When my legs went on strike..

Today was one of those days when little goes according to plan.

I had my work all chalked out, but was disrupted when I got caught in a chat by email marathon with some of the looniest characters in blogworld (you guys know who you are, let me not name and shame all of us :)). Before I knew it, time had flown right out of the window.

Now this is one of the things I hate about living here, no maids, having to run around doing stuff all by myself, and before I knew it, it was time to pick up daughter from the nursery. Now she goes to another nursery 2 days a week and it is a mile from where we live. I have perfected the art of leaving at the last minute possible, in order to pick her up, dot at 1:00. With careful iterations, I have reached my best time of 15 minutes door to door, and today, it was 12:50 before I could get out of the house. And I had not even had the time to have lunch – which in my case is a disastrous thing to do.

With 5 minutes already eaten up and the nursery charging by the minute for every minute we are late, I had to somehow reach on time. So I drew up a back up plan. As soon as I reached the walking trail, away from curious eyes, I would have to sprint. Walking was not going to take me there in 10 minutes. So as soon as I reached a point in the walking trail where no nosy-parker could see me, I set off, only to come to a grinding halt in under 3o secs. I almost ran into a terrified toddler, clinging to his mother, terrified at the sight of my hurling down the path, handbag and fleece jacket flying in the air. I must have looked like Phoebe ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

After that, I tried running after the toddler and his mum were out of sight, but my legs refused. They refused to be punished for my wasting away my time and expecting the world out of them, without providing them with adequate nourishment . Not only did they refuse to run, they also refused to walk as fast as they normally do. Talk about disobedient legs! And ways, after a lot of cajoling, they decided to up their pace. By then, not just my legs, my tummy was protesting in hunger too.

Finally, despite my short lived sprint, I reached the nursery only at 1:05, and picked up daughter. They did not mention anything about being late – but I guess, next month’s bill will.

By the time, I got daughter to leave the place (she loves her nursery so much, that she tries to linger there as much as she can – am sure those people must be thinking that I torture her at home ), I wasdelirious with hunger and my legs were killing me. Turns out, daughter wanted to add to that. She was in the mood for some running. So off she went, and I had to run with her, my legs cursing me with every step, and tummy rumbling ominously.

If all that running was not enough, she also had to go and play in the park. Now, I want her to be active, but sometimes, I do wish she would say things like, ‘Can we go home quickly and sleep’, instead, her park time fun never ends. It was 2:30 by the time, I managed to pull her away from the park, and haul ourselves home and get some food inside me. What bliss, to be able to eat something!

Starving for 2.3 hours, almost killed me. Tell me guys, how do those amongst you who fast, without food or drink, manage? My admiration for you guys, have increased manifold after today.

68 thoughts on “When my legs went on strike..

    • Hey how r u legs now…i can very well understand how tough would it be for you to run…i m also not much in running or jogging type stuff… ๐Ÿ™‚

      Yes, I walk – I love walking – but running is another story ๐Ÿ™‚

      About staying hungry…KC is the only fast i use to have…and somehow i dont feel its very tough…when u have company of others and prime focus is evening pooja…..time just flies..and at night u can have whatevery u want ๐Ÿ™‚

      It is still amazing how you manage! Believe me, I can’t! Pujas or not – I cannot stay hungry ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  1. ๐Ÿ™‚ awww Smitha.. if you have a lot of activity lined up you should not keep yourself hungry for long.. and weather is cold too as you said.. u should have picked up some snack while starting to sprint towards the nursery ๐Ÿ˜›

    I never do this, normally. I can’t skip meals – I feel really sick if I do, but today, I was running very very very late ๐Ÿ˜ฆ So had no time. I thought I would have time to have some yogurt – but I miscalculated.

    and you got caught in email chats haan.. now whatever that means ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜›
    but i know what you mean.. internet can keep one busy the whole day n night if you show a lil interest..

    I know! Time just flies!

    I fast but thats more of abstinention from some food stuff.. i survive on fruits/juices/milk etc… so I dont starve myself.. pet puja comes first in any case ๐Ÿ˜
    I can still do only fruits/juices/milk fast – but not without eating anything. I never fast, as I have a migraine problem, which compounds itself if I don’t eat on time.. today was an exception, I make sure I eat on time, most of the time.

  2. “she loves her nursery so much, that she tries to linger there as much as she can โ€“ am sure those people must be thinking that I torture her at home”

    At least that is a nursery that she is used to. I was checking out playschools for my daughter and took her on one of the visits. She just refused to come back with me. Sat on the floor and bawled.

