The 3 Cs

Cleaning, Clearing, Cooking

It would be no exageration to say that the last few days have been crazy for me. I have been cleaning, clearing, cooking, hosting a party, and cleaning, clearing all over again.I do have loads of left overs to not have to worry about cooking though :)

It was daughter’s birthday last week, and I decided to do a small get-together, with our close friends, at home. And also ambitiously decided to cook. Of course, better sense prevailed, Or rather husband prevailed. He refused to even let me think about it. He knows me. So I settled on cooking a few things and ordering the rest – just to make me feel less guilty about not cooking entirely. You see, I have some friends who cook for massive parties, and I feel so inadequate. Husband, of course, believes that we should outsource everything that is not our core competency, and we should enjoy the day rather than go crazy cooking. Which I agree with, most of the time.

Thank goodness, he drilled some sense into me. Even with the little that I had to do, I was running around like a headless chicken. Shopping for everything we would need, cleaning, taking the opportunity to clear out clothes and toys that we needed to give away. Which just made it crazy, because I just ended up doing things which I could have easily done another time. The only way I could pull it off, was by staying away from the laptop. I allowed myself the phone(but of course :) ).

To cut a long story short, in the few days that I cut off myself from the laptop, my efficiency doubled. My cupboards are lighter, my carpets are cleaner, I wish I could say that I was lighter as well, but after a party, that would be a small miracle :) It won’t take too long for my carpets to go back to their earlier state, but I seriously plan to keep my cupboards light. I’m going to have a tough enough time trying to pack things into boxes without adding to it by shopping some more.

Now, with the party and the mess out of the way, I’ve got to get ready to go to Venice :) We are off to Venice next weekend! And I suspect that I will have to go on another blog sabbatical to get everything ready to go.

So I’ll get back next week and comment, reply to comments, read, etc, etc, etc :) I’ll try to sneak in when I can, but I might be better off staying away from the laptop. Oh, and please do wish for us that we get good weather this time! AND by good weather I mean, HOT weather!

PS: Leaving you with a picture of one of the things that I made, and luckily, turned out to be a huge hit :) especially lucky, because it was a first time experiment :)

26 thoughts on “The 3 Cs

  1. Ditto here, I also can’t cook for large groups somehow. Looks very interesting, what you’ve made Smitha! Do share the recipe, as I am planning to go on the entertaining mode this May!! And enjoy your trip!!!

    • I go a little crazy if I have to cook for loads of people. Plus I don’t even have the kind of vessels to hold everything, you know..

      Will share the recipe.

  2. Party sounds fabulous…and what a picture..it looks yum…what is it? Please to share the recipe :)

    Thank you! Will do :)
    My husband also says the same – if it’s not your core competency, outsource it. After a dozen years of living with him, I’ve come around to his point of view. Last weekend, he even suggested I outsource some of the useless school projects that I slave over :)

    Yours and mine seem to think very alike :)

    Happy birthday to the not-so-little one and hope she enjoyed the party! Next year, it will be with a new set of people, won’t it? :)

    Oh yes! Next year, new set of people, new place.. Very different, it will be :) Good different, hopefully :)
    Oooohh…Venice!!! (turning green with envy)…look forward to the pics once you are back. Wish you great and hot weather!
    :) Hoping that for once, we don’t take bad weather with us :)

  3. Wow! Sounds like you had yourselves a wonderful party! Glad you enjoyed! :)

    :) Yes, we had a great time :)

    Wow @ Venice. I am so J. :D Please, please do put up pics when you return.

    Will do:)

    That pic looks super awesome. What is it? Recipe please!
    Will put up the recipe today, if I get the time to jot it down.

    I have a dream of cooking up a storm for a party at home, but then, on second thoughts, I feel we should outsource the cooking and just concentrate on enjoying the party. :) In two minds about it.

    :) That was how I was- but decided to play safe :)
    Lighter cupboards are a dream of mine, too. I am working on that little by little every day.

    I have no option. I will have to start packing for India, and there is so many clothes that we have accumulated! It just needs to go :(
    Kudos to you for accomplishing all of this!

    Thank you :)

  4. Yay! you are going to Venice :) Have a nice vacation and come back with nice pics :)
    I had been to Venice few years back, the weather was good and it was beautiful there. Wishing you lots & lots of sunshine for the trip :) Enjoy

    • I have been planning Venice for ages. We went to Italy(Rome, Pisa and Florence) seven years back, but couldn’t make Venice. And have been thinking of going there ever since.

  5. Congratulations you have a very sensible husband. Hugs to Poohi on her birthday.
    Hope you get super weather in Venice. Get back soon and give us the recipe of that yummy looking dish. My kids’ birthday is coming up next month and I need some pointers.

    • LOL! Yes, I do have a sensible husband, who knows that he can’t laze around like he would like to, if I were doing all the cooking :)

    • Thank you :) Will pass pn the wishes. Cake – of course, come over! I have to tell you that we just have Costco Cake this time :( I will bake some biscuits for you – I remember my promise :)

  6. what is that thign but ? sort of bhakharwadi we get in baroda or soemthing with cheese ? looks yummy to say the least and happy birthday to the lil girl :D

  7. whoa that looks really yummy? is it made of patra leaves [colocasia]? called as allu-wadi in Marathi?

    and Venice? cool…ja balike ja..you’ll get your kind of weather :) tathastu :D

    come back soon, you are missed on the board,on the blog and on chayageet too ;)

  8. Oh wow u r off to Venice? Awesome Smiths and wishing and praying the weather god blesses u :)

    Happy birthday once again and this reminds me of that lovely video again – how cute was that, could not have enuf of it!:)

  9. Yeah, outsourcing for large parties is the best option. Otherwise, you are cooking the entire day and by the party time, you are dead tired. Enjoy your Venice trip!

  10. Belated Happy Birthday to Poohi :)

    That dish looks yummilicious!! Recipe give please..

    And you going to Venice…Enjoy yourself to the fullest :)

  11. wow.. you are going to venice? we will pray for good weather.. enjoy..
    party thing: its is tip for me, as i was planning for small party for my daughter’s birthday next week.. i will outsource everything :)

  12. Lots of love and hugs to Poohi!! :)

    I know a few ladies too, who cook massive amounts of food! i can’t! :(
    I love cooking, but I just can’t seem to cook for 15 or 20 people!!
    And I totally agree with your husband – outsourcing is the best thing to do! :D

So, what do you think?

