The Amazing, Fun, Crazy Rollercoaster ride of Motherhood…

of motherhood.. I know it sounds cliched but I absolutely love everthing about being a mother- atleast so far πŸ™‚ I may change my mind later- but I am certainly loving it as of now!

Goofy Mumma tagged me with this tag about listing 5 things I love about being a mother.. Just five things? oh – this is going to be tough – to select just five things πŸ™‚

One of the greatest thing motherhood has taught me is to appreciate my parents even more.. It makes me appreciate everything that I had taken for granted so far – their unconditional love, their putting us ahead of everything else, the way our happiness comes first and foremost, and with it, my own emotions of wanting to be there for them, in any way that they might need me.. I always felt this way – but I think it has become even stronger after I became a parent. If I could do half the job that they did, with meΒ  – I would be thankful..

I think it would be fair to say that motherhood has changed me beyond my wildest dreams.. While, I was always the mothering kind, the strength of the emotion that I feel for my daughter – still surprises and amazes me.. All those times, when some little thing freaked me out, of how I was on the phone to the NHS Advise line, because she threw up as a one month old.. Yes, all the books told me not to worry – but I still needed to be reassured.. Like Goofy Mumma, I was totally freaked out when she fell from the bed at 5 months – though she fell to a carpetted floor and was fine.. Rushing her to the emeergency because she fell head first from the sofa and having to wait there till 9:00 in the night, on a night that my husband was not in town.. So many insecurites and so many triumphs! The joy of seeing her turn over or smile at me made up for every worry that might have come my way. I used to pour over books and the internet to check out everything – I remember asking a doctor why she was not smiling at 3 weeks – I was worried she was autistic – little knowledge! Motherhood has been a truly roller coaster ride. So many things that bring a smile to my face, so many things I wonder, if I should have done differently.. How I used to love the way, she used to crawl her way to me, sometimes over other children at the daycare, when I would go to pick her up πŸ™‚ And how everyday, when we used to drop her off, she was so eager to start her day – that she would even spare us a second glance.. So many things, so ways she has touched our lives, andΒ  taken over it completely

So now, to do the actual tag, five things I love about being a mother.

1. The amazing fact that you can so totally be in love with another person, even if she manages to do really gross things at times.

2. The fact that being a mother has totally changed my perspective towards life.. My goals, ambitions, had been so different, just three years ago..

3. The way, sometimes, when I read her a bedtime story, she just hugs me and tells me ‘ I lub you, Amma’ – out of nowwhere!The way she hugged me today and told her dad to get me tea – coz I was in bed, unwell! And the way, she started crying and got upset, because I was unwell..

4. The way she hugs and thanks us for something routine, as giving her, her favourite strawberry milk or buying her a pair of shoes! Her emotion when she thanks us amazes both of us!

5. The way she jumps and runs towards her dad everyday, when he returns from work. And I will never forget the way, she clung to him at the airport, when we got back from vacation.
How she is moved, by any child that cries, and tries telling them – ‘Don’t cry, baby’!

Oh there are so many things.. that move me, amaze me and make me thankful that I am a mother and that I am able to experience all this.. I know that I am no perfect mother, nor can I ever reach that – but I know, that I will do everything to try and do whatever I can to make my daughter’s life better.. I have doubts about my parenting style all the time.. I worry about mollycoddling her too much, and then about being too strict with her.. But all I can say with any sincerity is that ever since I have become a mother, I want to do my very best for her.. I do think that motherhood has brought out the best in me..

I believe this tag is about linking mothers across the world.. Most of the mothers I know have already been tagged, So I am tagging.

Happy Kitten

Varunavi

Manju

Hip Hop Grandmom

NM

N

Sandhya

Β 

Edited to addRenuΒ – Don’t know how I missed tagging you – Apologies!!!

And Daddy bloggers – Masood and Rakesh – I love your baby posts!

33 thoughts on “The Amazing, Fun, Crazy Rollercoaster ride of Motherhood…

  1. Smitha,
    I’ve done this tag already.Do you want me to repeat it?May get boring.

    HHG, I did not realise that you had done it already – please ignore it in that case πŸ™‚ Sorry about that 😦

  2. Wonderful smitha i enjoyed reading it.

    Lol I remember asking a doctor why she was not smiling at 3 weeks–so small how can they smile:)

    I Lub u amma—so cutie:)

    Thanx for tagging,will do it..

    Me: Thank you! I just got back after reading yours and loved it! Have left a long comment there 😦 You did a wonderful job!