    Oh dear! Our daughters must have been separated at birth;) Mine did the exact same thing too! Was I embarrased! New place, most children refuse to leave their mom’s hands, and our children settle themselves in the 10 minutes it takes to see the place and then bawl the place down !!

    Why do they do this to such angelic mothers like us?

    I know!!! How old is your little one?

    Hope your legs and tummy are alright now ๐Ÿ™‚
    Tummy is fine, legs will protest for a little longer. I discovered muscles that I never knew existed ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Me never fasts… will eat anything at anytime… ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€
    but there are times while in room I will be hungry by night but won’t have anything to have… then I will have some 1/2L of water and sleep peacefully…
    I never fast – I need to eat on time.. else I get a horrible headache and feel faint ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    I love midnight snacking ๐Ÿ™‚ We used to eat all sorts of junk in the middle of the night ๐Ÿ™‚

    is there no shops nearby to have anything??? so bad…
    There are shops, but not en-route, so I would have to walk extra to reach there – it is easier to get back home – we live in the middle of nowhere ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. ๐Ÿ™‚ hehe…i can so totally identify with it
    There are so many times when i have such looooooooooooong conversations over phone with my friends and i forget that i have to cook before shona gets up.. and then I literally starve till he has his snack.. his play time, his tummy time etc etc…

    I know! Time just flies sometimes….

    fasting for half day itself is tough for Satyanarayana pooja, I dont attempt karva chauth/teej as my husband cant fast either… ๐Ÿ˜‰


    I can’t fast at all. I need to eat something at meal times. Breakfast is something I just cannot skip – I will be really sick by mid morning then ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  5. “but I guess, next monthโ€™s bill will.. . . .. . . . ”

    They charge you extra for picking up the child late ?

    Never knew that.

    Yes, they do..

    (by the way well written)
    Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ And welcome here, thanks for dropping by.

  6. “she loves her nursery so much, that she tries to linger there as much as she can โ€“ am sure those people must be thinking that I torture her at home .”

    Tell me about it. What can you tell a kid who asks if she can go to her school even on weekends. ๐Ÿ˜


    Same here, Sols, now that she goes to nursery every day – she hates it on weekends when she is at home ๐Ÿ˜ฆ On wednesdays, when she has just 3 hours, she pesters me to take her to the other nursery ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    You run like Phoebe too? Join me, Smi. I need company. My husband and daughter don’t want to be seen with me when I run (I mentioned it on my blog before). I embarrass them Ha..ha..ha.. by running like this.

    I rarely run, because I run so badly ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Athletics and me were far away when I was in school and today just proved that I should stay away from running ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. LOL ! admit it, you are getting old !!! and you are blaming it on a few mails by some loony bloggers, whom I am not aware of at all ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Yeah, yeah ๐Ÿ™‚ I wonder who those loony bloggers were ๐Ÿ™‚ I am old? Here, I was colouring my hair in vain, now you have gone an revealed my secret that I am in reality an 80 yr old ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    YOUR daughter loves her nursery more??? Im not surprised !! who wouldnt want to be away from home with such a mom and her close buddies like Silly-lo ! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€
    ๐Ÿ™‚ With friends like you , who needs enemies ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Oh boy you were caught answering to mails from loony bloggers? see that is why I stay smart and don’t accept buddy requests. Che ppl really have time to do all that spamming stuff? *crafty’s rolling eye smiley*

    Yeah, yeah, little miss innocent!

    Ayyo don’t you dare restrict Poohi from having her fun…muahhh to her and let her frolic around as much as she wants. You should carry boiled eggs and of course Vimmu’s boiled water with you to indulge in while she is playing.


    Boiled egg? But Vimmuuu has to post first na?? How to boil an egg – he promised Smita that it would be his next post – as soon as Chef Vimmuuu does his post, I shall carry boiled eggs and boiled water, as per your instructions ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Hmmm fasting. Well I do that. Now before you think I am all religious just halt there!!! I was born into a muslim family so had to fast for a whole month once in a year and don’t ask me how many times me and my cousins had sneaked into rooms and filled our tummies (that was when we were very young ok?)

    Wow! Arr you serious ๐Ÿ™‚

    But now I do keep the Karva Chauth vrath very very seriously. Somehow it doesn’t matter on this day as my hubby too keeps it (don’t know for what he is keeping it for though am sure it’s not for my lambi umar).

    How sweet of him ๐Ÿ™‚ Here neither of us are religious nor believe in fasting, we do believe in Pet Puja though ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hitchy has jughead on his profile pic and I must be the female version of Jughead coz I can eat and eat and still not put up weight :(. People who come to know me tend to always feed me thinking that they might help me to gain some weight :). i am not complaining though….hee can eat dozens of chocolates, ice creams , cubes of cheese, stuffed paranthas, all nawabi preparations, biryani…..ohhhh without any guilt!!! heee are you hungry now??


