Weighty woes.

I did not weigh myself for months. I thought I was above all that. Surely I can’t let my self image by defined by what the weighing scales say, can I?

Then one day, the Wii Fit got switched on, because daughter wanted to play something one. While on the subject of gaming gadgets, we have the play station and the Wii – and neither gets used for months. And before you judge us, let me tell you how that happened. For a long time, we just had a tiny portable TV. Both of us were working for Indian IT companies, and we all know how it is, don’t we? You never know when it is time to go back to India. So we did not want to buy an expensive TV or any such gadget that we would have to leave behind. Then husband changed jobs and got into a UK based jobs. This meant, that we would be able to decide when to return, rather than our jobs deciding for us. And the first thing¬†we, husband bought was the big TV. I couldn’t see(still don’t) the point of it, given that I only watch NDTV or the BBC once in a while. Once the TV was bought, husband wanted to buy a blue-ray dvd player. He did the research(he does extensive research when it comes to gadgets, which is why I can never gift him a gadget – he hates being deprived of all that research and analysis), and came to the conclusion that ¬†the Playstation is the best option because it also came with a blue ray player. Till date,we could count on our fingers the times he must have used it as a gaming equipment.

Now the Wii, is all my fault. One of my friends bought it, and raved about it. So much that I did some research and came to the conclusion that it is just what I need. And since then it sits on our entertainment unit, as a decorative piece.

Every once in a while I get into my exercise mood and switch it on, and it tells me that it has been a long time since it last saw me. I use it for a week or so, before my resolve goes for a toss, and I am back to being lazy me.

So back to my story of my weight. I have put on loads of weight in the last few weeks. Not entirely surprised given that I have been baking a lot. Plus with husband away, I read late into the night after daughter is asleep. I eat early(early dinners being good and all that), and then get hungry as I read. So end up munching junk. All that munching shows on my scales now. And what do I do? I go and make a sponge cake :( I made it on daughter’s request – but how do I stop myself from helping myself to some as well?

I guess the only option is to not check my weight for some time, don’t you think? Or I have to scare myself into watching what I eat.. How do you guys manage? I lose my motivation within minutes :(

26 thoughts on “Weighty woes.

  1. I get what you are saying but have no useful advice… I don’t have weight issues but when it comes to food or exercise I’m strict…. You can leave my fav. Dessert and I won’t touch it….but I have a medical reason for this…

    That is great, AT. Even if it is for a medical reason – it is great if you can have that sort of control!

    I’m just blabbering with nothing useful…all I want to say is try once again if you are worried :-)

    Will try again :)

  2. I am on the heavier side of the scales (though I try to blame it on baby weight, but that won’t help me forever :cry:) but I am pretty strict and disciplined as far exercise goes. I don’t feel good till I have had an exercise session, if not in the morning then in the evening.

    That is so disciplined of you, ME! I wish I were like that! The thing is, I really like execising – it is just that if I miss my morning window – it gets difficult to fit in. I walk – but not as briskly as I used to. I used to walk alone, and I used to be very brisk. But these days I have friends joining me – and that kind of slows me down..I should somehow go back to walking alone.

    The only motivation that keeps me exercising regularly is to allow myself to eat and cook foods without looking at their calorie count. Yeah, I am a mad foodie who doesn’t mind sweating and aching just for the love of food.

    That is a good motivation :)

    Since you too love to bake, exercise to be able to bake more often and without worrying about the calorie count :D :D

    Good Luck

    Thank you! I just hope I can stick to my regime..

  3. I am forever struggling with my weight!! :P
    So, I have no advice, only hugs!! And that you are much more strict than I am with diet and exercise!!

