42 Years of Mowgli

As long back as I can recall, the jungle book and Mowgli has been part of my life. Rudyard Kipling’s enchanting tale of a little boy brought up by wolves, befriended by the friendly but dangerous when provoked Bagheera , the lovable Baloo and the terrifying Sher Khan!

It had all the elements of a block buster, come to think of it, and I remember being enthralled by it. I remember reading the book, coming across abridged versions in English text books, brought to life by my wonderful teachers, who knew just how to modulate their voices to enact the vicious, bitter Sher Khan, the sweet cuddly Baloo, and the cutest of them all, Mowgli!

One time, we had a huge production of the Jungle Book, as part of our school Annual day celebration. It involved students from all the classes and Mowgli was my classmate. All of us who had itsy bitsy roles were delighted! I was a firefly and though all I had to do was dance around wearing a black dress, holding a torch – I loved it! It was amazing – a whole lot of fun. As part of the preparation, we used to get to watch the original animated movie of the Jungle Book and that was the biggest treat of them all. I remember being totally zapped by it. This was before Jungle Book came on DD – so it was a totally awesome experience for all of us.

Today, I read in the that it has been 42 years since that animated movie came out.Β  Reading that article brought out a torrent of memories.. of reading Jungle Book, of watching the movie, fond memories of teachers trying to get us work on the annual day adaptation of the story and a lot of memories of the Jungle Book on DD.. After the ‘Chaddi pehan ke’ song came out, my classmate who played Mowgli had a tough time in class, with all of ribbing him for it,even though it had been some years since he enacted Mowgli.

Now, daughter has fallen in love with the Jungle book stories and was delighted to see the above video today. Every time I read the story to her, I relive my childhood memories. Although, I normally love books more than the movies adapted from books, I guess, Jungle Book is one exception, where I love both the book and the movie.

PS: Belated Happy Diwali to all of you! Hope you all had a lovely time!

Edited to add: The Bare necessities song. I don’t know how I missed out putting that up πŸ™‚ Thanks guys, for reminding me πŸ™‚

Thanks Hitchy – Jungle Book Part 2

63 thoughts on “42 Years of Mowgli

  1. Me too loved Jungle book to the core Smitha… and never missed a part when telecasted in DD… one awesome story it is.. lovable and it will appeal to me now also..

    You too, Kanagu πŸ™‚ I am a big fan πŸ™‚

    I didn’t seen the movie yet… 😦 😦

    I saw it coz they showed it in school – I am bad at movies otherwise πŸ™‚

    I loved the character Babloo and Bhageera very much… more than mougli…
    I think I liked Bagheera the most! There is something about that panther!

  2. I love Jungle Book too!!!

    When I was in 8th. grade, we too put up a production of this timeless classic…I can’t forget singing “Bare necessities…..”…

    You know – funnily I don’t remember the year we put up the Jungle Book.. But it was such fun!

    42 yrs. already! wow!!! How time flies…
    Time certainly flies!

  3. 3rd πŸ˜€

    Smitha, welcome back πŸ™‚ Trust me, I missed you a lot. May be there are some evidences in my comment on your blog…..

    Thank you.

    Pleasure to find you after Diwali with a post that consists bundle of childhood memories. I could remember that when I was in primary, this Mowgli was telecast in national television every friday. I waited eagerly for this day to join with Bageera, mowgli, Balu πŸ™‚

    Yeah.. Jungle Book does hold a lot of nostagia value for most of us..

    Best wishes for your child… such a great mom read stories and see cartoons along with the cuty…. πŸ™‚ so sweet….

    Thank you, Mahmud.

    Belated happy diwali 😎

    Thank you.

  4. The addiction to jungle book was so much for us even in college days, we had a nick name for each person in our group from Jungle Book characters! So much of nostalgia.. I would still luv watching that πŸ™‚

    In college too πŸ™‚ Wow! Yes, I love watching it even now πŸ™‚

  5. Ah yes.. Jungle book! πŸ™‚

    so many memories… πŸ™‚

    Thank you for helping me relive mine as well πŸ™‚

    I know! So many memories, na?

    Hope you too had a fantastic festival! πŸ™‚
    We had a sickly festival 😦 All of us were unwell πŸ™‚ But it was fun in it’s own way πŸ™‚

  6. U brought the memories back.I brought cds for the kids and always play that song jungle jungle pata chala ha chadi phanki pholo …… on youtube.

    DD was the best πŸ™‚

    DD certainly was! So Pinkuda and Varu like it too? We play it on the youtube too πŸ™‚ Anisha loves all of it. She makes me play all the jungle book songs πŸ™‚

  7. Bhalu, bhagira et..al were our childhood friends na πŸ™‚
    42 yrs wow wow wow! N u r so rt abt Jungle Book on TV! It ws done really well! I dont like seeing the adaptations of books too as much but this one ws indeed an exception!

    I know! It is an exception – I love it! I enjoy it just as much now πŸ™‚

    Its so nice that u got to enact the same in school πŸ™‚ Ny pics u hvng?
    Actually – no – now that I think back – I wish I had though..

