When in despair…

When in despair, I bake. Regular readers of mine know about my craze love of baking.

Well, we had a rather hectic weekend, with some friends who came over today for lunch. Now, I am the sort of person, who can manage calling people for dinner – because it gives me plenty of time to cook – but when it comes to lunch, I go crazy – no way can I cook and put together a decent meal by lunch time. So I had to resort to what my friend L, does. Cook a day in advance.

So I dedicated Saturday to cooking and only cooking. Only to end up stepping out for grocery shopping and getting back totally exhausted. So cooking, officially started only at 4:00 pm.Β  Once I had a few pots bubbling, sizzling on the hob, I decided to get a start on the cake. Now, I had this brand new Bundt cake pan, which I absolutely had to try out. And baking is something I always do when we have someone over. These are the few times that I get to bake and force it down someone else’s throat – apart from hubby’s and daughter’s – so I don’t let such opportunities go πŸ™‚

So once I had finalised on the cake I was baking, based on the size of the pan I had, I started measuring out ingredients while at the same time, trying to ensure that none of the bubbling sizzling pots turn into burn out pots.Β  I had never tried out Bundt cakes before, so was quite excited, plus I was making a struesel coffee cake – and I love cakes with struesel topping. Who am I kidding – I love all cakes πŸ™‚

So after I had all the whisking and the mixing done, while ensuring that none of the dishes got burnt, just as I was about to pour the batter, I realized that the batter was way too thin. On re-checking the recipe, turns out that it called for 4 cups of flour and I had most certainly not added 4 cups.. Now, I had no idea how many cups I had added, but with a few mental calculations and the memory of how full the packet of flour had been, I came to the conclusion,Β  that I must have added just one cup of flour. So bravely, added 3 cups, mixed a bit more and hoping for the best – was about to tip it all in, when I realised that the batter was most certainly more than what the tin could hold.Β  I nearly collapsed then. Now, I know that I am successful at baking – ONLY because I follow the recipe to the dot – make no changes at all. Here, I already had made a few changes – replaced sour cream with fat free yoghurt, in an effort to keep the calories in control, replaced walnuts with pecans simply because we like it more and had added 3 cups of flour, assuming that I added just one. And now it just won’t fit! Clearly, I had got the size of the pan wrong – or I had added too much of something.

Praying hard and hoping that it was the former, I baked them in 2 pans. I have never prayed so fervently, ever! And lo and behold, this is how it turned out πŸ™‚ Delicious, even if I say so myself :)It tasted better than it looks, which is more than what I can say for the food that I cook πŸ™‚ Hubby helped himselfΒ  to the cake, last night while it was hot and declared that he was falling in love with cakesΒ  and now, that was a compliment from somebody who does not even like cakes πŸ™‚

DSC04155

On another note, as a lot of you are aware, I have been job hunting.. To say that I have been unsuccessful so far, would be an understatement. Now, I don’t even find jobs that I can think of applying to. When I started off, a lot of recruitment agents called, most of them wanting to know if I am willing to relocate.. now even those have stopped – but today, as I was searching – the word ‘bakery’ caught my eyes.. Some advert for a job in a bakery had crept in somehow.. is that some kind of clue? Do you think I should switch from IT to baking ?

PS : Crafty, I saw your message when I was all sad and was waiting to see how the cake turned out – hoping against hope that it would be edible. Your hugs certainly helped πŸ™‚ Thank you!!!!!

Edited to add the recipe. Tara, as per your request πŸ™‚

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup butter
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 cups sour cream
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour a 10 inch Bundt pan. In a medium bowl, mix the flour, baking powder and baking soda together and set aside. In a separate small bowl, combine 1/2 cup sugar, cinnamon, and nuts. Set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, cream butter and 2 cups white sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs, sour cream, and vanilla extract. Add flour mixture and beat until well combined.
  3. Pour half of batter into Bundt pan. Sprinkle half of the nut mixture on top of batter in pan. Add remaining batter, and sprinkle with the last of the nut mixture.
  4. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 45 to 60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into cake comes out clean.

This was the original recipe – picked up from allrecipes.

The changes I made were

1. Used margarine instead of butter

2. Replaced sour cream with low fat yoghurt

3. Used one cup of white sugar and one cup brown sugar instead of 2 cups of white. And made the struesel sprinkling with brown sugar entirely. These were based on the comments at the website. And it tasted awesome πŸ™‚ So if any of you do try it – please do let me know how it went.

