of long summer days…

I love the long summer days here in the UK.. Last evening was gorgeous, bright and full of sunlight at 7:30 in the evening.. and it reminded me of my introduction to the ‘long summer days’ ..

It was my very first trip abroad – to a tiny village in the US – even my HR had trouble locating it – to figure out what my allowance would be πŸ™‚ This was in those long ago days when even IT companies were not completely automatedΒ , so she had to hunt around for it Β πŸ™‚Β  Well, lets just say that it was literally out of nowhere and my company had just one person stationed there for one client. Now, I worked for an organisation which had people everywhere – whole flights to the US would be full of us πŸ™‚ NY airport at that point used to feel like a lost and found place where we would inevitably meet old colleagues from old base branches – out on deputation πŸ™‚ So just one person in the whole place was extremely unusual – to say the least.

IΒ reached thereΒ via a little seven seater aircraft whose safety instructions included – ‘Mind your head as you pass by the propellors’Β . Never before and never since have I have travelled in such an aircraft at such low levels – it was beautiful and terrifying at the same time.. I was actually worried that we might hit one of the trees or something.. But it was gorgeous – all lush green and hardly any civilisation visible..

We were 3 newcomersΒ there – all of us the same age, and one project leader – who was a real sweetheart – to be able to handle the three of us.. HeΒ used to briefΒ us all the time about life in the US, we knew practically nothing .. but that could be another post altogether. We started work the very day we arrived – and given the fact that we were also learning on the job at that point in time, it was no easy task and we used to work till 10:00 in the night, go back home for dinner and come back to work after dinner – till around 2 or 3 in the morning, including weekends. We had an account manager who used to call us at the middle of the night to check whether we were working!

This continued for about a month and then once the deadlines were through – life suddenly was much more relaxed. So the first day, thatΒ I was home early, I started reading a book, planning on starting dinner around 7-7:30.. I kept an eye out to see if it’s 7:30 – going by my ‘Indian definition’ of 7:30 and finally when dusk fell and I started cooking – I was stunned to realise that it was actually 9:30 not 7:30 😦  That was actually shocking for me, so used to seeing pitch dark at 9:30 at night!

Its been a long time since then, have lived through several long summersΒ – but I somehow will never forget that one time, when I was so unaware of the ‘long summer days’…

45 thoughts on “of long summer days…

  1. I’ve had the experience too when i first visited the US.Like I hardly noticed that it was well past 10 and we hadn’t started on our dinner.

    Yes, I guess it happens to most of us πŸ™‚

  2. You know I miss those long Summer Vacations when we had nothing to do and used to crib about boredom.

    Now we yearn for free days, loooong summer nights when we have nothing to do…

    Nice post

    You know, Smita – those days were the best!!! When I was in school, our next year would start after the summer hols – so summer hols were just fun – nothing to do πŸ™‚ It changed towards the end of my schooling though:( But yes, I do yearn for those lazy summers πŸ™‚

  3. good post enjoyed while reading , will be waiting for part 2 if you planning to write it.
    about fasted judgement yes its great news for india.

    Thank you sm. Will write πŸ™‚

  4. Yes, it is a refreshing change when the days suddenly become so long after the dreary dull winters.

    I remember feeling quite happy to see sunlight one fine day as i was leaving office at 7:30. I was used to it being dark by that time!

    Yes, I remember a pitch dark 3:00 in the afternoon too – winters are horrible, aren’t they?

  5. Smi, I had same experience as a newbie in US. I thought it was evening and lost track of time only to come back and see that it was 9:45. 😐

    BTW do you know about White Nights phenomenon?

    Yes, it happens to most of us I guess πŸ™‚ I do know of the White Nights phenomenon – but have no clue of sanwariya- haven’t seen the movie – am bad at watching movies 😦

    • Since you like musicals I assume that you might like it.

      Saawariya – A beautiful Blue palette

      Almost 90% people I know hated it. πŸ˜€

      Yes, I had read too many negative reviews – and with my record of movie watching – watching movies which are supposed to be bad – don’t even make it to my list 😦 I haven’t even watched Taare Zameen pe – can you believe it – just has not happened 😦 But your review makes me want to watch it πŸ™‚

  6. I thought “HR” would generate thoughts of hunk Hrithik Roshan….looks like Himesh Reshamiya is a bigger star than I thought he was! And I am not saying this through my nose!

    Well, to be honest, HR for me is still human resources πŸ™‚ Himesh Reshamiya and Hrithik Roshan did not even come on my radar of thoughts πŸ™‚

  7. nice! πŸ™‚

    I remember my husband calling up around 9:30 in the night, when he was there in US last year during summer and saying – “it’s now dusk here!! it’s not yet completely dark!”

