The most difficult job I’ve ever had..

is trying to plan my daughter’s 3rd birthday party… Last year we got away with taking her to the London aquarium – she was delighted and was least interested in having a party! The year before that, on her first birthday, it was more for us than her, actually. And so much easier to organise.. I can’t believe it that I managed to do it all – while working too.. This year. however she knows everything  about a party! She has her own list of demands.

She wants a ‘Happy Birthday to me’ party:) And wants to be a ‘pincence’( her version of ‘Princess’) and just to be ensure that we do not feel left out – she’s told us ‘Amma pincence and Daddy pincence!’ She still thinks that Daddy is a girl too.. No matter how many times I tell her, she still goes, ‘Good Girl, Daddy’ and now Daddy is a ‘pincence’ too :)   So now she wants a pink pincence cake and lots of bloons(Balloons) and Party tooters and chocolates’ . Thats all! Nothing much!

Well, Amma has been extremely lazy, was lost in her blogging world, oblivious to the fact that daughter’s birthday is less than 3 weeks away! So, in complete panic, I did what I do best, log on, where I got waylaid commenting and reading your posts – when I remembered – Oh no! I have another agenda for today!

So have now started the search for a venue.. I found some great places where they take care of everything, including party invites, all we have to do is turn up with the cake, which too by the way, they would be happy to provide – at an additional cost of,course! As if I would assume otherwise! So what is the problem? Just this – all these great places are all booked! sob sob :(

 Here were some sample conversations with some of the venue managers..

Me, ‘Hi, I was looking to book a birthday party for my daughter – on the xxth.’

She, Oh, I’m so sorry Ms X, but we are totally booked on that day.., would you be willing to shift your party by a coupe of weeks? I might have something then’

Me, ‘ Oh, No, thank you very much for your time’

Or alternative scenario

Phone Ringing… No answer.. please leave your message after the beep!

So now, its very clear that I am very late :( Let me see, surely there must be something available!! I have left loads of Voice Messages and emailed every Tom, Dick and Harry! Please please pray for me!

I have done a few useful things though,

- Have found a bunch of party food suppliers:)

-Have found party paraphernalia suppliers (what paraphernalia, you might ask , well, you’ll be surprised to see the amount of stuff that goes in! Parties certainly have become very very sophisticated these days, apparently,you need pinatas, party favours, themed cutlery, and not to forget the most important thing – the cake!! Of course, a lot of websites have loads of advice how an organic, homemade cake is the best – but thats one headache I’d rather not take up..For one, I’m lazy, two, Its going to be very difficult to keep in intact till the party starts!

So please, please pray for me – that I actually find a party venue!! And any advice is welcome:) And no, I really don’t fancy holding it at home :)

33 thoughts on “The most difficult job I’ve ever had..

  1. Well the idea was to host it at home… but since your not looking at it… hmmmm

    unfortunately I have no contacts you see in London !! :(

    But I am sure you will organise something great !! :)

    • Dhiren, Cannot afford to have my carpet full of cake :( And also the hassle of setting it all up and the cleaning up afterwards! Sigh! But it does look like I may not have much of a choice- still no luck with the venue hunting! sob sob!

  2. At home would be great !!! really !! Kids are supposed to mess things !

    Its their fundamental right !!

    and our fundamental duty to clean up !

    stop being lazy ! :)
    :D

    • Dhiren – Yes, Yes, Lazy me:( Guess I will not have much of an option will I :) Still hoping :)

      As for ‘their fundamental right’ – my daughter sure will agree with you :) As far as she is concerned – it is my fundamental right to tidy up after her:( Just a few months back – she used to love tidying up! I’m raising a monster!!!

  3. Lol even i call my younger one a monster.She doesn’t know the meaning of monster,she is just 20months old.the day she knows it i am finish.
    Kids just love there bday parties.My elder finished 5yrs on feb 1st and the next day she started asking when again she will have her bday party.I prefer doing at home.But as u said there will be so much mess to clean after the party.
    I think u get the info about the theme in the food blogs.Let me see if i can get anything for u.
    I suggest barbie theme,they will love it.