112 thoughts on “When in despair…

  1. I want cakes!! Now!!! For my sister’s bday I bought this lovely mousse cake! it melted in my tongue! Ah!! *drools*

    I love mousse cakes! But have never been able to get them right 😦 Made a mango mousse cake for husband’s b’day but it became very messy – so had to convert it to something like a trifle 😦

    Come over – will bake more for you πŸ™‚ Once I come back to blore – will definitely make some for you πŸ™‚

  2. And oh btw! I always experiment. There is no recipe that I have followed to T. You should experiment more!! πŸ˜€

    I am too scared to experiment with cakes – but now will probably try a bit of experimenting πŸ™‚

  3. This reminded me of my mom’s cake, Smitha. πŸ™‚ I was on the phone with mom and since laptop was on, I clicked on your page and saw this cake and immediately told mom about a blogging friend who baked bundt cake. You know why? Because my mom is an expert in it. She used to make Rum Bundt cake all the time.

    You know what – same here! My mom used to make it too! cake with a hole πŸ™‚ Funnily I never tried it because I never had a pan. But when I saw this the other day – I had to buy it and was waiting for a chance to bake it πŸ™‚

    I can smell your cake from here, Smitha. This reminded me of the time when mom took cake freshly out of the oven and my brother would jump on it. πŸ˜€ I was not a cake person and still don’t like much though it also depends on mood but my friends would self-invite to eat Mom’s cake. They say that they get a kick out of the Rum. Ha..ha..ha..ha..

    Rum cake!! I love rum cakes! Husband does not like his desserts with alcohol 😦 (he likes his alcohol, undiluted;) ) so I never make them. Can imagine all your friends lining up for a kick πŸ™‚

  4. BTW didn’t you go for your independence day picnic? How was it?

    No, we did not.. It rained – so we changed plans based on the forecast. UK weather!!!!

    As for advt. about Bakery job. If you love baking then I guess it is time for Smitha’s bakery in my Sachai-ka-saamna to become a reality. πŸ˜€ Start from home.

    Yes, yes , you were the first to create a virtual bakery for me πŸ™‚ I forgot about that! Signs all around πŸ™‚

    • oh yes,the potluck picnic…you didnt go for that??

      No yaar, the forecast was for rains – so we re-planned πŸ™‚

      And Sols,make sure you demand a royalty,when Smitha’s bakery turns into a super-duper reality πŸ˜†

      Yeah, Sols deserves royalty for that πŸ™‚

  5. “The cake with a hole” looks sumptuos indeed. In fact before I read the last lines, the thought that you should start your own bakery had come to my mind. You can even start doing home deliveries…in your Merc!

    πŸ™‚ LOL! Deliver in my merc πŸ™‚ We haven’t bought it yet πŸ™‚ And husband will have a fit – his precious car will not be used for delivering cakes πŸ˜‰

  6. bakery job seems interesting πŸ˜› you should try it out πŸ˜› if you love your job, there is nothing better than that πŸ˜›

    Yes, but I loved my old job too 😦 sob sob. nobody wants to give me a job 😦 That bakery job is some quality job and I can’t even imagine a job without 24*7 access to the internet πŸ™‚

    and that cake looks wonderful πŸ˜›

    btw, if you want cooking tips, you can ask the master :mrgreen:

    Yes, master! We all bow to your mastery of cookery πŸ˜‰ How about we open a restuarant – you cook, I bake, and from the comments below – there are plenty of others willing to join hands πŸ™‚

    • me too…lol!!!

      i am having same thoughts..

      i want a cake …now!

      πŸ™‚ Try out the recipe – it was quite simple .

  7. Of course it’s a sign! πŸ™‚
    Why not giving it a try?
    You are an awesome cake maker anyways!!

    Awesome or not, I don’t know πŸ™‚ Crazy cakemaker’s more like it.

    That Bundt cake looks damn delicious!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Hugs!

    Hugs to you too πŸ™‚ You can taste and certify it once I get back to blore πŸ™‚

  8. You know,I’m so with you on preferring having people for dinner to having them for lunch. Like you,I’m a total wreck if I’m to have them for lunch.Its like theres so much to do and so little time!So I too cook certain dishes like Rajma or sambhar a day in advance πŸ˜›
    *Same pinch*

    same pinch πŸ™‚ Yes, lunch gets very hectic. I need the time to get everything organised πŸ™‚

    The cake looks yummmmm!this sure looks as though a change in profession is calling out t you πŸ˜€
    Take the plunge,Smits..I’m sure you’ll be a cult with your baking-expertise πŸ™‚
    I’m not making fun…I’m serious!

