I love You….

Internet! What were you guys thinking?

Well, I know, I know, but I had to say this because right now, I am feeling so, so very indebted to the Internet.. You see, I was about to start baking a cake for my daughter’s birthday – whenΒ I thought that I should check whether I had icing sugar or not.. For some reason I had checked out every other ingredient except this! I remember seeingΒ a pack – so was quite confident.. Well, turned out that the pack was there – but the icing sugar was almost over 😦

So what do we do now? Too late to shop for it – had to find a substitute. So turned to my agony aunt – my beloved google – andΒ it found it for me!Β  Thank you Google!!! You are the greatest!!!

I have so many such moments – and I never cease to be amazed, more than the actual amount of information – the fact that there are so many like me – who seem to have the exact same question πŸ™‚ Sure makes you feel like you belong to a club πŸ™‚

The other day – I had another question – How to find out if expired baking powder can be used – and lo and behold – lots of people with that very query and answers too. And happy answers , because it turned out that I could – just needed to test it each time before using it:) So if you have any of my cakes – be warned – made of expired baking powder πŸ™‚

PS :I could use some advise on ‘how to keep a very excited, almost three-yr-old away from cakes’ πŸ™‚

23 thoughts on “I love You….

  1. Google maharaj ki jai. I can’t seem to think of life without internet now. Google saved my life more than once. On top of my mind I call recall one incident. This happened when my baby was 2 days old. We were still at the hospital. After a feed, the little one started his hiccups. It was his first time. He kept at it for almost 5 min and we didn’t know what to do. It’s such a natural thing yet when it was my 2 day old baby, I felt something was wrong. My wife, herself a doctor, was clueless all of a sudden. Then came google to the rescue. Hundreds of idiots out there like me who didn’t know what to do when a newborn got hiccups.

    Damn silly when I think of it now. But what would I have done without the internet! And countless other times.

    Hope your experiments with expired stuff is restricted just with the baking powder and cakes! πŸ˜‰ LOL

    Masood – I know! Internet is fantastic when it comes to all such queries! I have probably searched every little thing on the internet:)

    ‘My wife, herself a doctor, was clueless all of a sudden’ – I guess, thats because she is the mother first πŸ™‚

    ‘Hope your experiments with expired stuff is restricted just with the baking powder and cakes!’ LOL!! Yes, yes, Haven’t come across any more expired stuff in my pantry πŸ™‚ Will let you know if I do πŸ™‚

  2. LOL….. Google is the greatest!!!!

    Your question:
    I could use some advise on β€˜how to keep a very excited, almost three-yr-old away from cakes’

    Answer:
    Give me the cake!!! I will ensure that the three year old does not even get a single piece πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜†

    Ajit! Yes, Google is the greatest!! Can’t believe that there was a time that we used to use Yahoo and MSN searches!! Feels like iron age now πŸ™‚

    ‘Answer:
    Give me the cake!!! I will ensure that the three year old does not even get a single piece πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› :lol:’ LOL!!! That was the bestest solution – why didn’t I think about it!!!!! Stupid, stupid, me!!! πŸ™‚

    • Or don’t keep her away, let the cake making be a part of the birthday celebration:) I used to let my kids whip egg whites stiff (and make some mess also) , lick the batter, and even share the batter by making one tiny cup cake each. They remember all this as much as the actual birthday party πŸ™‚
      (I haven’t yet read the post, this comment distracted me.. I hope the comment is relevant;))

      IHM, You again, reminded me of my childhood!!! My mom used to let us do the exact same thing! I suspect , that my love for baking is thanks to that πŸ™‚ I did bake the cake with her – the cake decorations, I did after she slept – could not take any chance with that πŸ™‚

  3. Shw shweet. indeed we form a community sometimes don’t we. Just like through blogs. The answer to your question is, don’t even attempt it!!

    I know, GM!!! Google is like a repository of answers and Blogs are like our virtual community:)

  4. Google is very good if you know what exactly you are looking for! Sometimes even then, we are kinda lost in this information mine called internet! Sometimes, too much is also not good!

    Destination Infinity

    Yes, DI, that is true, Most of the time, I manage to find what I need though:)
    Ya, they do say, don’t they – too much of anything can be bad:)’

  5. I cant imagin life without internet now:)…….one day if it is not working, I start iving frantic calls:)

    I know!!! I went through the same phase when we moved houses and had to wait for more than a month for the BB connection to come through – thanks to some goof up by a customer rep 😦

  6. I know. I am trying to recollect what we were doing some 12 years ago when internet was taking baby steps in India. That was also a time when nuclear families had firmly taken root.
    We’d invariably turn to elders in the family and friends for information and advice. And I remember frowning on some people who called me only when they needed the information.
    Now, no friends, no relatives, only Google (for information gathering, that is).

