Of Birthdays, and some other musings…

Last weekend was one of the most hectic, crazy and fun weekends ever.. We had a wonderful time, starting from Friday morning..

Friday was my daughter’s birthday and we had planned a party on Saturday as it is easier for most people. Since I wanted to something special on Friday too, I baked her a cake, decorated it all in pink πŸ™‚ , decorated the living room with banners and balloons and was rewarded by my daughter hugging me and saying that ‘Best ever cake, best ever, ever birthday party ‘:) Yay!!!! It might be another story that she most definitely does not remember any of her previous birthdays – but that absolutely made my day πŸ™‚

Saturday was another story, we had ordered a ‘princess cake’ for her – a pink one of course πŸ™‚ And both of us were delighted to see the cake – it was gorgeous, absolutely beautiful – and wanted to hide it from her and show it to her at the last minute – but she saw it and loved it!!! She had the most lovely time, playing with all her friends – I think all of them loved balloons the most.. We tried party games, but most of the little ones preferred, running after balloons to any party game – so we just left it at that πŸ™‚

After the party, we invited everybody who was left at the party to come home for tea – we had to leave at 5:00 sharp – they were quite strict with the timings and none of us wanted the party to end πŸ™‚ So we all came home, where the adults had tea and more cake πŸ™‚ And the children had the most wonderful time, digging up the garden πŸ™‚ Some parts of our garden has landscaping with pebbles and they had a ball, digging up pebbles, pretending that they were at the beach digging up sand πŸ™‚ So now I have a garden all dug up, pebbles all over and a rainy Monday , so it is going to stay that way until the sun decides to grace us with his presence πŸ™‚

It was a wonderful day, barring just a couple of things that I wanted to write about.. One of the children, a little boy, was one of the most unruly, and ill mannered child that I had ever seen! He was one of my husband’s colleague’s son and it was the first time we met him, and I was so shocked at the way he was behaving.. He was just going around, pushing every other child, grabbing whatever they were playing with, shouting and screaming almost all the time.. and one time, he even slapped a little girl on her face! And the worse of it all, he had a very derogatory way of speaking to the girls – if he were older I would have thought that he was an MCP – but a child who is not even 4 behaving this way? It just makes me wonder of the kind of parenting he is getting… His parents were very proudly telling me that he watches B4U music and Hindi serials – he does not like children’s channels – made me wonder….

And I also got to know that educated, aware, women still feel that having a brother is necessary for a sister to feel ‘protected’!!!!!!

24 thoughts on “Of Birthdays, and some other musings…

  1. Gr8 to know poohi had lot of fun with balloons and frens on bday πŸ™‚

    I hate these parents who still have this sick mentality that brother is necessary for sister to feel protected….do sister always carry brother like their tale to everywhere…

    Yes, Poohi had a blast πŸ™‚

    I know!! Does the brother follow around looking after her everywhere???? Its funny that educated, well, aware people seem to think like that… From all the reasons to choose from – they think this is the most important!!!

  2. lovely party.. do post the picture of the ‘princess cake’ and some more of the party.

    Parenting.. at such an early age misbehaviour reflects the inefficiency of a parent to rear the child properly. he watches serials and B4U..? oh god. and his parnts were not trying to stop him at his behaviour?

    a brother is fun to be with but, not just for protection.

    Oorja – will post snaps – just did not have the time today – Will do πŸ™‚

    I really feel if the child is not disciplined right from the beginning – he gets the wrong impressions of what is right and wrong.. And as he grows older – it will be that much more difficult for the parents to discipline him.. His parents were the most indulgent parents I have seen.. Even if they do stop him – it was so mild that he would just shrug it off and ignore them and walk off ! I could not believe my eyes when I saw that! Even when he slapped that little girl – all his mom had to say was – ‘Raja Beta – aise nahi karte’ and that was it!! He just strutted off – to go and terrorize somebody else!

  3. Great she had a good time on her birthday, i am sure she will ask u again when will u do her b’day:) πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    lol it is raining there,summer is horrible here.