    I am sure there are loads of people out there who bake much better cakes πŸ™‚ But yes, going by my job search, I certainly need to figure out a change of scene πŸ™‚

  9. You cannot display such delicious looking cakes to tempt the hell out of me when i am trying to lose weight Smitha! My mouth is absolutely watering. It must have tasted heavenly. I can imagine. The job market is definitely slow with the recession and everything, and IT is definitely one of the worst hit areas. Why don’t you try the baking job. I am sure it will be loads of fun. Give it a go I would definitely say!!

    That baking job was some quality related stuff – quite boring actually πŸ™‚

    You know I found a courgette cake – healthy + fat free πŸ™‚ Maybe we should try baking those.

  10. Wow! Nw u see y I mention ur baking skills so many times πŸ˜‰ U rock Smithu :)\

    Thank you Swaram – you are very good for my ego πŸ™‚

    N switch to baking πŸ˜› When we both settle down in Blr, I will manage the cash counter πŸ˜‰ Only thing is I need a gud laptop with internet connecn – ofcourse I need to blog na 😯

    Yes! What was I thinking? How can I survive on a job without 24*7 internet access!!! No no – plan aborted!

  11. Man…that cake looks sooooo…….

    *drool drool*

    *lost in the nasha of that cake and cant think of anything to comment*

    There was no rum in this cake πŸ˜‰

  12. The cake looks delicious Smitha πŸ™‚ its really really good πŸ™‚ and as you are passionate you can change the profession πŸ˜€

    I was just thinkin aloud πŸ™‚ Am not all that passionate πŸ™‚

  13. That looks yummy to me..and you also claim it tastes even better…which means all in all a good job done..what happened to guests?

    The guests liked it too – or atleast they claimed they did πŸ™‚

  14. WOW..the cake looks so YUMMY..i want it now 😦

    As you are very passionate about baking, i guess you could start a bakery all by yourself…

    I wish πŸ™‚ I am sure I am not all that passionate πŸ™‚

  15. Smitha cake looks great,baking a cake today,it is in the Microwave now.

    Switching from IT to Bakery,rope me in we both will open a bakery cum restaurant πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Now i am going to buy bundt cake but no one in the house like frosting.

    I cook everything in the morning when guest are coming for dinner,so that evening i will be free from kitchen.

    Too much tension no till the cake rises and is out from the microwave and you know i put my nose near the microwave to smell the cake,if i get nice smell then i will assume that the cake will be good and when varunavi testifies it to be good,then i will think indeed the cake has come out well.

    • Aiooo even me..include me also in ur bakery store! Pleassssssseeeeeeeeeee….

      How can we not? You have to be the chief chef – going by the yummy goodies on your blog πŸ™‚

  16. The cake looks awesome and I say Yep why not about switching to baking as profession.

    I am sure that you will enjoy baking more than anything else. Seriously think about it and go for it girl!!!

  17. baking from home is a wonderful idea my dear.. everything is fun about it.. being at home, enjoying ur child’s company, working on something u are so passionate and getting the money too..
    wish u all the best.. go for it.. looking forward to a post on your first order, first delivery(in merc? πŸ™‚ ) and all.

  18. and the cake…. i am trying to get the taste of it by constantly looking at it for last few hours πŸ™‚
    you know, you should never end a post on baking without the recipe.. me gonna try baking something today too..

  19. IT to Baking sounds cooool… earning from something you love !!! aint that what we all aspire for ?? huh ?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    I am not very business minded – plus how can I work without a laptop in front of me?

    the cake looks yummy… !! and i hope you have thrown a piece of it outside the window for the crow… or else you all will fall sick…

    No crows here πŸ™‚ So I ate it on behalf of the crow πŸ™‚
    meri to nazar lag gayii… πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

  20. Oh wow! The cake looks awesome-and if it tasted even better-I can bet you have more people coming over for lunch n dinner n in between.

