Excuses, no more…

I have no more excuses and no more options.. Have to just do it, and the D day is Friday – May 1st!

With fear in my heart and excitement as well,

I feel as if someone has sounded my death knell,

With today, I lost the last chance,

With no reason to prance,

as I have been ever so Β lazy,

and my memory even more hazy,

the very last chance to postpone,

though I wished with every little bone,

that I could cancel my theory driving test,

So please wish me all the best !

My little attempt at a little ditty… Please don’t slam meΒ  – am just indulging myself:)Β  See ,anything to avoid going through the 1000 questions(yes, 1000!!!) and hazard preception :(.. I actually logged on the laptop to do some tests – but got waylaid into blogosphere…. See this is what happens the first thing you open is your reader! OK, I better get studying.. Hubby is seriously worried that I will flunk it!

41 thoughts on “Excuses, no more…

  1. lol..study, study…i know its not easy…the blog world is a source of serious distraction…

    Yes, the blogworld is full of distractions – i just can’t keep away πŸ™‚ Welcome here Mandira πŸ™‚

  2. LOL… smitha… you will not believe it but I am working on a “Driving license” post now…. πŸ™‚ here in america, I had to go through a 100 page book!!!!!
    more you will read on my next post!!!!

    Best of luck!!!!

    Ajit, The US exam was much easier – atleast it was when I took it 7 yrs ago πŸ™‚ Here I have a 450 pages book + hazard perception.. in which you have clips of real driving conditions – where in you have to identify ‘developing hazards’!! For us, used to Indian driving conditions – half these developing hazards don’t just count as hazards πŸ™‚ The theory is much easier in comparison πŸ™‚

  3. study well and all the best for your test πŸ™‚

    Thanku, Thanku Mystery – I am clearly not able to study – the blog world is far more fun πŸ™‚

  4. Go Smi! conquer the test and road! I am sure you will pass it.

    I am not sure about UK test but US tests are very easy if you have a little common sense.

    Thanks Sols! The US test was much easier -atleast it was 7 yrs back when I took it πŸ™‚ I’ll know on friday if I conquered it or just proved husband right πŸ™‚

    • Hey it is not that easy!!! i got my license only two weeks back…. πŸ™‚ The driving here is easy but the written test is not!!!!!!

      I used to love driving in the US – it was a lot of fun! Haven’t driven ever since I came here 😦 Driving test in the US was also easier :(Lucky Lucky u guys!!

      • For me it was very easy. I didn’t know one question.

        Me too! Sols – but it was some time back – so not sure if things have changed now.. – just to make it tough for Ajit πŸ™‚

    • Hey! The theory test in the UK isn’t difficult as long as you practice a couple of times before the test. Most of the time it’s general knowledge and common sence. I mean I personnal past first time and only did the practise run a few times the night before whereas it took my sister longer to learn/understand it.

      Although we don’t have 1000 questions to answer. We only have 50 questions now plus the hazard perception. And when I too the test, 2 years ago, it was only 36. πŸ˜›

      Although I struggled more with the practical exam due to silly mistakes. 😦 BUT still had a driving license for 2 years. πŸ˜€


      Are you in the UK too Badz?? The test has just 50 questions – but I was told to go through a book with 1000 questions!!! How fair is that?? Go thru 1000 questions when you’ve got to answer just 50 !

      I am really scared of the practical – almost everybody I know has flunked it atleast once:) All these yrs, I was in London – and never needed a car.. now its practically impossible to get anywhere without one 😦

      • Yes I live in the UK. I live in Leicester BUT at present am studying in Nottingham.

        Anyway, I’d advice to practise the Theory and Hazard Perception on your computer by using the CD that is available. It’s much better than the book and you will start noticing a pattern in the type of questions you get. And you will also get a feel for the real test.

        I am practising, using the CD.. The theory seems ok.. Am just a little worried abt the Hazard perception.. Thanks for the advice!

      • Good Luck! I’m sure you’ll be fine. And another thing, don’t worry about the practical. It’s your instructor’s job to make sure you pass.

  5. May be you can do multi -tasking. One look at one question and one look at reader πŸ˜› Aise karane se kisi ke saath bhi injustice nahi hoga πŸ˜‰

    But seriously go study and wish you luck.
    Still 1000 questions ? Thode jyada nahi hai ? πŸ˜€ Kuch concession to maang lete !!

    Misty – Don’t think I didnot try it – multitasking πŸ™‚ I did – and look what I am doing now!! I have to switch off the BB if I need to do any studying πŸ™‚ 1000 questions to go through and 50 in the exam – not fair acc to me!

  6. All the best Smitha. Reply to all these wishes after you have given the test. And avoid blogosphere like you would swine flu!