    Am I hungry? Is tha pope Catholic? You are one lucky lady, you know!!! I wish! Until I turned 25, I was like this. Everything I ate, used to vanish and I would still be thin ๐Ÿ™‚ Then it all changed. Now I put on weight simply looking at stuff ๐Ÿ™‚ Not that it stops me from eating – though I am seriously resisting the urge to bake ๐Ÿ™‚ Haven’t baked for 3 weeks now – test of my resistance power ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hey you guys are posting like mad and I am yet to reply to ppl who have put comments at my place. I think I should shut shop at my blog and keep commenting…sigh!!!

    Psst psst I have a pic of mine running like Phoebe *crafty’s grinning smiley*

    Pliss to post, Saksh – a real pic please – not that bony butt type of pic ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. Pleasure ๐Ÿ˜€

    Smitha, im admired ๐Ÿ˜‰ hahaha…. fasting was good to me and I didn’t miss any day in the month…

    Wow! That is so amazing! I find it so amazing that you manage to fast the whole month! I would have given up after one meal ๐Ÿ™‚

    She loves nursery! upsss…. I never did….. I salute her ๐Ÿ™‚

    I loved school too, as a child ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. I have had similar experiences. Sometimes I have felt that when something goes wrong right in the morning, the day progresses in the same manner.

    Yes, some days start off bad right from the word go…

  11. Why didnt you munchie while walking? I do that all the time! A chapati wrapped as frankie.. some chips.. bread n jam etc etc!


    I had planned to have something before I left, but one thing after the other and had no time to even grab anything – which is something I never do – I always try and eat on time..

  12. The nursery charges by the minute – wow!!!

    They are quite strict if you are late.. Most nurseries here are..

    Yeah, my daughter also loves going to school – it’s her fav. place to go to…
    All these children love it, don’t they? I guess, its because they get to have so much fun ๐Ÿ™‚

    I don’t know about fasting/starving because I never do it…I guess I could survive a few hrs. without food but not without my morning coffee and water…

    Me neither.. I do eat on time, normally. I used to skip a lot of meals and stuff early during my working life.. And I think it has all taken a toll, now I have to eat on time..

  13. I can’t stay hungry. I feel sick, irritable and generally miserable if meals are delayed. Even if we go out I order my dinner before others if they want to snack or drink first…

    Same here, IHM. I can’t delay meals. Especially breakfast. I feel human only after I have had a decent breakfast ๐Ÿ™‚ Lots of people find it funny that I am so particular about it.. but I get really irritable, if I don’t ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    But I am so impressed you ran ๐Ÿ™‚ I also take have taken advantage of situations where privacy was guaranteed to run etc he he ๐Ÿ™‚ You seem to live in a beautiful place Smitha ….!!!

    I had no option – I was so worried about being late ๐Ÿ™‚ And thankfully here, it was possible to run. I love this place, but we are here for just another year. Then it is either back to London or if I am lucky , back to India ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. So, you blame a few loony bloggers eh? for missing your meal?

    ๐Ÿ™‚ What to do Pixie, it is the truth ๐Ÿ™‚

    Che che! what is this you guys?! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

    I know! Naughty people ๐Ÿ™‚

    *Pixie ducks all the sandals being thrown her way*

    I’ll save you Pix, from all those sandals ๐Ÿ™‚

    I loved school more too when I was a kid! My sis was the more – stay-with-mom types…
    :mrgreen:

    Me too – I loved school ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Damn those loony bloggers Smithu ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Hw cud they do such a thing to u che che ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I know, Swaram! You are the only one who understands ๐Ÿ™‚

    Never ever entertain mails from them okie ๐Ÿ˜›
    Never again – have to block some email ids ๐Ÿ˜‰

    N pls pls hv something on time ok ๐Ÿ˜‰ I do fast sometimes, but thatz on days I decide I want to do and then I stick to the routine! And on festivals n other special days, there are so many attractive things to do that they distract me from the fud .. atleast til the Puja is over and then I hog properly ๐Ÿ˜›

    Arre, I have never fasted, and even staying away from Breakfast can make me sick ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Arre, from next time, pls carry a fruit or some thing like that no pls .. dont strain urself so much.

    I normally make sure that I eat on time -yesterday – nothing worked right.. One after the other ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Poohi played in the park till 2:30 .. aww wat a day she chose to do that ๐Ÿ™‚

    She does that everyday – I don’t know where she gets the energy from ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hugs Poohikutty and Mumma ๐Ÿ˜€ Some days r just like that u know ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Hugs, Swaram! Yes, some days are crazy!