    I should start a bakery-if this is anything to go by πŸ™‚

  21. yum yum yummy!!! that cake looks awesome! btw u’d be surprised… some of the best cooks dont know how much of masala they exactly add into it… its all a gut feel. and yet the dish turns out just right. u cant have done all that baking and not realised what goes into where… if something went wrong! πŸ™‚ yay!

    as for the job hunt, yea the recession is terrible there and thats the reason why i m already not there yet in spite of having the visa. if u r open to the idea of working in different jobs (as opposed to just a white collar one), then go ahead! its nothing new in the UK anyway. remember, very few ppl get to work with what they love! πŸ™‚

  22. Success at last!!! Now give those cookies a try! I like baking cos its like a chemistry experiment- you don’ have to use any budhi just measure and fllow expt. Other dishes are such a pain- 1 potato well, how big a potato? my potato and urs will definitely not be the same size no?!

  23. YUmmmmmyyyyyyyyyy!!! I’ve started seeing a lot more cakes being baked by bloggers these days and as a coincidence, my wife has taken to baking as well. She made a lovely chocolate cake last week (Was only her second attempt but tasted awesome)…

    And this picture of your cake looks delicious… How I wish blogs could transport the actual piece instead of just a picture!!!

  24. The cake looks so tasty, I can feel from here, Smitha. You can go bigtime in Baking. Give some brand name and you are there with McDonalds or Subway – Just cakes and Cakes and More Cakes!

    I doubt it πŸ™‚ I think I’ll stick to IT πŸ™‚

    When you know how to correct a mistake and change ingredients correctly, it means you are too good, Smitha!

    No no – it was just lucky – I am no good at that.

  25. and baking job it should be for you Smitha… the cake looks very tempting and like Solilo it brings to my mind my Mother’s baking before Christmas… and with the dried fruits mixed in Rum … for ourselves and for the relatives that we visit during Christams. .nd it was always the cake with a hole.. we dont see it much these days though….

  26. wow! the cake looks yummy and I think baking is a good profession, one can use the imagination and creativity to the best:)

    Yes, it would be wonderful to do something I enjoy πŸ™‚

    You made me feel so nostalgic..there was a time I used to bake so much be it cakes, cookies or even vegetables:)

    Why did you stop ? Please post some recipes for us to try out πŸ™‚

  27. Hi. I was complaining about non knowing too much baking and BlueMist sent me here …she said you bake marvelous cakes. I think the pic looks too tempting:)


    πŸ™‚ Welcome here, Meira πŸ™‚ I don’t bake marvellous cakes – I just bake like mad πŸ™‚ Do you want recipes.. I would suggest allrecipes for a start. They have some good and easy to start recipes too πŸ™‚ Here you go πŸ™‚ – http://allrecipes.com/Recipes/World-Cuisine/Europe/UK-and-Ireland/Main.aspx

  28. hey Smits…
    The cake looks yummy πŸ™‚
    You know I love watching Top chef and food network..

    I do too – actually I used to – now I don’t get the time πŸ™‚
    I think you should take the plunge and go for a career change.. afterall, you have nothing to loose (I would’ve jumped at the opportunity)
    Good luck in whatever you do dear..

    There is no opportunity really.. Just thinking aloud πŸ™‚

  29. I definitely think this is your calling…Open a Pastry House and rope in Sakshi and all the others who have already filled in their application forms here. I am willing even to relocate πŸ™‚ You can be the master chef, SJ will do the measuring of the ingredients, Swaram the cashier, Masood the marketing guy, Crafty and pixie the dancing advertising people. And humble Sakshi will take photographs of the craziness going around in the pastry house and blog about it….

    Sure πŸ™‚ But SJ, should be the master chef – from the delights that I have seen at her blog πŸ™‚
    LOL @ Crafty and pixie the dancing advertising people and yes, most important Sakshi the photographer πŸ™‚ We are set for life πŸ™‚ With all that pastry and cake baking – who knows, I might just go off cakes for good πŸ™‚

    Guys suggestions for the BLOG TITLE for the new pastry blog will be welcomed with a 1$ check in the name of Sakshi Bajpai

    LOL! You are too much, Sakshi πŸ™‚ You do have a bania dimag – you sure you don’t want to be the accountant – on second thoughts πŸ™‚

        • Deeps – I am booking a place for Poohi right away πŸ™‚

          LOL @ ‘I want my boy to be shampooed twice a day’ , Sakshi, you want Deeps to open that day care or not?