    Just for the sake of protection one need a brother? how stupidity,people who are educated talk like this??:(

    Yes, Varunavi – she did!! She had the best time πŸ™‚ Thanks to all your lovely wishes πŸ™‚ I think, she still thinks that her birthday is going on πŸ™‚

    Ya, its a shame – it is supposed to be summer here – and its raining 😦

    As for people.. well I was surprised to hear it too.. well, what can one say…

  4. I can imagine how your baby must have enjoyed her birthday party. This is part of growing up – knowing to move with other children, good or bad mannered. The difference will be visible to them.

    Waiting to see the photographs. God bless her and her papa and mama!

    Yes, it is all a part of growing up, isn’t it? I will post the snaps – Haven’t had a chance yet..

  5. Felt wonderfull coming to ur blog….felt as if i know u better now and am not out touch with u….wish Anisha belated birthday on my behalf (hope to god that i got the name right :))

    Ur blog is a wake up call for me to write more regularly on my own blog…and Insha-allah, i will…

    take care n continue writing πŸ™‚

    Sudhir – How on earth did you reach here πŸ™‚ Welcome πŸ™‚ Anisha thanks Sudhir Mama for the wishes! Also, belated b’day to you too – I totally forgot to wish you – it was on the 23rd, wasn’t it?
    Yes, please do update your blog πŸ™‚

  6. How can parents allow kids to watch indian series? I mean they are not even aimed at their age group. I mean I’m 22 and my sister is 19 and my parents are still totally against us watching it. before because it set the wrong example i.e. it illustrated its ok to jump from one relationship to, etc; and today because my parents feel we will not concentrate in our studies if we keep watching them. So today (last 3 years), we’ve not had any indian channels at home. So hearing a 4 year old watching it is scary.

    I know, I found it quite scary and inappropriate to let a child watch anything at all.. More so when there are good quality children’s programmes here.. I am sure all that would add up to the way a child would behave ultimately…

  7. YAY! Pinshesh Poohi is 3 now. Post some pictures Poohi Mamma. We want to see the cake. We want a piece of it. πŸ˜€

    Digging up the yard, jumping mud puddles..these are the things they enjoy the max.

    As for unruly kids, I blame the parents. I have seen sometimes kids as young as 5 go out of control and don’t listen to parents. Kids’ mind at this stage is like a sponge so these are the best years to teach them good manners instead of stuffing them with letters of alphabet and numbers.

    Yes, ‘Pinshesh Poohi is 3 now. Post some pictures Poohi Mamma’ – Yes she is a BIG girl πŸ™‚ Will post the pics and for the cake – you have to come here πŸ™‚ As I was telling Vimmuuu – will bake one just for you πŸ™‚ – See I just need a reason to bake πŸ™‚ Digging up the yard, jumping in puddles – these are what childhood is made of πŸ™‚

    As far as, that little boy is concerned, it is clearly the parents who just do not feel the need to discipline him.. they might actually be finding his antics cute, for all we know…And yes, a lot of Indian parents certainly consider alphabets and number more important than manners.. They just forget that numbers and the alphabet, the child will definitely learn at school, manners and discipline is so much more difficult to inculcate, if left too late…

    • Kids are never at fault ! period

      Its parents all the time !!

      gee… my son asks a lot of questions… now wonder who is at fault here ?? lol πŸ˜€

      Asking a lot of questions is mark of his intelligence!!!! Which I am sure he inherits from his mom πŸ˜‰

  8. Belated Bday wishes to ur darling daughter πŸ™‚ ..
    Did u save a piece of the cake 😦

    Thank you N, do you think a piece could remain where yours truly resides πŸ™‚

  9. Dont you dare post the snaps here and make titanic go inside my mouth !!!! Im sure the cakes would have been lovely. Sigh !!!! 😦

    That offer for the cakes is still on, na??? Hmmm…let me check !

