Princess Detox and random nothings..

More of random nothings actually.

Two weeks back, when we got back from holiday, I was bursting with energy and posts in my head were just waiting to be penned down. One busy week left me with no enthusiasm for doing a post, or even glancing at my reader. I go through such crazy phases – when I have no time to blog, I have too much to post, and at other times – it is quite the reverse!

The one thing I have realized is that one big reason why I am able to be a SAHM is blogging. It certainly has enhanced my life in more ways than one, and not being able to blog, certainly pulls me down.

One of the things that I am oh so delighted to announce is that Poohi is almost totally ‘princess detoxed’. This time in Disney, all she wanted was to do rides and roller coasters, much to her dad and my delight! When given a choice between ‘meeting princesses and fairies’ and riding a roller-coaster – she chose the roller-coaster without a second thought! I have to say that that made my day. Although she still is a bit of a moral policewoman. We saw Princess Jasmine and she ran to meet her, only to walk away suddenly. On being asked why, she says, ‘ I don’t like her tummy showing’!

I have been baking and eating – a lot, and no/t getting any exercise. I have fallen in love with melt-in-the-middle chocolate cakes and can’t have enough of them! The best part is that I can make a batch, pour them into ramekins and just bake them when we feel like it. Pictures? No, they don’t last long enough for pictures to get taken. The bad part is that I end up eating them on ¬†regular basis. Then again, life is too short to worry about a cake or two, isn’t it?

Remember that reading challenge I took up? Well, I am happy to say that I am well on my way to reading the 10 books I had committed on. I have also added a new page dedicated to the books I read. I wanted to find out how many books I actually read in a year, so I copied Monika’s reading corner idea :) Hope you don’t mind, Mon. Maybe you guys could tell me which books of out of those listed, you want me to review? That might not prevent me from inflicting my reviews on you :)

During our holiday in America, I had a ‘lost in translation’ moment. In a shop, I wasn’t sure if someone was in the queue to bill her stuff. So I asked her, ‘ Are you in the queue’?

She looked lost, until her companion said, ‘Oh she means ‘line’! ¬† They say ‘queue’ for ‘line’ in some language’ and then turning to me, ‘ No, we are not in the line, which language is it in, though?’

Me, ‘ Well, I did think it was English’ ;)

44 thoughts on “Princess Detox and random nothings..

    • I think I agree with you on the point that blogging is one of the reasons why sitting back at home is easier than I thought… :)

      :) I am sure I would be bored to death otherwise!

      Congratulations on princess detoxification :)

      Thank you! I can’t tell you how happy I am :)

      LOL @ tummy showing ;)

      hahaha language differences :D
      Language differences are so funny! I should do a proper post on it, sometime :)

    • Oh no, I ‘spelt’ 1st instead of just writing the number, and unfortunately came second in the Queue, or was it ‘Line’ ;-)

      Yes, lets blame it on the spelling taking longer :)

      So Poohi has tasted the thrills of roller-coaster-rides and other exciting stuff now, awesome!!!! My little dare-devil always did this, and I wish he would be more interested in Princesses and Fairies!! Hmmm… Welcome back to Blogging, Smitha, and I hope I can follow suit too!!

      Last year, she was more fascinated with princesses and fairies – this year, thankfully – she was happier doing the rides :) She wasn’t happy with one turn – she wanted to ride them again :) On the last day, we reached the park at 7 am – so we got practically empty rides – no queues or ‘lines’ :)

      Yes, Pals come back to blogging :) Am feeling better already :)

  1. Lol at the line vs queue confusion! Americans…pfft! :P They say things differently and think the rest of us are wrong. (My biases for British English is showing…) And yay about Poohi’s princess detox! :D Had to laugh at her princess jasmine thing though…

    I know :) I have a bias for British English too :) Guess it’s because we grew on it, didn’t we :)

    Can you imagine her reaction if she sees some of the Hindi movies at this rate :)She was scandalised by princess jasmine’s tummy showing :)