        • day care,perrfect,Saksh..just tell your son,shampooing will be done by a blonde
          ha ha I can already see him galloping with joy at the prospect πŸ˜€

          • That is a great idea πŸ™‚ Sakhi – you should prob invite that blonde ‘aunty’ to shampoo his hair πŸ™‚

            And Sakhi – you are definitely getting a blonde DIL πŸ˜‰ Your son has made his preference clear right from the start πŸ™‚ So better start practicing eating Pasta with wine πŸ˜‰

            • I need a shampoo as well πŸ™‚

              Kahin bhi blonde ya gazelle dikha – to chale aaye?????

              Where’s your hair gone? Did you get a hair cut? Nice profile pic by the way – all because of that lovely lady in the pic πŸ™‚

              • deeps as such has adopted me… so i get a direct entry in that baby day care… !!! the blonde girl is an employee of Deeps so will try doubly hard to keep me happy !!!!!!!! IMAGINE !!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

                what an idea !!!!!!!!!!!!! !!! Sakshi tere pair kaha hai ?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

                  • ROFL πŸ˜€ hw did i miss this conversation sday?

                    The employee will resign n run away Hitchu; nt try to make u happy πŸ˜›

                    Bhagoooooooooooo

                    ROFL! You missed a rocking conversation, Swaram πŸ™‚

                • Hitchy,I keep my business and personal(virtual or otherwise) relations separate,which means no special treatment for you,ok??so no blonde girlS..only one blonde-singular!
                  Since the blonde will be a woman aged between 50-55,make sure you give her due respects,ok πŸ˜€ !

                  before Rakesh & Hitchy pounce on me with cries of injustice,let me whisk away from here !

                  • Deeps I will go and convey your wishes to Samy’s blonde hairdresser. She will be delighted to know that so many ppl are standing in queue to get touched by her scissors. Man in this recession I am thinking I should have learnt to give a haircut 😦 I don’t mind putting a blonde wig for a few hours u see..

                    • I know..what is it with these men..they get all weak-kneed at the mere mention of blonde ..che che(swaram style) πŸ˜€

              • The hair is very much there…

                And let alone the blonde, I find the baby care owner’s pic very interesting as well πŸ˜‰ he he…

                You guys!!! Now I know why you have high maintenance hair πŸ˜‰ Wasn’t it your hairdresser who said that you look good with long hair πŸ™‚

              • Rakesh…you’ll get your shampooing done by a blonde..its a deal…she has a bit of a squint,but thats ok…. just make sure you keep moving your head in the direction of the water flow lest you get all drenched πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›

          • you know in my brothers wedding a family came with a foreigner… an exchange student who lives with them… when their pic came.. immedeatly my son pointed to her… she was blonde with blue eyes… and said … yeh kitni mast hai na… !!!!!

            lol… !!

            Goodness! Hriday too? What is it with all you boys? πŸ™‚ Ok, Hitchy, you also prepare for a blonde DIL πŸ˜‰

    • Bania Dimag for a mallu? naaa its more like recession budhi. I need to make sure I get to spend at least 5 hours a day with my lap top not worrying about my bank accounts and my son’s college education …heee

      ROFL ! Dedicated wife and mom, everyone πŸ™‚

    • Smits,LOL@ bania dimaag! Saksh you’re getting quite a reputation πŸ˜€

      Saksh is my daily dose of sarky humor πŸ™‚ I wish you would post more often, Sakshi

      • yes I’m with smits on that..Saksh now you have two of us to handle!!

        Yes, yes, we should just go and bang at her blog – Post please post please πŸ™‚

        • Just for all this madness I might get pregnant this week. Ohh i am so excited already abt the pastry shop. We can name it – ” Cakes for life” or “bake a cake’ or ‘bakerella’ ok the last one I flicked from some videshi blog but who the heck is going to know in India?

          • Goodness, SJ, ‘ Just for all this madness I might get pregnant this week.’ Hope J is aware of your plans πŸ™‚

            Names too πŸ™‚ Bakerella – my daughter will love that one πŸ™‚

            We are going a bit mad, aren’t we? I do hope WP does not decide to bump us off their platform 😦

            • WP might request Indian Embassies in the respective countries we are put up to please relocate all of us to some safe place in India…wow!!

              Now that is an idea – good one no? We can all attend Onam at home – free ka πŸ˜‰

          • Ohh J watch out…the baking sensation seductress is on the prowl this week. I suggest he keep away from any type of home made baked goods this week…

            Yeah no one can sue us in India for flicking names…I love my India…sobs

      • Kaiko gals? Y kick my stomach? (thought hindi would be against Blog etiquette) I enjoy putting my mouth prints on other ppls blog than go and waste my time on my grey dull graveyard looking blog…eeks

        • Y kick my stomach!!!!!! You are priceless!