    Btw, on that kid, we all are reflections of our parents ! He is just being himself. LOL. But then again, kids na? they would be fine when they grow up; when people start hitting them back that is ! πŸ˜€

    LOL – ‘Dont you dare post the snaps here and make titanic go inside my mouth ‘ lol πŸ™‚

    Yes, the offer for cakes is still on πŸ™‚ Just let me know when you are coming πŸ™‚ – I can even bake you a pink one if you want πŸ™‚

  10. Its so nice to know that you had such a great time. πŸ™‚ Oh! that boy, from my experiences, I believe it is usually a case of learning what they see at home. I am myself surprised when I see such kids. Reacently i took the BB to the birthday party of my neighbour’s son, and he was exactly the same. While leaving, i went to him to wish another time, and he shrugged my hand off and hit it. I was wildly shocked. And if people feel girls need brothers for protection, ask them why they need protection in the first place? Are these people raising their sons to be something to be scared of?

    GM, That is so rude of him!!! Its sad when you see such things.. I really feel sorry for the children – because they will have to learn good manners – but from outside – when their parents could have so easily taught them…

    ‘And if people feel girls need brothers for protection, ask them why they need protection in the first place? ‘ – That is indeed a valid question!

  11. Smitha,so glad to know Poohi had a memorable b’day.Post the pics soon,okee?

    As for the ill-mannered boy,noone other than the parents are to be blamed for his conduct.Its ridiculous how they take pride in the fact that he watches only B4U music and hindi serials.No wonder he is turning out the way he is-a rogue!
    I hope his parents realise this soon before it backfires on them!!

    Deeps – Will post the snaps soon – just a little caught up these days 😦 I certainly hope the parents realise that they are making his life tougher in the long run too..I have heard of another boy – very naughty – apparently the school started sending notes and finally even an ultimatum that they will not be able to keep in the school, if his behaviour does not improve.. Sad na..

  12. Good to hear about the wonderful time you all had, thanks to your daughter! Hope she remembers next yer what happened this year!

    Yes, you are right – we did have the most wonderful time – thanks to her:) I doubt that she’s going to remember it – but thanks to all the videos and pics – atleast she will be able to see it later πŸ™‚

  13. // And I also got to know that educated, aware, women still feel that having a brother is necessary for a sister to feel β€˜protected’!!!!!! //

    It is necessary …. but for a sister to feel protected about her brother, and not the other way round!

    Destination Infinity

    Well said, DI, ‘but for a sister to feel protected about her brother, and not the other way round!’

  14. 2 pink cakes and a party and digging up the garden…
    your little one did have a wonderful birthday πŸ™‚

    about the ill mannered kid, i feel kids learn from their parents. if they taught him to behave well with others, he wouldn’t have behaved like what he had done.

    As far as having a brother to protect a girl, it sounds so silly. even if he was meant to protect his sister, he wouldn’t be following her where ever she goes, after all he would also have a life!! it’s a pity that even educated ppl think like this

    Oh yes she did πŸ™‚

    Clearly, the parents don’t care.. Its sad though..

    ‘even if he was meant to protect his sister, he wouldn’t be following her where ever she goes, after all he would also have a life’ – precisely! Can you imagine, this came from a twenty eight yr old young woman???

  15. parenting is way too under-rated!! i have read a couple of more posts around children behaving atrociously, and i gues parents don’t realise that this is the behavious they will have to put up with too, when its too late to correct them 😐

    so nice that u had a lovely celebration for ur lil darlin! πŸ™‚
    and u plannin to learn crochet online….am so so proud of u!!! hugs n muah!!! expect all help comin ur way!
    am looking forward to the promised self-baked cake when u visit Mumbai!!! πŸ˜€

    Parenting is certainly underrated.. I feel angry at people who despite being parents, don’t take their roles seriously…This is a child we are talking about…

    I am planning to learn crochet on line – you have so inspired me!!!! Will prob start next week – if all goes well:) Thank you so much for the offer of help! Loads of Hugs and muahs back to you!!!!! And yes, the cake – definitely – next time πŸ™‚ Just let me know what your favourite type is πŸ™‚

    • chocolate!!!! always chocolate!! πŸ˜€
      wil the cake be as sweet as u r??! hugs!!!

