Fish, Anybody?

Before you guys think that I am cooking/serving fish here.. it is just a few pics from our vacation.

We had been to a seaside place near here and everywhere we looked we could see fish. Be it, fish and chips or people fishing or the fish at the Sea life centre.. Here’s a few from the Sealife Centre. I am assuming that not many of you would be interested in Fish and Chips πŸ™‚

P1020272A Ray fish – which Poohi insists on calling Raymond!

P1020273These fish were almost transparent – not clear in the photograph, sadly.

P1020281Penguins! I love the way they waddle πŸ™‚

P1020292Look at that naughty seal peaking out πŸ™‚ They were a treat to watch!

P1020302A spider crab which freaked out Poohi – she is terrified of spiders.

P1020309A snake headed turtle – it’s head did look a lot like a snake.

P1020310A bunch of little turtles – they looked incredibly cute as they swam around.

P1020318And finally a sea horse.

Am sure I would have bored you all thoroughly with these, but I don’t know what it is about aquariums.. There is something incredibly peaceful about them.. Must be the green and blue all around. And the fact that nature has such beautiful and diverse treasures. Some so tiny, some huge, all lovely and beautiful in their own way and doing their bit in maintaining the ecological balance. Surely, mankind must the only species which, by its actions does more harm than good….

On a different note, its festivals everywhere! Happy Eid to every one.Β  Happy Durga Puja and Navaratri! Hope all of you have a lovely festive season!

72 thoughts on “Fish, Anybody?

  1. Leke pehla pehla pyaar…
    bhar ke aankhon mein khumar…

    jaadu nagari se aaya… hai koi jaadugar…
    o leke pehla pehla pyaaaaaar…

    FIRST !!

    WHERE IS ihm ?????????

    You guys have such a repository of songs!!! First you definitely are πŸ™‚

  2. NO boring smi !!!

    the place looks terrific… !!!! I can only imagine the fun Poohi must hav had !!!!!! Great !!!!!

    it was wonderful! And at the end there was a wonderful soft play area where she played for 1.5 hours and we even made some new friends while she was playing πŸ™‚

    Even though I am grown up.. I love going to zoo’s and acquariums… simply because I am fascinated watching these creatures… !!!!

    Same here! I think I enjoy them as much as she does !
    I just get hooked… !!!!

    I know the feeling!

  3. The photos are sooper cool… πŸ™‚ I am loving it πŸ™‚

    Thank you Kanagu πŸ™‚

    all the ones are superb.. and trust me… this is interesting..

    I have never seen a sea horse or Penguin live… you are so lucky…

    It was aamzing to see. Here, every zoo and aquarium seem to have it – must be the climate – easier to keep them cold, I guess..

    I love Penguins much…. they are so cute..
    They are aren’t they?

    and why no head picture of that turtle..??
    Oh we have a fabulous video of it 😦 Will see if I can upload it πŸ™‚

    and that Seal is too cute.. I have seen them in chennai.. playing volleyball…
    They are very cute! but dangerous. They are wild in nature – so could bite.

    the last one is best.. I love it… πŸ™‚

    Glad you did πŸ™‚

    please post more photos Smitha πŸ™‚
    Will do, Kanagu!

  4. u call this boring!!!!!!!!!!

    Smithu….. don’t put salt… erm…masala dabba on crafty’s wounds okie????

    Sorry sorry Crafty πŸ™‚

    thep pics are fab!!!!!! will come back to comment!!!!
    *Indy Style* πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Yes, yes, come when you have the time πŸ™‚

  5. Wow! lovely pics. The first fish is beautiful πŸ˜†

    Its a Ray. I love the way they float about.. It is absolutely magical πŸ™‚

    • thats not a fish.. its a manta ray or a sting ray… something like that.. I saw in Hriday’s book !!!!

      Yes you are right πŸ™‚ So Hriday’s books are educating you too πŸ™‚ These kids know more than us these days. Poohi was able to identify most of the fishes by looking at them.

        • arre.. this animal encyclopedia he has… god… !!!

          whole day he wants to know what a millipede eats… and what a centipede eats.. and what not…

          I can imagine it! By the end of their schooling, I guess we will know everything we missed out during ours πŸ™‚

          its tough to be a dad… I tell ya…
          It’s tough to be a mum too – It’s constant non stop chattering and questioning πŸ™‚

          • ha ha ha…. πŸ˜€

            parents worries πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

            but seriously these generation kids askign more questions than us…

            and when we asked questions, our parents used to say, “Don’t ask some stupid questions” or “you should have listened in class itself”…

            but we can’t say that to them πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

            That is very true, Kanagu πŸ™‚ No easy way out for us parents πŸ™‚

  6. lovely aquarian album πŸ™‚ or shud i say aqua-marine album?