    ‘Now, no friends, no relatives, only Google (for information gathering, that is).’ – I know!!! I remember when I was pregnant – I used to be totally hooked on the internet – checking out every possible thing πŸ™‚

  7. Google is a boon… I never worry if I dont know something… I know it will be available in google… I love google… and LOL @ PS…

    I certainly agree, Kanagu – Google is the best!!!

  8. Yes, Google is god’s (!!!!) gift to human kind. My son wanted me to do pasta and other Italian and Thai food, after he came back from Australia. I was familiar only with Maggi noodles, till then – that too 1 minute noodles!. Then started looking for the recipe in the google and I am cooking so many new dishes. I mixed 2-3 recipes for the Pasta sauce and it has come out very well, thanks to google.

    I too, have become an addict to internet, now. No PC one day, I am doomed!

    Wow! Sandhya! You make my mouth water!!! Both my daughter and I love pastas too πŸ™‚ I have actually improved as a cook after google came into my life πŸ™‚ With the variety of recipes around- we can try anything all, can’t we πŸ™‚ Me too – a total addict! Can’t work without it 😦

  9. Soon your daughter might be googling to find how to keep her mother away from the net!

    Yes, that day is not far away, she already sits at the laptop and says – ‘Don’t Disturb – I’m working!’

  10. So right, Smitha! Google is like an all-knowing deity!

    Answer to your question- can’t be done! πŸ™‚

    ‘Google is like an all-knowing deity!’ – LOL πŸ™‚ So true!!

  11. Talk about google and everybody whole heartedly agrees πŸ™‚ Just think Google is a Verb and a Noun soon we will make it an adjective as well, as in she bakes googlicious cakes with googlspired baking powder.

    IHM- lol!!!! ‘googlicious cakes with googlspired baking powder.’ – That was a nice one!!!! Ya, Google will soon become an adjective!

  12. Just now I left a comment in your other post saying how daughters are blessings of God!
    Internet is nowhere lagging behind,I tell you!
    A very Happy birthday to Poohi:)
    Do pass on lots of hugs and ummas to her from Namnam:)

    Deeps, Thanks so much for the wishes!!!! Poohi had a wonderful day and is saying ‘Thank you very much, I’m welcome’ to you and ‘ummas’ and BIG hugs for Namnam from both of us πŸ™‚

  13. hey smitha, first time here from ur lovely comments on my blog! πŸ™‚

    yeah, google is the mai-baap of information n much more. even in office, i use it for researchand reference – so easy, and so useful too!
    i so don’t mind expired baking-powder wala cake!!! Birthday hugs from me to ur lil angel πŸ™‚

    Crafty – Your blog deserves it and more!!!! Yes, ‘google is the mai-baap of information n much more’! When I was working – have googled and got so much info πŸ™‚

    And yes, before I forget – I got so inspired by your talent – I actually went online to check if I could learn to crochet online- and apparently I could!!! So will give it a shot sometime πŸ™‚

    You want cake – you live in Mumbai don’t you – I always stopover in Mumbai – will bring you cake next time I am in India:)

  14. No two doubts. but there is a word of caution. Not everything is correct that google throws at your finger tips. πŸ˜‰

    Yes, BlueMist – but most of the time you can figure it out πŸ™‚

  15. to keep a three year old away from cakes? How can you be so sadistic ??? LOL πŸ˜€

    Vimmuuu – Had to be sadistic if I wanted to keep the cake intact with the icing for the her actual birthday morning πŸ™‚ It does not help when Daddy dear is also equally interested in tasting the icing too πŸ™‚

  16. Google is indeed amazing.

    One of my professors had this precious piece of advice for students as the course started. First slide of the first class of the semester.

    “I will use Google before asking dumb question”

    LOL! “I will use Google before asking dumb question” – That certainly makes sense:)

  17. Google is just amazing! One of my friend googles about such weird stuff and the searches are so hilarious that we simply crack up.. I should do a post about it real soon πŸ˜€

    Winnie – Waiting for your post! Am sure its bound to be very interesting πŸ™‚

  18. A topic close to everybody’s heart:-))!!!!!!

    I have a local arab family here who send vague fresh veggies & fruits sometimes. I assemble them in front of me & then google for the recipe;-D

    Google portal zindabad!!!!!!

    Welcome here, Nancy! Wow!! Google portal zindabad – all the way πŸ™‚ Life has certainly become much easier hasn’t it:)

So, what do you think?