    God grant some gud-will to the loony souls ๐Ÿ˜‰

    ๐Ÿ™‚ Lets pray for that ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. I have also always wondered that whenevr I fast I dont feel a thing, but on other days, my hands start trembling if I miss the food:)

    Wow! And you are fine when you fast? Wow! Must be divine blessings ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. It WAS Fun reading the incidence with your daughter!!!
    When it comes to Hunger, I just go restless…I love food and can’t stand hunger!!! Like now…waiting for MIL to start preparing:(


    Welcome here Shruti ๐Ÿ™‚ ‘waiting for MIL to start preparing:(‘ – Lucky you ๐Ÿ™‚ I have to do all the preparing myself ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  18. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Its my nightmare on how i would sent my girl to nursery from next month onwards ๐Ÿ™„ I hope she will find fun and happiness there and that she would not cry every morning.. I am so excited,yet tensed that my little baby is going to school ..

    And yes,,fasting is no fun honey .. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  19. hehe…time to get back to that treadmill, lady!!!

    I have no energy left to get on that treadmill anymore ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I am making do with walking ๐Ÿ™‚

    If it eventually took you 15 min to get to that nursery, what’s the point in all that running?! Obviously, you didn’t know that before you started ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I know! That’s was the worst part! Run and then reach late – might as well have walked at my normal pace ๐Ÿ™‚

    So atleast you learnt something out of all this exercise!
    1. you can’t run
    2. you have disobedient legs
    3. you cant fast
    4. you have cruel friends

    Yes, I have to document all these lessons learnt ๐Ÿ™‚

    Have a good weekend ๐Ÿ™‚
    You too, Masood! Your weekend must have started no?

  20. Ohhh so U are expert in multitasking ahha.It was a fun read.post reminded me Veruthe Oru Bharya(between u can’t get any maid over there?) ๐Ÿ˜€
    How come the kid love her school so much.here in my home and neighborhood,kids want to be at the apartment always(even most of the kiddos prefer to stay in apartment play ground rather than going for shopping and all) ๐Ÿ˜€

  21. I read this earlier but didnt comment… was trying to exercise restraint and go off the blogs… but sigh… suddenly there is no work in office… !!!!!

    what to do.. !!

    Smi !! your grwoing old !!!!! you wake up before your alarm rings… you cant run ?????

    thank god you didnt crush that lil kid… !!!!!

    and wonderful… Poohi is a lovely child she is doing all she can to get you into shape… !!!!!

    and btw do they charge you for being 5 mins late ???????????? dont tell me you are serious !!!!!!!!!!!!

  22. And I thought I was growing old! Now I know why I feel like I’m 21, even though I don’t run!

    Now I also know that it is not food that’s ‘hurting’ you – it’s lack of exercise!

  23. I can’t fast even for half a day! I am very particular about eating at a particular time!

    So Poohi misses nursery when she is at home! She is growing up! ‘Hugs’ to her, Smitha!

    Do 7 soorya namaskaras a day and you will be fit to runnnnnn!

  24. Smiths we both are from same school, i can never fast.Even when i was dieting i made it a point to eat at time and in between meals ate salads.I can’t ever imagine myself fasting.

    I took stairs to my 6th floor flat for 5 days and i was bed ridden with leg pains for 3 days,i cant go out for walking and i dont have a treadmill at home,hubby suggested to take stairs as according to him is a good exercise.I love your place,it is so beautiful and kids can have a good time there out playing in the parks and long walks.

    Poohi is so sweet,even on holiday she wants to go to nursery,so true no kids get bored of seeing mom and dad full day without much fun at home.

    Varunavi says on thursday evening that oh i can’t go to school for another 2 days ๐Ÿ˜ฆ , friday and sat are holidays for her.

  25. TEST TEST checking…crafty and swar’s smileys

    ๐Ÿ˜† ๐Ÿ™„ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜ฏ ๐Ÿ˜Ž ๐Ÿ˜ ๐Ÿ˜ฎ ๐Ÿ˜ณ ๐Ÿ˜€

    Smitha = ๐Ÿ˜ก

  26. Simplest solution!!!

    I don’t fast and when I do I feast on fast food ๐Ÿ˜€

    That makes perfect sense to me – that is my preferred mode of eating too ๐Ÿ™‚

    But poor you!! Such loonies u have in your life ๐Ÿ˜€

    I know – poor poor me! ๐Ÿ™‚

  27. Dear Blogger,

    We are a group of students from cochin who are currently building a web portal on kerala. in which we wish to include a blog roll I found your interesting so inviting you to join our new venture
    you could find our site here: http://enchantingkerala.org

    the site is currently being constructed and will be finished by 1st of Oct 2009.

    we wish to include your blog located here

    https://wordsndreamz.wordpress.com/

    we’ll also have a feed fetcher which updates the recently updated blogs from among the listed blogs thus generating traffic to your recently posted entries.

