It’s time…

to get off my lazy bum and start job hunting.. Before the laptop becomes a part of me.. I need to get moving..

So I finally took the first step today – opened my CV, to update it πŸ™‚ I just realised that it has been so long since I saw a CV – 2 years does feel like a long time.. And all my apprehension came flooding back.. Will I even get an interview, leave alone a job? With job market, flooded with people? Do I even remember anything at all from my working days? And the biggest question of them all – Do I really want to go back to it all?

I have been struggling with this question.. Do I want to go back to at all? I do , I really do, its just that the thought ofΒ  those crazy days still worry me.. I guess, I could take up a less demanding job.. But then wouldn’t that be a demotion? The questions in my mind go on and on and on.. Anyways, I have decided to give it a shot. I might not even get a job in the first place – and then all these worries would have been baseless. Then again, I might get a better job that I had before..

Daughter starts school in September and I definitely need to get back to work before I lose all motivation for it.. And I am hoping that both of us will get to start the next phase of our lives together πŸ™‚Β One thing is for sure, if I do get a job – I will certainly not be able to blog as much :(, unless of course, I get Dhiren’s job πŸ˜‰ Please do wish Β me luck!

39 thoughts on “It’s time…

  1. ROFL@Dhiren’s job! πŸ˜€

    But seriously yeah a job is going to be demanding for sure πŸ™‚

    Yes, but its now or never – before I get too used to this life πŸ™‚
    we wont mind as long as you keep checking in between on and off!just dont dspr completely!
    πŸ˜€
    I won’t disappear πŸ™‚ Will have to cut down hours – if I do land a job that is πŸ™‚ I will do flexi time blogging πŸ™‚
    may you and Poohi start the next phase soon! god bless you πŸ™‚
    Thank you πŸ™‚

    go for it!:) dont lose that enthusiasm! πŸ™‚

    Yes, yes going for it:) Thanks so much for your encouraging words:) Hugs to you too πŸ™‚

    ((((hugs)))))

  2. May you get a job like Dhiren’s πŸ™‚

    Thank you, IHM, thats would be wonderful πŸ™‚

    And I can understand about not wanting to go back to work or not wanting to go to work at all! I know I don’t..and it’s just a habit. But it is a good idea to get out of the house and meet people, and generally be a part of what’s happening outside your house. Go before you lose motivation and starting with Poohi is such a good idea, she will also be proud of her Software Engineer mum πŸ™‚
    Warmest best wishes!!
    It is good to step out and meet people – but that I get to do anyway πŸ™‚ I meet uo with friends around here – at the park, playgroups.. and once she starts school – people there too.. Its just that once she starts school – I will probably have more time on my hands.. So it makes sense to go back before I get too used to this life πŸ™‚ Thanks so much for the wishes

  3. Dhiren’s job seems to be quite popular these days! Everyone wants a job like his!! πŸ˜€

    I hope you get a great job, of course you haven’t lost touch…
    All the very best for the interviews… πŸ™‚

    I know, Pixie – we’d all kill for a job like that πŸ™‚ I have to start the process of job hunting now.. Its been 10 years, actually more than 10 years since my last job interview 😦

  4. It is difficult getting an interview let alone a job after a long break…I faced it…I’ve been a ‘home maker’ and a mother for 5.5 yrs. and when I did start looking for a job, I found the going tough…Also, as you rightly said, motivation becomes a problem…I wonder if I’ll be able to go to an office every day etc. …

    Smitha, if you think you can manage to work then look for a job now…

    Yes, Bones – Thats the main reason, I want to give it a go.. I am not sure if I will get a job, given the job market and it has been almost 2 years now since I went on a break.. But am still giving it a shot.. coz if I don’t try now – guess it will be difficult.. Lets see how it will turn out..

  5. best of luck Smitha!!!! you will get one!!!! positive thinking….. πŸ˜› and LOL at dhirens job!!! hahaha

    Ya – high hopes I have – of getting Dhiren’s job πŸ™‚ Thanks for the wishes πŸ™‚

  6. Wishing you luck in finding the right job Smitha – that doesn’t keeps you out of blogging.. πŸ™‚
    LOL @ Dhiren’s job… he has got a great job able to update his posts and more importantly putting the first comments… LOL πŸ˜† A dream job of a blogger πŸ™‚

    That is very doubtful. Kanagu πŸ™‚ I never have such luck 😦 You know, in the 8 years that I worked, I was never on bench – ever 😦 and I always end up in high pressure projects with no time to breathe :(Yes, how I wish I could get the ‘dream job of a blogger’ πŸ™‚

    All the best for you and dear Poohi for the next phase.. hope she is also happy to go to school and meet friends.. πŸ™‚
    oh she is extremely excited about school.. She asks me everyday if its time for her to go to school πŸ™‚ I do hope she enjoys it πŸ™‚

  7. Hi Smitha,

    I can understand what you feel…..but don’t worry, you will get used to both very soon…..good luck for your job hunt!!! hope you find one soooonnnn.