    πŸ˜€

    I know, Pixie – we still marvel at it and hate it when the opposite happens in the winters

  8. I miss those summer holidays we used to spend in my granny’s place.

    Here day starts very early,at 5.00 in the morning we feel as if it is 9.00 and it doesn’t get dark till 7.00pm.Some how i don’t like summers here,i love rainy season which i hardly see here 😦

    Oh Saritha – me too! I miss those holidays too! All us cousins would land from all over India would land at my grandparents place! Those were wonderful days!

    The day starts early here too – but since it is not very warm – it is comfortable.. As for rainy season – here is rains almost everyday.. Yesterday was bright – and today its raining 😦 I actually check the whether on a daily basis before stepping out..

    • Great yaar u get rains in summer also πŸ™‚
      Here it rains rarely that too it rains with dust storm 😦
      Lol at checking the weather before stepping out πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  9. ‘I reached there via a little seven seater aircraft whose safety instructions included – β€˜Mind your head as you pass by the propellers’ . Never before and never since have I have traveled in such an aircraft at such low levels – it was beautiful and terrifying at the same time.. I was actually worried that we might hit one of the trees or something.. But it was gorgeous – all lush green and hardly any civilization visible.’

    The above paragraph is scary to read on one side and is like a thrilling experience on the other side, Smitha. You are gutsy, I say!

    You must have been very young at the time of the story. Your memory is amazing. You have described small small things, beautifully.

    I was not that young – around 23, I think πŸ™‚ It was a thrilling experience and there was no option to be brave or not πŸ™‚ That was the only way to reach there πŸ™‚ And to be honest, it was very beautiful! My memory – well, it was a one off experience πŸ™‚ And I somehow seem to remember details from each time I go to some place new πŸ™‚ It was an eventful trip, some more interesting things happened – maybe I should do another post πŸ™‚

  10. Long summer days!!! your post reminds me of the summer holidays we used to have in our student life. They used to be so much fun!
    lol at solilo’s observation of HR=Himesh Reshamiyya

    I really miss those carefree school summer hols! How I wish I could relive those days πŸ™‚

    Yes, only Solilo could come up with that πŸ™‚

  11. very good nasrration of a beautiful experience, and I think the last para..everyone will echo, evenI when went to France first time, kept talking till 9 and when my Hasked whether I didnt want to eat dinner..I said what is the hurry, its sitill evening and then saw the clock:)

    Yes, I guess all of us have had that experience :)Waiting for your next picture post πŸ™‚

  12. Very well described, Smitha.

    Those of us in Mumbai are used to a certain uniformity in these matters, given that we have just two seasons – wet and very warm, and rainy and still warm! πŸ™‚

    Cheers,

    Quirky Indian


    Yes, QI, I have had an experience of warm and rainy Mumbai πŸ™‚ It was the first time I had experienced that drastic a change of weather.

  13. I do love the UK summers and the long days they bring!

    It’s nice to be able to get out of work and laze aroud the park with the sun still shining, having a picnic…

    I can see why English Summers are considered so perfect

    Welcome here DewdropDream!

    Yes, UK summers are wonderful, aren’t they? ‘It’s nice to be able to get out of work and laze aroud the park with the sun still shining, having a picnic… ‘ – best part of the English Summers!

  14. Oww how wonderfully described.. you know whats more funny? this seemed like an essay to me… kinda I would write it for my exam paper..

    I dunno why.. totally incongruous I agree but still….

    Essay 😦 That’s what my husband says when he does not like something I write 😦

    • But I loved it! And I love essays πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      Thats a relief πŸ™‚ He always says that for anything I write, that he doesn’t like 😦 I once wrote a travelogue on our Paris trip and I was heart broken πŸ™‚

      • LoL! You probably thinking of essays and exams because you are missing me. πŸ˜‰ And my wonderful LONG comments. πŸ˜› Which gives me an idea on how I can tackle my essay question for another exam. πŸ’‘

        Badz!!! Go study, girl!! You should be banned from entering the blogworld until June 4th!!! Go study!

  15. And I know Smitha. I love the long summer days here too. It was nice yesterday. Today it has gone back to being glum and humid again.