    Hw sweet that Poohi is loving the tales too πŸ™‚ Thanks for the video Smithu πŸ™‚
    She is sitting and enjoying the video right now with me πŸ™‚
    Happy Diwali to all of u @ home πŸ™‚

    Thanks Swaram!

  8. You are bringing back the childhood memories of all the readers here….for me my children’s memories! How we enjoyed these serials with them. All of us used to discuss the story. My elder son was a great fan of this song…chaddi pahanke…hmm…thank you.

    Your sons too πŸ™‚ I guess most of us have happy memories associated with the Jungle Book πŸ™‚

    Now, it is Poohi’s time to enjoy! thanks for the Deepavali wishes, Smitha!

    Yes, it is indeed her time to enjoy and I do some enjoying too , with her πŸ™‚

  9. It is still one of my all time favorites. Think I enjoy it more than the kids πŸ™‚ The only one that comes anywhere close to it is ‘Finding Nemo’

    Oh yes! Finding Nemo does come close, doesn’t it πŸ™‚

  10. Somehow, I never got enchanted with Jungle Book or Mowgli. Maybe because it came out on DD at a time when I was entering my teens and discovering things other than TV ;-).

    Yes, it did come when I was in my teens – but I was already hooked on it πŸ™‚ ‘discovering things other than TV ‘ – now that sounds interesting πŸ˜‰

    But now reading this post makes me wonder that yeah all of it does sound very filmy, very blockbusterish…

    It does, doesn’t it?

  11. Oh Smitha,I cant tell you much I can relate to what you have said here.Jungle Book is something I’ve grown up watching listening to,enacting too. I remember how much I used to look forward to watching the series on DD.’chaddi pehanke phool khila hai’ song had become an anthem of sorts!I used to actually fantasize about befriending Bhaalu,Bageera,Haathi and I so used to envy Mowgli πŸ˜€ !

    I know! It all felt so magical, na? I used to love the book and from there started my fascination with it πŸ™‚ I remember the excitement when we were enacting it πŸ™‚

    And now Namnam,like Poohi,adores them too.She breaks into a jig every time she hears,’look for the bare necessities,the simple bare necessities,forget about about your worries and your strife'(I’m actually singing it while typing these words..LOL)!

    I have put up the song πŸ™‚ Thanks for reminding me- I can’t believe I forgot to include it 😦
    I’m on the look out for Jungle Book2,but sadly havent found it yet.

    Are you looking for the book or the movie? I have a copy of the book – I could give it you when we meet πŸ™‚ Let me check the movie to see if it is in stock here.

    • know what,Smits,Namnam is sitting right here on my lap listening to ‘bare necessities’!
      She’s thrilled to bits!


      Oh! Poohi did that too! She made me play it again and again! She is loving my blog today – all her favourite characters πŸ™‚

      ok i’m scrolling up to play it again…she is screaming for a replay πŸ˜€

      I can so imagine it πŸ™‚

    • Well Deeps in a way your fantasy has come alive…with friends like me, crafty, vims, hitchy and all it’s a jungle book right here in blog world no?? well excuse me but I prefer to be the village beauty ok?? rest of the characters are free to take….Bhaloo can be hitchy what with his fascination with food….bhagoooooooooooooooooooooo

  12. I always liked Sher khan in this and no one else !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Why am I not surprised πŸ™‚

    Btw, how different is Tarzan from Mowgli ? I guess Tarzan grew up and Mowgli didnt, right ? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    There you go – you answered your own question πŸ™‚

  13. Oh! It is one great animated series, really brings the characters to life. I remember Jungle Book on Sunday mornings, in the days of Doordarshan. It used to really keep me hooked, and that inspite of me not being a great fan of animation. 42 years? Really? Wow!!

    You are not a fan of animation, GM? I love animated stuff – am crazy about it πŸ™‚

  14. Jungle book , tales pond, duckes tales ,Aladin were the few cartoon programs that was available in tv on my childhood days.I guess JB telecasted on sunday mornngs and evenings in malayalam.Between can’t believe it came 42 years back.it is far better than animated serials in now a days like Ben10,power rangers etc.


    I know! I used to love it too πŸ™‚ Oh – it used to be telecast in Malayalam as well πŸ™‚ Wow! I guess, we will all have a soft corner to the stuff we grew up on πŸ™‚

  15. Wow so many years since Mowgli and the memories are so fresh-esp the “chaddi pehan ke ..” jingle. My friend’s two-year old insists on watching “Mowgli” at all times of the day-and when u tell her it’s not playing on TV she responds: CD???

    Aww! That was precious! Children these days have all their fundas in place πŸ™‚

    Long live Jungle book!

    Amen to that!

