Paneer Pinwheels

That is what this was supposed to be. Paneer Pinwheels. And since so many of you have asked me for it, I have to write out the recipe.

I had planned to make this ever since I saw the recipe on showmethecurry.com. I wanted a large enough gathering to feed, because I did not want to be scoffing all of them myself, you see. Daughter’s birthday party seemed perfect – loads of guinea pigs to be experimented on.

I made one batch on saturday evening to check if it were doable. I followed the recipe with a few changes of my own.

Ingredients

Puff Pastry sheet –  392 gms. There was one sheet in the pack. I used the chilled variety, so did not need to thaw it out. Just used it directly.

Paneer – One store bought block- 9oz approximately

Oil – 1 tsp

Turmeric – 1/4 tsp

Red Chilli Powder – 1/2 tsp or to taste

Chat Masala – 1/2 tsp

Amchoor – 1/4 tsp

Salt – as per taste

Corainder leaves – a handful, chopped

Green chutney – I had some on hand and decided to use it.

Grate/crumble the paneer. I grated it. Mix everything together except the oil.

Heat a pan, and stir fry the mixture in the oil, for about a minute, until all the masalas are well combined. Remove from heat.

Roll out the pastry sheet a bit, after dusting the surface with a little all purpose flour.

Spread the chutney, a very thin layer to avoid making the pastry sheet soggy.

Spread the entire paneer mixture over the whole pastry sheet.

Roll the pastry sheet gently, but firmly until you have a nice firm log. Use a little water to seal the end of the sheet firmly. I popped the prepared log into the freezer for a few minutes before cutting it up into equal sized slices, and baked them for about 15 minutes at 400 deg F. You need to keep checking it. Remove once nice and golden.

Let it cool, and bite in :)

Tips:

I made the first batch with puff pastry block, instead of sheets, and while the taste was just as good, it was more labor intensive. Sheets were much easier.

You could also use other stuffings, although I haven’t tried it yet. Do let me know if you guys try it with other stuffings.

27 thoughts on “Paneer Pinwheels

  1. Oh I love pinwheels and I make it with chicken stuffing and there is one which calls for spinach and cheese….that one is heaven I swear!!!

    So you fed an entire army? :shock: When are you planning to throw such a gastronomical feast for us bloggers?? (Btw skip Hitchy from the guest list ok? or no one will be able to see anything on the dining table :cry: )

  2. Errr…I thought this was something easy..Gah! Remind me to meet you when you are in Bangalore…I will just ask you to make it for me *Winning the award of the laziest blogger in the blogosphere*

  3. Had my breakfast, but this made me hungry again, first the picture and then all the chutney and amchoor mentioned in the recipe!!! :) Love your photographs – also the three fish in the header. Love all your pictures actually…
    Which camera?

  4. I am going to try this but, with aloo or spinach and cheese!
    (I don’t like paneer :( ) the recipe sounds delicious and the pics are drool-worthy! :D

  5. Smitha, I do the same with puff pastry and a paneer filling, but shape it like samosas or random polygons. Like the pinwheels presentation, will try this next time.

  6. It looks yumm, Smits! I have some frozen puff pastry sheets lying in the fridge for a while now, crying out to be used :). I will give this one a shot for sure..looks so tempting!

So, what do you think?