    Do you know your post, it reminds me of the surveying trip I had a few months ago. We were up REALLY early and didn’t sleep until around 1am. It took place for 5 days BUT it was as crazy as yours. All we did (were allow to do) was work and some more work. πŸ˜•

    ‘Surveying Trips so reminds me of my college days – when all the civil folks used to troop off – surveying:) I was mech so we had industry visits instead πŸ™‚

    • I know – it was beautiful yesterday – today’s horrible 😦

      We all seem have these exp:( You should write about it – AFTER your exams πŸ™‚ Go study NOW πŸ™‚

      • Your a mechanical engineer?? That’s great. You can help/explain to me if I am unsure about anything. We hav this module on materials (Core module MUST PASS Module). And yes I’m going back to study. Looking at past maths papers so get a feel of what it is like. And see if I can do well it those papers. And also find out my weaknesses. πŸ˜•

        Sure – no probs – if I remember anything at all – will be happy to help πŸ™‚ Mail me at wordzndreamz@gmail.com. Though have to say that its been almost 10 years since I have lost touch with mech – joined software after college 😦 All the best – Am sure you will do very well!

  16. wonderfully written dear, reminded me of thsoe days when I came to US 7 years back in May, and was so happy and excited to see the Long summer days a totally new experience for me….

    An engineer..hmmm, me too πŸ™‚

    Yes, these long summer says are quite a change, aren’t they? You too? I was working in IT – so was never really in touch with ‘engg’ to be honest 😦 What branch were you?

  17. Beautiful description Smitha πŸ™‚ though its hard for me to imagine the long summer days that you have described as I have never seen one πŸ™‚
    but yeah it must be kinda spooky the first few times πŸ˜€

    It was a shock – the first time.. then I started enjoying it πŸ™‚ It was different and fun:) Now we totally look forward to it πŸ™‚

    cant even begin to imagine the scenario ..

    look at all the words that have come up to describe HR πŸ˜‰
    I know – Himesh Reshamiya and Hrithik Roshan!!!! HR professionals must be cringing at the mention of Himesh Reshamiya πŸ™‚

    Solilo sure has an imagination doesnt she? πŸ˜€
    That she has πŸ˜†
    and then Dhiren is more interested in the sweetheart business
    hai ram!

    I tell you Dhiren Sudhar jao Bhai πŸ˜†

    Dhiren has a one track mind πŸ™‚ *runs before Dhiren can get her* * then remembers that Dhiren has prob left for home – safe for now!!*

  18. Now I am curious, what small village was that, that you went in a 7 seater plane. And that had an IT project for you guys there πŸ™‚ Wow!

    It was a little town in West Virginia – beautiful place..

    • my guess is — Is it greenville in North carolina ? Because when my colleage went there for a project (not IT) he too went on 7 or 10 seater plane-let 9!)

      Quite close Anrosh, it was a little town in West Virginia πŸ™‚

  19. Ha, Ha……..I know what you mean, I have lived in Canada for 7 years…and yes long summer days, u go to sleep in daylight and you wake up in daylight, its like the sun never sets….and the winters, exact opposite..u go to work in the dark, and come back in the dark…like a thief sneaking in and out of your own home….Yes, the glorious summers…loved reading, about the perfect summers…..

    I know! The summers and winters are so opposite, aren’t they? I mean in winter- it really makes you long for summer:) Thank you πŸ™‚

  20. ooh, that is so nice, work that lets u travel! so u ppl use to hog like a whole aircraft? what fun!!! i imagined all singing like we used to in school picnic buses!! πŸ˜€
    Well, I exagerated a wee bit πŸ™‚ Not the whole aircraft -but around 70-80 people in a flight was quite common πŸ™‚ But no picnicing – we would not even know most of them..People from all over India would be there. I have met old colleagues though πŸ™‚

    Yes, all that travelling is fun until you get married and have a child 😦 Then its no fun at all 😦

    that was quite a loss of time!!! i’ve heard of this from many of my US based friends…

    out here in Mumbai, I HATE summers..its yucky n sweaty 😦
    i like ur kinda summer more, even if i had to lose track of time!!! πŸ˜€

    The summers are nice here- but the winters are horrible!!! And here in the UK – even summers are all wet sometimes – no fun 😦

    btw Smitha! u didn’t leave ur bday in my post!! me wants me wants!!!!!
    Will hop over to your blog πŸ™‚

  21. In Moscow the sun used to set at 12 am and rise at 3 am! It was difficult to sleep…

    I first flew on a propeller plane from Christchurch to Queenstown in NZ…It was damn scary! My father (who worked for an airline) is generally scared of flying but that day he was shitting bricks! I’ve never seen him so scared…

    ‘set at 12 am and rise at 3 am’ – Goodness! I can imagine! It must be really difficult and the total reverse in winters!

    I know – propeller planes are scary.. Don’t blame your dad πŸ™‚ I was really uncomfortable with the height at which it flew as well.. It was too close for comfort for me 😦

  22. Yes, its such a different experience. And the best part is that you can roam around and take pictures in daylight till 9 pm. πŸ™‚

    Oh yes! Absolutely πŸ™‚ Welcome here, Amit!

So, what do you think?