  16. I liked the Jungle Book as a kid esp the bare necessities song. And now I am so happy that both my kids watch it with the same mouth-open, eyes-transfixed expression πŸ˜€

    ‘same mouth-open, eyes-transfixed expression ‘ – Oh yes! You have described it so well πŸ™‚

  17. Our cat is named Sher Khan after Sher Khan in the movie πŸ™‚ Loved Bare Necessities and all the facial expressions of all the characters, and the cuteness of Moghli of course πŸ™‚ Lovely post, brought back lots of memories πŸ™‚

  18. Jungle jungle pata chala hai, pata chala hai – I loved this song! More than even the serial!! Interesting to note that there is a book! I liked Congo both in its book form as well as movie form…

    Destination Infinity

  19. Jungle Book is another thing which ties us all together. Mowgli, Bagheera, Baloo, Ikki…so many characters all part of our childhood and now our child’s.

    The Indian version of Jungle Book had lyrics by Gulzar. Cute lyrics.. πŸ˜€

  20. My whole family loves Jungle Book…period!! one DVD we all can sit and watch together and never get bored off πŸ˜› Hey the DVD we got from India has options for watching it in english, spanish and hindi and we love all the versions of the song. I tried searching on youtube for the hindi version of Bare necessities. The hindi version goes like masti ki gudgudi…and I tell you its the best πŸ˜›

    How come you didn’t mention this one sung by the Jonas Brothers?? One of the songs Saman and I go bonkers dancing on :mrgreen: I tell you anyone with left or right legs or combination of both can dance bindaas to this one 😈

  21. This book of Rudyard Kipling is a strong part of my childhood too. Have read it again, and again, and again. When I saw the movie I was very much an adult but enjoyed the movie like a child would.

  22. childhood without mowgli is incomplete. i loved the book as a kid.. it was very fascinating… and i remember lots of kids were crazy about the cartoon version… even the intolerably hindi version that used to come on the tele!

    im kinda late…..but i hope u and ur family had a sparkling diwali!

    PS: great header smitha! loved it!:)

  23. I remember re reading the Jungle Books (there are some 4 or 5 of them) during my MBA. The ending is really really sad 😦

    And I remember the movie cartoon as a kid – I specially loved the vultures!

  24. Happy Diwali to all of you too! So, Mowgli is back! Great!

    I am sure next will be the original ‘Tales from the Panchatantra’. They can enthrall and teach without trying to preach.

  25. First things first…Wonderful Header Smitha…

    Jungle book!
    I love it!
    time just flies by.. just the other day i wrote about dd turning 50 and mowgli has also bcom 42 already!!!
    all these charachters have been a part of our childhood and have made it even the more memorable. isnt it?
    I love baloo the most of all πŸ™‚

  26. You brought some lovely memories…. I remember watching the movie with the our kids and yes it was too good.. guess it is time for another watch…

  27. aah..the good ol jungle book days…

    where’s all the innocence gone? Kids these days are hooked to those 24/7 cartoon channels on cable where all kids of lousy cartoons are telecasted.

    My nephew spends an hour each day in front of the TV. Sometimes I just sit with him to try and see whats the latest in the cartoon world and I am always disappointed. The overall content quality of the cartoons have gone down drastically.

  28. I have the comics of Jungle Book Part -1 that they used to give in theatres… when it was released… !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I still have it… and we bought both the parts for Hriday too the new one is more swanky and glossy but I still completely love the old one.. !!!

    Bhageera was my favourite… I used to love Kaa and King louie too.. !! I somehow didnt find Baloo all that cool actually… !! πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    Have you seen the part two ?? huh ??

    even that is sooper !! I have seen both the parts atleast 25 times each… !! My son too loves watching it !! and yes… while growing up this book has always caught my imagination… !! I m gonna go to those very jungles where this book was conjured and written… Kanha… they say its the most beautiful forest of India… !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  29. hey u bring back lot of memories..this was one of my fav serial too..me and my bro luvd watching it and use to sing the title song loudly when it use to come on dd…

    I luv mogli ..her friend radha…baloo baghira , sherkhan all…

    good to see poohi also like this πŸ™‚

    I know.. I think most of us are from the ‘Jungle Book’ generation -either the book or the serial on DD πŸ™‚

  30. πŸ™‚ hmmm……those sunday get-togethers… with all cousins gathering around the tv, having idlys…ahhh..u bring back those lovely moments.

    Those sundays were amazing! And I think sundays had so much of fun TV serials too πŸ™‚

    ps: lovely header..

    Thanks you!

  31. I always loved Mowgli & the title song!!!! It is darn darn cute!!!
    I know!

    Somehow Jungle book reminds me of leisurely Saturday afternoons!!!

    For me it reminds me of Sunday mornings – I might have forgotten – its been years now πŸ™‚
    Nice sweet post πŸ™‚

    Thanks Smita!

  32. When I was in third standard ,I watiting for sunday, till at 6.30 PM . It was a good job to me! my mum scolded me too, for waching TV at evening . whats more I ‘m too love the mowgli, oh my dear I can’t for get you!! I searched every where for your movie in Malayalam but I can’t win till today…..Balu,Bageera,kichu,kaa,…I can’t forget them…

So, what do you think?