    Thats just the thing – ‘And avoid blogosphere like you would swine flu!’ – the most difficult part πŸ™‚ Thank you for the wishes..

  7. ALL THE BEST! πŸ™‚

    study well…
    the blog world is truly a “distraction”, i got waylaid here from all the work i’m trying to do!! πŸ˜€

    LOL!!

    hope you pass with flying colours!

    P.S: Whatever happened to my comment on your little one’s b’day post?!
    *sigh*
    lol
    the blog world is truly a “distraction”, i got waylaid here from all the work i’m trying to do!! πŸ˜€ – I know!!! Se, I am still here 😦

    Whatever happened to my comment on your little one’s b’day post?! – I checked the spam as well – nothing there 😦 So sorry 😦 Thanks loads for all the wishes though πŸ™‚

  8. All the very best Smitha !!!

    Agree with you …blogsamaj is quite distracting..sometime i miss my important office stuff coz i got so involved in reading blogs πŸ™‚

    I got my driving license last year..without even going for any test…

    Mera Bharat Mahaan πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    I got my driving license last year..without even going for any test…

    Mera Bharat Mahaan !!!! Seriously!!! πŸ™‚ Thanks for the wishes πŸ™‚

  9. All the best Smitha… you will clear the test for sure… do well πŸ™‚

    Thank you Thank you – I am certainly hoping to πŸ™‚

  10. Thank you so much for all the wishes! I know I should take Vinod’s advice and ‘avoid blogosphere like you would swine flu!’ πŸ™‚ But can’t! See I am back here – though the plan was to practise hazard perception πŸ™‚

    Will respond to comments here and in previous posts – whenever I sneak in πŸ™‚

  11. lol Smitha I can sese you are still around πŸ™‚

    All the best, work hard now, and stay away from the blogosphere.
    How can I keep away – when you are all writing such compelling posts!! sob sob 😦
    And thank you πŸ™‚

  12. lol Smitha! study study n don’t get distracted! and best of luck for ur test…hope u pass with flying colours n then we can celebrate with some cake!!! (yup, food’s always on my mind πŸ˜› )

    Did get distracted – but managed to clear! Yay! As for cake – Husband has said no more cake – apparently we are both putting on way too much wt:( I have baked almost once a week – in the last one month 😦 So no baking today 😦 sob sob – no way to celebrate without cake!!!

  13. All the best Smitha…

    we need u to blog even while driving! (is there something in the book abt blogging and driving?).. nd maybe post some lovely photos too..

    Thanks Happy Kitten or can I call you Asha? Blogging and drving might not be best of ideas – esp if I want to reach somewhere in one piece πŸ™‚

  14. Now that you have already applied,

    Hope that you shall qualify,

    Never have I loved driving,

    I did rather do the navigating…

    Dhirubhai πŸ™‚ That was good!!! But you don’t like driving? Why??

  15. Hey, good luck with the test. I went through hell to get my driving license here in Dubai but we did not have any written tests though. So don’t know if it’s supposed to be a good thing or bad.

    Go for it, Smitha. Am sure you’re gonna ace it. All the best πŸ™‚

    Masood – I wish it were not so complex – and apparently they are planning to make it tougher 😦 Anyways – cleared it so am happy:) It does make your concepts totally clear though πŸ™‚

  16. hey Smitha, Good luck for the test. I am actually a bit worried for you now knowing that you have to go through a 450 page book and answer hazard perception questions.

    Just stay away from internet…Its killing my productivity too 😦

    Nids – Staying away from the internet was the most difficult part.. I tried switching off the BB – but ended up logging on my phone.. Can’t keep away πŸ™‚ Thanks for the wishes

  17. Maybe i should do my bit to sprinkle some salt around….my wife went for her test a few weeks back, and while we were waiting for her turn i (re)read the entire book in about 30 minutes.

    I guess the US test is indeed rather simple.

    Good luck!

    Thanks for the wishes! Yes, the US test does seem much simpler.. I just saw a report that UK is also the toughest among the EU nations…

  18. All the best Smitha:) I can see you cannot resist the blogosphere πŸ˜€
    but please do! πŸ˜€
    May you come through with flying colours πŸ™‚
    all the very best!
    give us some good news when you get back:D

    Here’s the good news -I cleeared it – despite being distracted constantly by the blogworld πŸ™‚

  19. Sorry, I read this post and got up for something and forgot to wish you, Smitha. All the best to you. I am sure you have done well.

    Waiting to know the result.

    Thanks so much Sandhya, I cleared – no doubt thanks to all your wishes πŸ™‚

  20. All the Best..waiting to hear how did it go..am sure that shall make an interesting post.

    Welcome here Poonam J! It went very well πŸ™‚ Thank you for all your wishes πŸ™‚

So, what do you think?