    πŸ™‚ Aqua marine, I suppose πŸ™‚

    i love penguins too. and sea horses. and turtles. seals are adorable.
    but the spider crab freaked me out as well… i’m no fan of spiders either πŸ˜›

    You too πŸ™‚ Poohi will be delighted to know that – she is so scared of spiders! We even touched a crab – not the spider crab, obviously πŸ™‚

    the rayfish called raymond!! cute πŸ˜€
    Yes, she refuses to call it anything else! Kids!

  7. Raymond is cute, Poohi!

    Isn’t he the one who was the reason the ‘croc man’ died, if I am right?

    Is it? I don’t remember – will check that out!

    The penguins are beautiful. Sea horse…is the turtle climbing? The seal is giving a pose!

    That turtle was swimming up the tank πŸ™‚ It was amazing to watch them.. The seals were ultra cute πŸ™‚

    Nice pictures. Waiting for more, Smitha! Enjoy your holidays!

    Holidays over – Its business as usual again 😦

  8. Not at all boring smiths

    Thank you, Saritha πŸ™‚

    Poohi would have enjoyed the trip no.My kids love going to aquarium and they love sharks and sting ray ops reymond.I had posted few snaps before.

    I know – I remember – kids love aquariums don’t they ? I love them too πŸ™‚

    First time saw snake head turtle.
    It had a long long neck and if the body was not visible, I would have thought that it was a snake..

    btw when i saw the title i thought it is about fish and chips,lovely combo no.

    You did, did you πŸ™‚ I have never tried it 😦

    • I ate it in restaurant ,i loved it,do try it sometime

      Have to try it sometime πŸ™‚ Here people love it! The place we went to – everybody on the beach was having fish and chips πŸ™‚

  9. my daughters absolutely LOVE looking at fishes..infact all types of animals..

    they are only 3 but can already idnetify a ray or a shark etc..

    Children these days have so much of exposure, that they do know quite a bit πŸ™‚ Mine is three too πŸ™‚

  10. I love Fish and chips , anything sweet or fried is good food for me πŸ˜‰

    I have never tried it 😦 The smell of fish is a bit too strong for me 😦

    The snake headed turtle looks interesting, and that fish does look like Raymond a bit πŸ™‚

    Does it πŸ™‚

  11. Luvly luvly pics Smithu πŸ™‚

    Thank you Swaram! Missed you! You are normally here before Hitchy πŸ™‚

    me luvs Poohikutty’s Raymond too πŸ™‚
    πŸ™‚ She will be happy to hear that πŸ™‚

    N the pengunes – super cute πŸ™‚ They remind me of Shankar Dayal Sharma πŸ˜›

    Oh yes! I forgot about that! They used to remind me of him too!

    The other ones – transparent? So nice na πŸ™‚

    Thanks for all the wishes Smithu πŸ™‚ Wish u the same too πŸ™‚

    Thanks loads Swaram!

  12. Terrific photographs! And, as always, your world around Poohi. She is a very lucky bitiya indeed!

    Thank you πŸ™‚ Yes, wherever we go, we end up doing stuff which is fun for her πŸ™‚

  13. Smi, I can totally relate to these pictures. You know the number of museums and aquarium we have visited with Peanut…I lost count. As if all the fish watching isn’t enough in US, we even stop at Singapore and go to Sentosa to watch some more. πŸ˜†

    Ha ha πŸ™‚ I can totally understand that πŸ™‚ Every time we step out – we end up doing something of this sort πŸ™‚ Zoos and aquariums seem to be the norm now πŸ™‚

    Poohi must be having such a great time. Enjoy rest of your vacations!
    Vacations over 😦 Poohi started nursery at school today – her first full day at school – and I am on tenterhooks πŸ™‚

    Happy Puja days! BTW our Saraswati puja is this weekend.

    Yes I know! I used to hate Saraswati puja because of that one day on no reading! That used to drive me crazy πŸ™‚ Are you going to do the puja? I am too lazy for it.

    • Saraswati Puja is one thing I can easily do even now. Don’t have to do much. πŸ˜‰ (Psst…I skipped Onasadya this year). Just keep books for puja and take it out on Vijayadashmi. We even started vidyarambham on Vijayadashmi when Peanut was 1.5 years old.

      I used to LOVE it while growing up. We had 10 days puja holidays so it always worked out. 2 days fultoo masti.