  3. πŸ™‚ that was moving… πŸ™‚ mothers are the greatest!!!!!! is all I have to say…… πŸ™‚

    Ajit – Thank you! As for mothers are the greattest – Your mother will be delighted to hear that πŸ™‚ More to children like you πŸ™‚

  4. lovely post, really enjoyed reading:)


    Thank you so much – I missed out tagging you!!! I knew I had forgotten somebody !!! Tagging you now – will update the post – Would love to hear your side of it πŸ™‚

  5. Lovely Smitha! And the girl is such a sweetheart. You are bringing her up wonderfully, if she has learnt to say thank you for all the little things. Oh I wanna hug her, right now! Loads of love to you and the baby!

    GM, Thank you!!! You know what , when I started writing – it just went on and on and on… There are so many things about motherhood that is so fantastic, isn’t it? Thanks again for tagging me – I had the most wonderful time doing it πŸ™‚

    ‘You are bringing her up wonderfully, if she has learnt to say thank you for all the little things’ – Thank you!!! I hope so – though I have been told that I am making her an ‘angrez’ 😦 But I don’t care – I have been saying Thank you’s since I was little and I was entirely in India πŸ™‚

    Hugs to your BB too – He is one considerate young man too!!!

  6. Great post, Smitha! You obviously love being a mother!:)

    As for the tag- I have two tags pending, so now I have to get busy and complete three tags!

    Thank you Manju! Yes, it might be the ‘honeymoon’ period – I might not sound so euphoric – a few years down the line πŸ™‚
    Please do the tag whenever you get a chance πŸ™‚

  7. Masood, Happy Kitten and Rakesh have more than one person tagging them πŸ™‚

    I loved reading this post, without pausing, feeling I could totally relate to every word. Most of us must have some doubts about our parenting skills, I have always loved kids, raising my own made me appreciate my parents more, I also feel I would do anything for them (this, I think all mothers feel).

    Children reflect what they see, she sounds like a loving, loved, considerate and caring child … her reaction to her dad coming back at the air port made my eyes feel moist. All these mamma tags are the warmest tags of all…. this is the sort of stuff my daughter read in my diary when I caught her crying happy tears.

    IHM, ‘Masood, Happy Kitten and Rakesh have more than one person tagging them :)’ Just got back from your blog and realised that πŸ™‚

    Thank you, IHM! When I started writing this – I just wrote what came into my mind – did not even proof read – thats also because I did it at 1:00 in the morning πŸ™‚ But there is something about being a parent which changes one’s perspective, isn’t there?
    I love all mamma tags too!!! They are just wonderful to do and to read!! I am so grateful that we have blogs and can we read so much about how other moms/dads feel πŸ™‚ Thank god for technology!!!!

    ‘this is the sort of stuff my daughter read in my diary when I caught her crying happy tears.’ – Aww – I have tears in my eyes now!!

    By the way – I loved the way you did the tag – was fantastic!!!!!

  8. Smitha and IHM.. thanks a lot for tagging me….. i already have one tag pending from Smitha…. but this one…I shall do soon.. I hope to do.. I have already started…. πŸ™‚

    but then reading you all is a pleasure in itself….

    Happy Kitten – ‘reading you all is a pleasure in itself’ – I agree – I absolutely love reading posts by others!!!

    As for the tags – do them whenever you get a chance! Waiting to hear your side of the story πŸ™‚

  9. The love that your daughter is so suffused with clearly has flowed to her from her mother’s bosom.

    Some things that you have said can only come from the flowing and glowing with love heart of a mother: “the strength of the emotion that I feel for my daughter – still surprises and amazes me”; “you can so totally be in love with another person, even if she manages to do really gross things at times”; “ever since I have become a mother, I want to do my very best for her”

    Vinod – Thank you!

  10. WOW!

    That’s all I can come up with. Motherhood really changes a women, hai na? This tag really shows how much you care about your little girl. I am amazed.

    Your daughter is really lucky to have been born to a ‘super’ mom like you. Hat’s off πŸ™‚

    Masood – Thank you for your kind words! I am no super mom – just a fumbling, bumbling mom who is learning along with her daughter πŸ™‚

    Yes, I do think motherhood does change most of us..

  11. Thanks for tagging. My baby is finally joining me this Sunday πŸ™‚ I’ll do this tag a few days after he is here.

    Masood – Congratulations!!! At long last!!!! I am so happy for you!!!! This is great news! Have a wonderful time with your baby and wife – am sure they are waiting just as much as you are! Do the tag whenever you get the chance – no hurry at all πŸ™‚

  12. If you’re interested in discovering your parenting style based on the latest research, please check out the Parenting Style Application by Signal Patterns on Parenting.com.