  4. You have 1 cheat day per week and eat what you want, but if you really want to lose – let go of sugar and fat(butter, oil, ghee etc). Have you checked out any Jillian Micheals dvds? I would HIGHLY recommend ripped in 30( 4 weeks, 5/6 days per week, 30mins, has 4 levels), no more trouble zone (45mins but you can choose which circuits to do so it gets shorter or longer), banish fat boost metabolism (again 45mins but you can choose the circuits). I have to tell you I hate that woman and didn’t want to do any of her stupid exercise (I thought she was a badass nutjob bcos he attitude on The biggest loser show). A whole year passed and I saw her dvd for just 9$ in Walmart I picked it up and now I own 7 of her dvds !!!

    She is still badass and there are times during her exercise you will curse her but she is the real deal.

  5. oh ho, why is everyone so fussed about the weight , You are FINE let me tell you.. I got this wii It refused to take my weight :)

    Just eat normal food and exercise .. come to birmingham i will take you for a run early mornings 6:am all weight sheight will go away … aven faltoooo tension … as such so many tensions now you added one more ot it :)

    and The reason why you put on weight is because you are not sharing those lovely recipes you are cooking … the yummyliscious fooood , share share and share .. its less for you to eat .. see what an idea .. so when do i come for the share :) he he he he

  6. Don’t be too hard on yourself. I see that you are not, and that’s good so don’t even start with it. As long as you are fit, active, and have no health issues, everything’s good. Crank up the exercise if you feel too guilty. Just sweat out everything you eat! :D

  7. okay now losing weight is a lifelong struggle for me.. you don’t want to hear from a loser do you? From my experience its okay to eat but just go easy with 30 mins exercise routine everyday..

  8. Even I stopped getting on top of the scale and with my India trip I am scared to do so. It is visble the amount of fat I have accumulated.. I too wish I stay motivated with some exercise and routine.

  9. sniff…I can’t say much on this issue can I ? :cry: I would die if someone told me to stop eating….i need to eat all the time :razz:

    Gosh exercise on Wii did you say?? :shock: Take me anywhere near our gym and I get nauseated. The only exercise I do is walk walk for hours and cycling if there is no crazy traffic :smile:

  10. Tell me about the weight loss struggle! I have always been healthy (to be polite), and have recently started really minding what I am eating. It helps to keep in your mind a picture of the new, leaner you after you lose weight. :)

    Though this is not the right post for saying what I want to, I will do so – I baked a couple of days ago. I made cookies – those simple ones with just 3 ingredients. God, they are so very simple to make. And they tasted AWESOME!! The family and husband’s colleagues wolfed them down in no time. I am so so so HAPPY. :) Thank you so much for introducing me to this recipe, Smitha!

    Would love to know if you have any other equally simple recipe that I could try out before going on to make a cake?

  11. Ooh What a thing you’ve brought up. The weight thing is crazy.. I call it Voldemort.. always lurking arround, ready to pounce as soon as your attention is diverted. There’s no way out other than exercise. Eating smart helps and that late-night snacking Gawd that’s deadly. Keep cut fruit handy… It helps if like me you’re not a good cook.. haha.

  12. I gained a lot of post-wedding flab. now trying to cut it down. We have lessened our general intake of food, visit the gym atleast 4 times a week for atleast an hour – cardios plus weights. I’ve cut down on dinner… both of because of weight gain as well as lack of sleep since I eat late and cannot sleep till that food is digested, which takes till atleast 2 hrs, and it was affecting my sleep as well.

    And yes, most importantly, you will have to avoid bakery items :) For me it was killing since I have such a sweet tooth. But it’s working….albeit slowly. The ability is persevere and keep at it until one reaches the target is the worst part…. getting there inch by inch (pun intended :D )

    • Oh, and don’t deprive yourself entirely. Cravings become 10 times worse.

      I just have fruits for dinner instead of say, the pastry. Sort of like intelligent but filling substitution! :)

  13. I have quit gym as it is boring!
    I have not quit eating because it is interesting!
    Therefor I have quit checking out a weighing machine because it is unfriendly.
    That quite sums up my story ;-)

So, what do you think?