    Take care,
    Deepa

    Thanks Deepa- I am counting on that.. It was an easy transition – when I first went back to work after daughter was born.. But then I decided to take a break as it was getting too much for me. So I do hope that it is better this time..

  8. Dhiren is all set to become busy since Congress is back in power and stock markets are up… πŸ™‚

    Dhiren, tumhare free time ko nazar lag gayi!!!


    Rakesh – it certainly looks that way πŸ™‚ Dhiren has been missing – no comments here.. or maybe he is just very angry that maine uske job pe nazar laga di πŸ™‚

  9. hey all the best.. you have already crossed the most difficult part of convincing yourself to start looking for a job. rest will be easier. πŸ™‚

    Thank you Oorja πŸ™‚ Hopefully thats true πŸ™‚

  10. Hey,all the very best,Smitha on the job-hunting!I can understand your predicaments that you’re going through right now.But if you get a job that you love,then I’m sure you’ll love every bit of it.
    Good luck to you again,Smits and hugs to Poohi:)

    Yes, Deeps, I am hoping that I get something suitable.. Thanks so much and hugs to NamNam.. You very busy? No new posts?

  11. Go for it smitha!
    As i started working just about an year ago, i can’t tell u how easy/tough its going to be. But once ur daughter starts going to school, you will have loads of time. so it would be good to have a job and spend some time at work.
    At the same time, don’t u disappear from the Blogosphere. Take some time off everyday and keep blogging..

    LOL at dhiren’s job. looks like he is busy with work and hasn’t noticed this post of urs πŸ˜€ Dhiren ki job par sabki nazar lag gayi

    I know, and I am going to be bored at home, if she is not around.. and will spend even more time on the internet πŸ™‚ I really want to go back to work.. Lets see how it works out..
    Dhiren does seem to be majorly busy – or he is majorly angry with me for having lagaoed nazar on his job πŸ™‚

  12. All the best Smitha..

    I am sure you will land up with a good job and since your daughter will also start school the transition will not be that hard.

    but please dont take up a job that will keep you permanently away from the blogosphere! πŸ™‚

    Thank you Asha πŸ™‚

    Yes, I am hoping that it won’t be too hard – if I can find a job, that is πŸ™‚

    I don’t think I can stay away permanently πŸ™‚ But I am sure it will become a weekly activity instead of daily πŸ™‚

  13. Yes,Smitha…been tangled with lot many things to do.Will hopefully resume once I get my groove back,till then will keep hopping from one post to the other as and when I’m able to squeeze some time out!

    I was wondering.. thought you must be busy after the hols πŸ™‚ Waiting for you to get back πŸ™‚

  14. paid work has its benefits,go for that job smitha!!! paid work also sucks very often(rants on our blog will tell u that!) buts its a package deal and its really not that bad..but im sure u already know that..
    “I could take up a less demanding job.. But then wouldn’t that be a demotion?”
    why does a less demanding job seem like a demotion.. if u have too much happening on the home front, a less demanding job(at least for the time being) seems like a good idea to me..

    Yes, Mandira, I had gine through all that πŸ™‚ Took a break as it was getting a bit much for me.. If I don’t go back now – I will probably lose the motivation for it.. Lets see how it turns out.. With the way the market is, I guess anything will do for now πŸ™‚

  15. oh forgot to wish u luck…. loadsss of luck with the job hunting smitha, may u get the job dreams are made of!!:D

    Thankyou πŸ™‚ Dreams and my job probably don’t go together:) but would love to hope πŸ™‚

  16. what is this ?

    this calls for a defamation suite … !

    jesus christ if my boss reads this… ! I m gone for the good… !

    Smitha what are you doing !!!!!!! πŸ‘Ώ

    I work real hard and also find time to blog… I multitask !! Jesus ! Bhagwan bhi Bhagwan ko yaad kar raha hai…
    LOL !!! You are a multitasking genius, indeed! I forgot that you were Bhagwan – who can be a better example of multitasking πŸ™‚

    infact I m looking for a new job too… one that keeps me even more busy and yes pays me a lil more… !
    ‘pays me a lil more… ‘ – Yes, thats important πŸ™‚ Last time – half my salary was going for day care 😦 sob sob

    and yes btw happy job hunting… to both of us !