      • That is an idea actually.. I used to hate it because my mom used to forbid me from reading of all kinds – every other Malayali I knew used to love it – I was the only weirdo who could not live without reading πŸ™‚

        We used to go from one Puja Pandal to another – Pujas used to be a BIG thing in Jamshedpur – it used to be fun – but even that could not compensate for not being able to read πŸ™‚

  14. loved the photo of the ray fish the best!!!!!!!

    remind me so much of a stealth bomber………………. πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    Stealth bomber! ROFL!

    so you guys had a great time I can see πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    Yes , we sure did πŸ™‚

  15. Oh! Sea horse!!

    OOOHH Spider! Me scared too!!

    You too πŸ™‚ Poohi was terrified πŸ™‚

    The fish! Look so exciting!!

    PENGUINS!

    Poohi must have had so much fun!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Oh she did! She had a lovely time! How was your break? Hope you had a great time too! Hugs! and we want to hear about your break please πŸ™‚

  16. amazing pics ! loved them, can I ask you which camera you have used?

    Thank you so much, Renu. We used the Panasonic Lumix TZ7. It takes high definition videos too and it is compact – so it works very well for us πŸ™‚

  17. very interesting Smitha…. the diversity in life forms amazes me always.. yes it must be only human who causes more harm than good to them…

    Absolutely, Tara..

  18. Lovely pictures… Even Yuvaan enjoys the acquarium – so much so that he wants to go on the other side of the glass πŸ™‚

    ROFL @ ‘so much so that he wants to go on the other side of the glass :)’ – Now that’s a smart boy πŸ™‚

  19. thanks simi…too fast though πŸ™‚

    I was online then πŸ™‚

    Pics are lovely…this reminds me of Santosa in singapore…the underwater view was fantastic.
    Thank you! Haven’t been to Sentosa..but have heard a lot about it !

    I like raymond and penguin on sand the most !!!
    πŸ™‚

  20. I loove the snap of the sea-horse! so you had total fun,huh?
    BTW,if you’re really in the mood to cook & serve fish…I like fish-fingers,ok??just fro your knowledge,I’m telling you πŸ˜†

    Ummas to Kunjukutti πŸ™‚

    • Deeps, Fish finger we always have at home – you are always welcome πŸ™‚ Poohi loves fish fingers – though she thinks it is chicken πŸ˜‰ She can eat anything if it is called Chicken – I made her eat a Bagel once, telling her tha it is ‘Chicken bread’ πŸ™‚

  21. Looks like you had a wonderful vacation along with Poohi. Great pictures. I loved Raymond very much πŸ™‚

    It has been several months since we visited an acquarium. Pictures are making me nostalgic for my kids πŸ™‚

  22. Beautiful pics Smitha……u knw experts say that watching fish lazily swim around is very theraupetic…its supposed to be a proven thingie:-o

    For my part no kerela meal is complete without fish fry πŸ˜€

  23. Beautiful pics Smitha……u knw experts say that watching fish lazily swim around is very theraupetic…its supposed to be a proven thingie:-o

    For my part no kerala meal is complete without fish fry πŸ˜€

  24. Lovely pictures..

    couldnt live without the Kottaym Fish curry until I got married… Hubby prefers the fried variety but since we cannot take the pungent smell in our flat, we do it only occassionaly…

  25. AIYO!! A manta ray that poohi wants to call Raymond!!!! Cuteness! Then Raymnd it is! He looks cute! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Stripey fish!!! Transparent? Like a pink color? I have seen transparent fish that have a hu of pink… but they seem to have stripes! πŸ˜€ soooper!

    EEEEE! Penguins!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I remembered Happy Feet! Tee hee!!! Have u seen the movie Smithu??? Its lovely!!!

    OMG that pic of seal peeking is just too precious!!!!! πŸ˜€

    Geeeee. That spider crab spooked me too!! *poohi and crafty clutch and hand on to each other while smithu rolls eyes*

    OKAY!!! Now that turtle looks spooooky too……..
    *Smithu and Poohi both roll eyes at crafty*

    Tee hee! Tutles! I love them! Reminds me of tommy… who ran away coz I cracked too many jokes… 😐

    WOWIE sea horse!!!! Its look so so majestic!!! I showed it to my mom! She loves and is fascinated by Sea horses! πŸ˜€ kaddal kuthiraa!!! πŸ˜€ she grinned like a 12 yrs old!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    Am sure I would have bored you all thoroughly with these

    HOW WRONG CAN U BE????????

    ((((((((((((((((((hugs))))))))))))))) all the snaps have come awesome smithu! πŸ˜€
    U know crafty, smithu! This is one of her fav posts now!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

So, what do you think?