      You too – I love chocolate too!!! Thats my fav too πŸ™‚ Hugs !!!! Choc cake for sure πŸ™‚

  16. Happy Bday once again to the Pink Princess…

    Glad to know that you all had a wonderful time…

    Kids misbehaving… it gets on the nerves, specially if the parents dont care.. nd some says it is alright since kids needs to show their emotions.. but would always prefer to be around well behaved ones… I think my kids saw the most serials while they were with their grandparents during vacation time in India. My MIL has lately become a serial addict…

    talking abt brothers and sisters… I think most couples have now settled for one child…. but a second one can be a good addition in every way.. be it a brother or sister… just my views:)

    Thank you again for the wishes, Happy Kitten πŸ™‚

    Yes, It gets on my nerves too. I hear that abt kids’ emotions too – but surely, they need to know what is allowed and what is not.. I really think that they need to learn about boundaries early enough – otherwise might be difficult to control them later.. Serials – I do think that as parents, they should have tried and made sure that he watches age appropriate stuff.. As for your children watching with grandparents – am sure a little won’t hurt πŸ™‚ and you can’t really control everything, can you..

    As for the second addition – I totally agree and hubby totally disagrees πŸ™‚

  17. Belated HappyBirthday wishes to your daughter.
    Please post some photographs of the cake and the decorations.

    Thank you so much Prerna πŸ™‚ Will post snaps soon:)

  18. I loved the way put balloons and baked her a cake on Friday too πŸ™‚ Even I feel even if the birthday is celebrated another day, it’s nice if they have something special on the real birthday! Garden being dug up part is the best πŸ™‚

    About the badly behaved boy, I have seen parents who like it if their children are violent and aggressive, they actually believe they are making them street smart and capable of taking care for themselves. The saddest part is it’s the child who really suffers, when other children refuse to play with him.

    Garden digging was the best – atleast for the kids πŸ™‚

    ‘I have seen parents who like it if their children are violent and aggressive, they actually believe they are making them street smart and capable of taking care for themselves.’ – Yes, I think you are right! Thats why they are so proud!!! I really feel that they are doing so much harm to the poor kid..Not just children.. I am not too comfortable having him over either..

  19. I had sneaked in to read this post 2 days back but was not able to comment. Glad that everything worked out fine and you guys enjoyed the birthday party. Where’s the cake??!? None of your fellow bloggers???

    Unruly kids are really irritating. And i often wonder how do those parents tolerate such kids. More so, what kind of upbringing are they into? Don’t they see how misbehaved their kid is. How are they OK with it. Some folks have told me that when you see other kids misbehaving, you’ll get irritated but the same thing done by your own kid, you’ll ignore. I don’t know if that’s really the case. Guess time will tell.


    Cake, what cake??? You expect cake to left over – when I am around:) Come visiting here and I will bake one for you πŸ™‚


    No every child misbehaves. I think it is upto us as parents to ensure that we teach our children good manners.. Of all the children that day – he was on only ill mannered child.. Everybody else was naughty and having fun – but not behaving in this kind of way…

  20. Poohi had fun and thats the most important :)and digging the garden:D what better way to celebrate? πŸ˜€

    OG is so right…children are a reflection of their parents…and one can only wonder about what kind of human beings the parents are…children are never at fault…its the parents who are just so irritating with their rose tinted glasses who just refuse to see the reality….and how their kids are getting so rude…


    Poohi certainly had the time of her life!

    It is sad that parents who refuse to see the reality are in reality hurting their own children, albeit in the long run….

  21. Its nice to know that poohi had a great time… pink one and balloons… all little kids love them much… πŸ™‚ and for that lil boy it will be because of indulgence and over affectionate towards their son.. I am seeing some parents were never allows their kid to cry for anything.. they gets them whatever they want whether its right or not… so obviously they are getting arrogant by nature and cant accept the failures… so its get down to the parents on how they bring up the child…

    Yes, you are right.. In their efforts to ensure that the child never cries – they just end up spoiling the child.. sad..

So, what do you think?

