw…I think “pink Christmas tree” idea is very interesting πŸ˜‰

    You think so πŸ™‚ I like normal old fashioned christmas trees πŸ™‚

  32. This post is sooooo me that I cd post this on mine and my parents would think it was me…except for the cleanliness bit :-D. At this point I wd have given the kids a earful and made them clean it up…ofcourse its another matter they’d make another mess and I banish them to a corner of the room :-/

    Believe me – I have tried it – making her clean it up – she loves it! She loves cleaning up – but as you say, it makes it even more messy 😦 and the thing with yogurt and carpets is that I cannot even take a chance πŸ™‚

    And oh, I dont do Farmville tho I knw if I did I’d have been in the same situation as u πŸ˜€
    πŸ™‚ I don’t know what I was thinking when I decided to play farmville πŸ™‚

  33. Ramblings n more, but I loved every bit of it… Like all the news at one go, n u said it so sweetly Smitha:))

    I was in the mood where I just wanted to write πŸ™‚ So off I went, rambling all over the post πŸ™‚

    I’m addicted to Jewel Quest n Teddy factory, n of course pacman!! yes I just deleted the files from my system to download them back again or play online… Will try farmville now (ooops think I’m late abt this one definitely, old school maybe:(…


    I used to be addicted to Scrabble and refused to play every game because I did not have the time.. I have no idea why I started playing farmville 😦

    Democracy boss…. what government what party… I just love watching Arnab’s debates at 9:30… too much of headly n rana n their parties with rahul bhatt n gyming somewhere… I just refuse to switch on the news channels these days…


    We don’t get Times Now here. I have only NDTV to watch here πŸ™‚ I normally stick to NDTV news – and thats what I am going to do now – no more reality TV:)

    See I’m rambling too!! oops! u are definitely an inspiration Smitha. I’m looking forward to setting up the christmas tree, mine’s a tall green one, but I have pink hanging…heeee

    πŸ™‚ I loved your comment πŸ™‚ I have to get a new one this year.. Daughter is all excited πŸ™‚

    cya n enjoy:)
    Thank you! You too!

  34. I admire you for coming out with such varied posts-from yummy food, to festivals, to politics and being a mother-inspite of all your commitments. You are doing a great job Smitha!

  35. Is this called aimless rambling? Then what will you say about my posts πŸ™‚
    Pink christmas tree… I cant imagine that at all and then farmyille is really addictive 😦 i am spending hours in it…

  36. I hear you; same thing happens with me. I find myself thinking about posting to the blog all the time, but hardly find the time to really get down to it.

    Also, your post has almost convinced me to try out Farmville. It sounds like a lot of fun.

  37. “have given daughter a verbal scrubbing too” 😦 shes too cute for that isnt it
    “f nothing of this sort happens, farmville” get off it it screws life like nethng. πŸ˜€
    you dont like roadies or splitsvilla πŸ˜‰

    No – now my TV watching has gone back to NDTV and BBC πŸ™‚ It feels much better this way πŸ™‚ Have retired from Farmville too – so it makes life easier πŸ™‚

    ” Poohi thinks that if she stares long enough, he might just take pity on her and hand her one of the presents. They certainly have the right idea though. With all the festive decor, my daughter is not going to let up until we get a Christmas tree, which we had anyway planned to do, but she wants a pink tree – which I certainly don’t fancy. And can you believe it – they do sell pink trees! ” aww cute πŸ™‚ when does she get her presents..its cruel to keep a child staring like that you know? ;)..pink is good..why not pink tree πŸ™‚


    She got a normal green tree πŸ™‚ She forgot all about the pink one – thank god πŸ™‚ I like green more πŸ™‚ And she has had a ball decorating it πŸ™‚

So, what do you think?