          ‘I enjoy putting my mouth prints on other ppls blog ‘ – you are hilarious! AND we would like to read it at your blog too – please, please, pretty please with cheese πŸ™‚

          • Smitha, Sakshi has an excellent recipe. Its what her mom made for her when he was a nanna sa munna sa nut case. Ask her to pst it. Its just awesome!!

            Mmm…just thinking abt it makes me drool…

            • Sakshi – you have to do a post now – atleast post that recipe which your mom made when you were a ‘nanna sa munna sa nut case’. please πŸ™‚

  30. I will post on wonly one condition no one (read SJ) will reproduce the priceless mommy ka recipe and blog about it? I am waiting patiently for the patent for this recipe.

  31. Nobody will do so much PR work for u sakshi. U better give me something ok?

    “Hello everyone if u want something jhat phat, done in 5 mins but still tasty, please hop over to cracked chronicles. I assure you, you will leave the place a few screws lighter and if u do make her dish- you will be the most popular lady on ur next kitty party. Please come …

    PS- treat this is a personal invitation. All will be given 2 arecanuts and 2 beetle leaf free..

    ha ha ha ‘All will be given 2 arecanuts and 2 beetle leaf free..’ πŸ˜†

    • SJ your salary is increased by 20 Rupees and 8 cents this month. Thanks for the publicity stunt and I feel like SRK so making a statement now…

      “I think it’s unfair to pressurise me to share my mom’s priceless recipe just because I have a blog named Cracked Chronicles and that I have a brahmin surname and plaster everywhere that I am a true blooded Coconut loving Keralite Muslim. Still I will not make this as an ego issue and will take it as a joke. I hope the blog authorities will focus on getting the actual suspects…err I mean chefs for posting recipes.’’

  32. wowww! Looks yummmmyyy!! :):) hey can you tell me how to bake an eggless cake?

    I tried once and husband refused to touch it 😦 It was tasting ok with ice cream but it just did not taste as good. There was something not quite right abt that cake. Haven’t tried eggless cakes since. Will check out and let you know if I do give it another shot.

  33. It looks so yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
    I totally s**k at baking…in fact hardly ever dared to try it
    But i love home backed cakes.

    I find baking easier than cooking πŸ™‚ I am really bad at cooking πŸ™‚ I love home baked cakes too.

    • Then may be we can do some exchange prog. as i find cooking pretty easy and backing equivalent to driving (yeah i’m pathetic at driving too 😦 )

      πŸ™‚ I wish πŸ™‚ I am fine with driving – unless I am asked to balance the vehicle using the clutch and gas 😦 After a point – it hurts my feet 😦

  34. wowie!!!!! smithu!!!!! the cake is sooper looking!

    sigh!

    i guess u don’t realise that it’s a talent to change diasters into delicacies??????? the cake looks better than perfect!!!!!

    am so glad i dropped by for that hug! now lemme tell u how!!!

    i was just blog hopping, from my blog roll…and when i came to ur name…i knew u hadn’t posted, also u were very tied up with work….but then suddenly i felt like i missed u! so i was like , “what the hell, i’ll leave some hugs for smithu”

    ooooh boy am i glad!!!!!! if hugs = awesome cakes, here’s some moreeeeeeeeee

    {{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{hugs}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}

    love u smithu!

  35. (Donno how I missed this post, sorry 😦 )

    Too technical a post for me !!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I dont know anything about cooking, thats why !!

    but how many times have I requested you to not to post pictures of your cakes !!! Its killing me, you see !!! btw, is that a huge doughnut or a cake ?? πŸ˜‰

  36. I have to left legs as my hand, when it comes to cooking…
    but I know one thing…the cake looks awesomely tasty. πŸ™‚

    Thank you πŸ™‚ I have 2 left legs as my hand too, when it comes to cooking πŸ™‚ Baking I like πŸ™‚

  37. I had totally forgotten you had shared the coffee struesel cake here. I have been planning to buy a bundt cake pan for a while now…after revisiting this post I’m even more determined πŸ™‚
    I have to try this cake!

    • You know Deeps, I had seen your comment about the coffee cake and totally forgot to send you this link 😦 So sorry! Bundt cake pans are gorgeous πŸ™‚ I just love them πŸ™‚

So, what do you think?