    The underlying model developed by our team of psychologists reveals an underlying complexity far richer than just ‘strict’ or ‘relaxed’ classifications.

    And what’s particularly interesting is that you can take the test for a spouse and see where potential conflicts might lie and get advice on how to deal w/them. You can also compare results to your friends’.

  13. She is one sensitive child πŸ™‚ I can see how proud you are of her.. as you should be.. wonderfully tender post

    Thank you so much!! She can also be an absolute monster when she wants πŸ™‚

  14. This is such an Unfair Tag – Only 5 things??? I liked the way IHM did it though πŸ™‚

    And yeah – I lub you is so amaaaaaazzzzinggg to listen to πŸ™‚

    I’ll get to it soon…

    And ya, Happy Bird Day to the Little Monster in Advance πŸ™‚ Might not log in on 24th since it’s a Friday (Weekend here)

  15. Smi! I don’t know where to start? It is just WOW. I am sure when you started with this tag your words just flowed. These thoughts are something to cherish forever when Poohi leaves your nest. The proud mom will be happy to have brought up a smart daughter. Okay now I am a bit emotional.

    ” β€˜ I lub you, Amma’ – out of nowwhere!The way she hugged me today and told her dad to get me tea – coz I was in bed, unwell! And the way, she started crying and got upset, because I was unwell..”

    Awww….. πŸ˜₯

    Sols, Our little girls sure make us teary eyed, don’t they ? Yes, words just flowed… There is something about writing about your child – that does this to you πŸ™‚ Guess, thats the reason there are so many mommy(and daddy) bloggers around! Waiting to see your take on this tag πŸ™‚

  16. Such an unfair tag!!! – Only 5 things? I loved the way IHM did it though πŸ™‚

    Will get to it soon…

    And ya, I Lub U amma is really amazing πŸ™‚

    ‘Such an unfair tag!!! – Only 5 things?’ Totally agree!! Totally unfair! I think all of us have cheated on that πŸ™‚ Yes, IHM’s take is fantastic πŸ™‚ She can give anything a new twist:) Waiting to see your take πŸ™‚

  17. /*I lub u, amma*/

    cute πŸ™‚

    /*The way she hugged me today and told her dad to get me tea – coz I was in bed, unwell! And the way, she started crying and got upset, because I was unwell..*/

    one of the rare moments in life πŸ™‚

    /*The way she jumps and runs towards her dad everyday, when he returns from work. And I will never forget the way, she clung to him at the airport, when we got back from vacation.*/

    thinking how I ran towards my father when he returns after work πŸ™‚

    reminded me how my mother tells about us when we are in child… she was always in a awe when talks about that.. now she cared us… motherhood is really a great one.. πŸ™‚

    I can totally relate with how your mother must have been feeling while relating all the stories πŸ™‚ There is something about motherhood – just can’t decribe in words..

  18. Smits,I just finished posting my version of the tag and came here to read yours.What a treat of a read it has been!
    Blogger-moms like you,me,GM seem like soul-sisters when it comes to having had our children fall off their beds right at 5months,isnt it:D
    When your child picks up the basic etiquettes like thank you’s and excuse me’s,you realise,you may not be the perfect mother but you are doing the right thing in raising your child the way you want to.

    Awww to “she just hugs me and tells me β€˜ I lub you, Amma’ – out of nowwhere!”
    Daughters are sheer blessings of God.

    Deeps – So sorry to reach your comment so late – I am having a huge backlog 😦

    Yes, we sure seem soul sisters, all our children seem to fall off the bed at 5 months πŸ™‚
    Hugs to the sweety pie:) Daughters are definitely sheer blesssings of God!

  19. I lub you amma ! our of nowhere… that is so so so heartwarming… !!!

    Mothers are the best people in this world… and i m sure you mothers share an unbelievably special bond with kids… !! something that has amazed me…. I m sure we males can never understand or comprehend what changes go in you females when this happens !

    I m sure we males can never understand or comprehend what changes go in you females when this happens – LOL πŸ™‚

  20. Pingback: The amazing rollercoaster ride of fatherhood « Logical Obscurity

  21. Aww this is so so sweet Smithu .. thank God I am bk to read this post πŸ˜‰
    Pls get bk to blogging .. so missing ur posts 😦 😦

    Thanks so much sweetie πŸ™‚ I finally posted πŸ™‚

So, what do you think?

