Happy Vishu!

Vishu, the Malayali New Year is here! As far as I remember, Vishu was my favourite festival thanks to the ‘Vishukaineetam’, which is the tradition of the elders giving money to the kids:) Now, that was something to look forward to!

Vishu falls on the 14th or 15th of April and the Bengali New Year, Poila Baisakh falls on the same day too. The Tamil New Year falls one day earlier or later than Vishu and Poila Baisakh. When we were in school, I used to wait for Vishu for 2 reasons – the Vishukaineetam and because Vishu was the only festival that I had in common with other friends:) Most of the other festivals like Holi, or Diwali had no correspodning Malayali version :(

Vishu is traditionally celebrated on the first day of the Medam month of the Malayalam Calendar.  The day is supposed to start off with the ‘Vishu Kani’. We normally arrange it all the previousight n and are supposed to see the Vishu Kani the first thing in the morning! There is something wonderful about this  – I can’t describe the feeling..  My mother used to bring us all to the Kani , blindfolded.. My daughter, unfortunately opened her eyes before I could get to her , but she loved the Kani all the same.

The Vishu Kani consists of  all things auspicious – Rice, fresh linen, a tradional mirror, vilaku(lamp), raw mangoes, fruits,a particular kind of yellow flower.. all arranged in the puja room..I wish I could post a snap of our Kani – but this year, I was exceptionally unprepared – so I have just my version of ‘all things auspicious’ .

Traditionally, crackers are burst on Vishu in Kerala. I remember my Dad, recounting these stories.. Unfortunately, I have never had the fortune of celebrating Vishu in Kerala.. I hope to make a payasam at the very least today :)

Wishing all of you a very Happy Vishu, Poila Baisakh, or Baisakhi or just Happy New Year to all of you who are celebrating it today! Don’t you think ,we are all really lucky that we get to celebrate 2 new years in a single year!

PS : Apologies to all of you, for not responding to your comments on my previous posts. I just got back last night and am now down with fever :( So will respond to your comments and read all your posts over the next 2 days..

34 thoughts on “Happy Vishu!

    • Solilo, Vishu aashamsakal! Had planned on making a sadya today – but we got back very late yesterday – so no supplies :( So will have to do a sadya on the weekend .. Had done a proper sadya last Onam and had loved it :)

  1. Happy Vishu to you Smitha… even I remember the Vishukaineetam….

    Get well soon and your mention of Sadhya makes me drool…

    • Thank you Happy Kitten! Wish you the same! Looks like I can’t stay away from the comp – despite a splitting headache :( Me too – I’m dying to eat a Sadhya – wish I knew someone who could make it for me :(

    • Thank you Ajit! Wish you the same! Oh yes – I forgot about the waking up early part :) Now its all tailored to our convenience :) Am so glad to be grown up – if only I could convince husband to give me ‘kaineettam’ :(

  2. Vishu Aashamsakal to you and your family.

    (Im writing this to everyone now)- ente vishu kaineettam money order aayittu ayachu thannaal madhi tto, CHECHI ! :D

  3. Happy Vishu to you and family !
    I loved reading this post, as I read everywhere Kaineetam and didnt know what is that:). I think in all the communities one thing is same , elders giving to youngers, In muslims it is Eedi in Ed, in north on Diwali all youngers get some money.

  4. Happy Vishu to you too my dear!When i was a little girl we’d celebrate our Tamil new year the same way as described by you except for obtaining money from elders. This may be because my mother was from Coimbatore district which has a Palakkad influence.My in law are from tanjavoor so we don’t celebrate it that way any more.Your post makes me want to revive the practice.may be i will.

    • Thank you so much, Padma and welcome here! Puthandu vazthukal to you too! It is fun,isn’t it? It is fun, isn’t it? I think the things we did as children, always seem more fun that they actually are :)

      ‘our post makes me want to revive the practice.may be i will.’ Please do – am sure you will enjoy it :)

  5. Happy Vishu to you Smitha : )
    Get well soon too.

    And did I hear someone say sadya here???

    Me: Thank you IHM! Yes, we all just talked about Sadya :) I certainly did not get down to making it :(

So, what do you think?