    Yes, Happy Job hunting to both of us! I haven’t started yet ( Have to spruce up my resume – to make it ‘firang friendly’ πŸ™‚

    • LoL! Dhiren we should show your boss what you get up to when his back is turned. I’m sure he’d be interested to know what his employees get up to. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›

  17. Well Smitha. What can I say? I remember when I started working 2 years ago. (God I can’t believe it’s been that long. 😯 ) I thought i’d hate working BUT ended up loving it. (Although I struggle now with work, studies, blog, family & friends PLUS all the travelling it involves wit waking up at 5am and actching a train at 6.30am every monday morning plus attending lectures for a full day from 9am til 5pm. 😦 ) I still remember my first day, I was terrifed BUT I was lucky enough to get a nice boss.

    So, I hope you get a nice boss like me and a job like Dhiren where you can access the blog world when the boss’s back is turned. πŸ˜‰ BUT MOST IMORTANTLY a job you enjoy and pays well. πŸ™‚

    And I’m sure Poohi will love school. That would be really cool, mother and daughter’s first day together. πŸ˜€


    I used to love my job πŸ™‚ Though in the last 6 months of it – I was sick and tired… Husband used to travel to Europe every week. I had to travel when I had client meetings and still needed to be back at the daycare at 5:30 to pick up Poohi – so it was crazy.. But I used to love it before that πŸ™‚ Hopefully I will get a less demanding job.. Lets see πŸ™‚

    Poohi is super excited about school πŸ™‚

    BEST OF LUCK!! πŸ˜€

  18. Ah, I’m pretty sure all these questions are going to cross my mind next year. Thats when Ash will turn 2 and I plan to be back to work, THAT’S IF I do get a job, THATS IF I remember everything.. πŸ™‚
    Find one soon, so I know its totally do-able πŸ™‚

    Yes, I had planned to start when she turns two – then husband changed jobs and we also relocated .. So it got shelved.. Now I don’t want to delay anymore.. Lets see how it goes.. I went back to work after daughter was born – but that was just rejoining after maternity -much easier πŸ™‚ Finding a new job, is going to be the difficult part – esp given the market these days.. Will keep you posted πŸ™‚

  19. All the best, Smitha, with the job of job hunting… πŸ™‚

    Lol@ getting Dhiren’s job!

    Apprehensions, there will be many, but when you prioritize, you will see the way πŸ™‚

    God Bless!

    Thank you so much for your wishes! I do hope I get a job πŸ™‚ Am sure the other things, we will just have to work out πŸ™‚

  20. You have made up your mind to work now, means go ahead in full swing and do it. No second thoughts. If you wait for another 2-3 years, you may have second thoughts, Smitha.
    Yes, I agree.. The more I think, the more I will get further confused.. I am quite excited to go back πŸ™‚

    All the best to you…I am sure you will get a good job. All the best to Poohi too, she will enjoy being with her friends. Another phase in your and Poohi’s life. God bless you both – all the three of you, for that matter!

    Thank you so much for the wishes πŸ™‚

  21. If you like you can take my job! I have a lot of time too πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    *hugs* and all the best!

    Oh Meenu – why don’t I get a job like that – ever!!! My luck 😦 What do I need to get your job πŸ™‚

    Hugzz to you too! Thank you for the wishes!

    • You should be willing to work nights.. know unix and be able to converse in rather unplacable accent πŸ˜€

      I know unix – atleast used to know πŸ™‚ Unplacable accent – difficult πŸ™‚ and nights -impossible 😦 So do you work nights? UK time or US time?

  22. Best of Luck, for you job hunt…And once you get the job…you shall see that all will fall in place, just the way it is meant to……

    Thank you so much Poonam J! I do hope so!

  23. I know the agonies of this dilemma all too well!
    I am sure things will resolve themselves satisfactorily (a positive attitude from you is key to this!!). All the best, and I hope that whatever you choose to do, you will be happy with it.

    Welcome here Kamini ! Yes, a positive attitude is definitely the most important!

  24. Today, all jobs are demanding. I think teaching is a little stress free as you do get holidays and all.
    Best of Luck! πŸ™‚


    Yes, you are right – but that would be a HUGE career change for me πŸ™‚ Lets see how it goes.. Thank you for your wishes..

So, what do you think?