    If you are interested in listing your site in our blog roll; kindly include a link to our site in your blog in the prescribed format and send us a reply to enchantingkerala.org@gmail.com and we’ll add your blog immediately. Ypu can add to our blog if you have more blog pls sent us the link of other blog we will add here

    pls use the following format to link to us

    Kerala

    Write Back To me Over here bijoy20313@gmail.com

    hoping to hear from you soon.

    warm regards

    Biby Cletus

  28. that was quite a read! ๐Ÿ™‚ And you know what I too admire people who can starve till their stomach growls! Its something of a feat! And the nursury will charge you for 5 mins extra!! Thats something wierd.

  29. Smits,I salute those people who can fast by not even taking a drop of water.I particularly admire people who fast during Ramadaan for one whole month. Such people symbolize grit & will power.

    I love walking.And now with the climate getting better I’m hoping I can resume my evening walks.So how are your legs?

    Email chatting…now that must have been fun..how do you do that??? ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜†

  30. Wow.. Jst wow! Found your blog thru’s vimmu’s blog and am so happy I did **happy dancing**
    I’m one of the fasting ones and while post-toddler the fast has metamorphosed into a fruit detox, it still is fun and I visualize myself being cleansed of all the junk I’ve been putting into myself.. Feels good.. sometimes:-)

  31. I cannot fast for whatever reason ๐Ÿ™‚ Did try to go on a fruits only detox thingy (some well meaning (?) friends advice), but by noon my tummy was on hunger strike for carbs. So your daughter got you into a diet and exercise routine, eh?

    Same here! I can still survive if I eat loads of bananas – but the carb craving – I just cannot resist ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes, daughter’s nursery is proving rather good for me ๐Ÿ™‚

  32. i can never fast smitha… all i can do is eat continuously ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    same pinch ๐Ÿ™‚ Same here – I have to constantly graze ๐Ÿ™‚ I must have been a cow in my previous birth ๐Ÿ™‚

    Lol at your comparison to Phoebe’s running ๐Ÿ™‚

    I must have looked really scary – believe me ๐Ÿ™‚

  33. ROFL! ๐Ÿ˜†

    ooooh that description!!! i think i imagined a toddler and mom looing like this – ๐Ÿ˜ฏ & ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

    tee hee hee!!!

    geeeeeeeeeeee….must NEVER go hungry! i think blood stops going to my head when i am hungry!

    i used to fast when i was in school and till last year… just gave up now… ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ suddenly BF has started fasting since few months!!!
    ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ he’s got really good resolve! i wonder if he cud do the karva chauth after matrimony kicks in! ๐Ÿ˜† :mrgreen:

    hope ur legs are feeling alright??

    ((((((((((((((hugs))))))))))))))))

    and ummas to my poohi sweetiepie! she loves it at her school! ๐Ÿ˜€
    awwwwww! she’s precious!!!!

  34. nd I am reading this while I am hungry and waiting to have my lunch… it was fun reading u.. even I have never attempted to fast in my life. though it is supposed to be good for one’s health…

    maybe u should chat daily in the same manner while munching something so that u get to have this wonderful excercise for your body:)

  35. ha …this is just so like me…I am scared if my mom-in-laws says anything about fast…when I was in college I used to keep lots of them with my gang of friends but now even the thought of it really scares me…
    Thankfully now since everybody knows I can say that I just can’t do it

  36. Hey,
    Well fasting gets easier with more you do it.. we do try a coulpe of days in a year.. to give the body a break!
    But we do ensure we stuff ourselves the day before. Make sure we have meetings all day long on the day of the fast (This way, the distraction is always there!), and then sleep early, have the better half help out with the kid. And the next day.. bcck on!!!

    No food makes me cranky, as my husband would agree… so he really is not excited about my fasting days!

  37. “Am I hungry? Is tha pope Catholic? You are one lucky lady, you know!!! I wish! Until I turned 25, I was like this. Everything I ate, used to vanish and I would still be thin Then it all changed. Now I put on weight simply looking at stuff Not that it stops me from eating โ€“ though I am seriously resisting the urge to bake”

    Smitha…how is this possible…u r telling my EXACT story here ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

    And enjoyed ur run to the nursery :-D. U knw I get headaches if I dont eat on time ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

So, what do you think?