  2. he hehe Good on Poohi not liking princess jasmine yeah how dare the rincess show her tummy , shud have asked her to learn
    how to dress.. and oh my she loves roller coaster PERFECT who wants to talk to the characters when you can have the adrenalin running
    on those rides…

    I know :) Saves a lot of time too :) There are looong queues everywhere :)

    and baking eating all alone not fair, when u gonan share with people on the blog .. :)

    Next time I bake- I will take pics and share :) Or else, we should have a UK bloggers meet and I can bring my cakes :)

    well dont on the challenge woo hoo way to go …

    huh americans .. they always change the words .. the yahve funny words for most things.. well what can u say
    they drive on the WRONG side of the road no wonder :)

    LOL! An American had asked me- when I was living there – You guys drive on the wrong side of the road – like the British, don’t you :)

  3. Lol at jasmine showing tummy,kids observe a lot no….

    one big reason why I am able to be a SAHM is blogging. It certainly has enhanced my life in more ways than one, and not being able to blog, certainly pulls me down—- i completely agree.Even if i stop writing in my blog,i will make it a point to read u all for the inspirations u all give me.. :)

  4. ROFL @ the last part!!!! :lol: they couldn’t even recognize a word queue.. Then they will have a hard time in understanding my English, if at all I go there, which has many such words :D :D

  5. Ha ha ha! Queue vs line – that’s y most ppl here decide not to stand in one me thinks :P :P
    LOL! Yes, that sure makes sense :)

    LOL @ tummy showing ;) Poohi is a sweetheart :D

    Sweetheart or not, I am not complaining :)

  6. SHe doesnt like the tummy showing??? :D LOL! Save this precious dialogue for the future….and show it back to her when she is a teenager. Trust me, u’ll need it! :mrgreen:

    I know! I have to book mark it or even better, print it and frame it :)

    Melt in the middle chocolate cakes?? Dammit, why’d u have to remind me???? :( sigh…
    They are lovely, aren’t they, Ash! I can’t have enough of them :)

  7. Poohi is superb for role of moral police :-)
    I so agree with you on blogging part…when i was at home for 1.5yr..blogging was only thing which makes me feel I m spending some time for myself…doing thing which i like…I so miss blogworld while I m in office and cannot open wordpress :-)

  8. And because I started blogging I didn’t go back to my job. Of what started as a hiatus to recharge the batteries took a completely different, unexpected turn.

    Excess of anything is a good detox idea. Perhaps the chocolate cake phase might just work.

  9. Those lava cakes that dominos advertises… ahaaa!! I love them.. Smiths what’s your recipe… post post post…

    Princess detox :) :) and tummy showing haa haa! these kids and their observations :P

    Tell me about language… I’ll write a term paper ;)

  10. MOral Police man.. hehe..> V has a very similar moment yesterday- SHe got Proncess Aria for her Birthday.. and the first thing she said was: “She is not wearing any clothes” :-)

    LOL! They certainly have their moral values in place :)

    Roller Coasters… great going for Poohi… she is enjoying the “thrills” now.. yaya!!

    Oh yes! And we are delighted :)

  11. Once in a Walmart, an employee looked down his nose at us when we asked, “Do you have any deals or schemes?” “We don’t scheme, sir.” Turns out we should’ve said ‘Sale’.

    :) English is so different in every part of the world! There were a bunch of words/usages that we use so very commonly in India, but they look blankly at us, when we use it, even in UK :)

    And in restaurants, instead of ‘Water without ice’, we had to say, ‘Water. No ice.’:roll: :roll:

    That should not be that difficult to understand! You know on word that makes no sense to me – in American English is ‘momentarily’ – as in, ‘we will be with you momentarily’, instead of ‘we will be with you in a moment’. Every time I hear it I shudder :(

  12. Oh yes, I agree, Smits, blogging had made my life as an SAHM far easier and more fun too.

    LOL @ the line/queue confusion.

    And where is the snap of those melt-in-the-middle cakes??

  13. Pingback: When I was away.. | Any Excuse to Write…

So, what do you think?