    • Varunavi – This one knows the meaning of monster now :) So tries to fit into the description as well as she can:) She has been so excited about a party – can’t tell you! I already have a theme, and everything sorted out – just have to find a place to host it:) Wanted to get a hall or something as that way the children have more place to play as well, you know.

      ‘My elder finished 5yrs on feb 1st and the next day she started asking when again she will have her bday party’ – Lol! They all love parties don’t they:)

      There is an awful lot on the internet – if only all the decent places were not booked:) Anyways, as a last resort- Home sweet home is always there:)

  4. hey smitha ..nice to see u on wordpress….WP gang is growing :-)

    Me too dont prefer organising parties at home coz of lot of pre and post hardwork is must for it…thank god arranging hall is not a problem in india :-)

    Wish u luck in finding good place :-)

    • Thank you Rashmi, Had been thinking of moving for some time now.. Finally did it, inspired by Indyeah and Dhiren:)

      Same here – It is such a hassle and all ‘ pre and post hardwork’ :) Yes, hoping that I will get hold of something :) Thank you!

  5. With me not went beyond Chennai, I can’t help you in finding the place in London :(

    /*And wants to be a ‘pincence’*/ :)

    /*‘Good Girl, Daddy’ and now Daddy is a ‘pincence’ too */
    Smitha, don’t forget to record them… and gift it to her in any of her later b’day.. she will love it.. :)

    Wishes from me to find a suitable place soon :)

    • Kanagu, :) I record so much that we ran out of all our storage space:) We just had to buy a brand new hard disk :) Yes, all this is recorded, but sometimes its very difficult to get them to say these interesting things to the camera :)

      I just found a place!!! Can’t say how happy I am!

  6. Bad bad bad Amma :D

    Poohi says Pincense and Tooters. Cootchie! coo…I jushst want to pinch and kissh that little Poohi.

    I still talk like that to my Peanut and she corrects me now :( Yeah! the big 5 year old old. I miss those baby talks :(

    Smi, why not at home? Or is there a Club house which you can rent? Do you have membership with Country clubs? You can rent their party hall too.

    Advanced birthday wishes to sweet little Poohi *umma* *umma*

    • Solilo, I know!! the baddest of Bad Ammas!!! Yes, she still baby talks.. Peanut is a big girl now – ‘she corrects me now’- Awww how sweet!! She must be wondering ‘Why is Mamma talking like this???’ :)
      They grow up too soon.. Already I find her grown up! Not liking it at all!!!

      Why not at home – 1. Can’t fit so many people into the house… I mean I can, but it would be a tight squeeze! And also, because of all the clearing up and pre-party prep:( The problem is that from the look of it, people plan parties months in advance! So almost everything is booked up :(
      But anyways – found a place! It’s not too far either.. Will check it out tomorrow – YAY!

      Poohi is passing back Umma! She wants to see this aunty – so I showed her your profile snap and she’s a little confused :)

  7. Thanks so much Solilo – Will get back to you if I have questions:) Hugs for that!

    I had read your post on Peanut’s birthday – it was the sweetest ever!!!

    I am quite comfortable with the theme – there are loads of options for that.. And anyways, she is at that stage where she would be happy with anything pink. Today she asked me to make her a ‘pink chocolate cake’. My biggest worry was the venue.. Thankfully that is sorted now.. I know what to do for next time though – book 2 months in advance:)

  8. :) LOL Smitha…

    your “pincence” is demanding and so cute… :) LA is more my area…
    my wide spread however does not include London!!… :) LOL….

    and advice from me on child matters….. would be like advice from a deer to a lion on Hunting tactics…… :) LOL…..

    My best wishes for the family!!!!!

    • Demanding she is! To think that just a few months back – she was blissfully unaware of such things as parties:)

      and advice from me on child matters….. would be like advice from a deer to a lion on Hunting tactics……Lol :) Nice one!!!

      Thank you very much for the wishes :) As you can see – I am up not planning the party but experimenting on WP :) I even tried out some rusty(very, very rusty, actually) html skills :)

    • Am really really enjoying it a lot :) Did a lot of tinkering around… Certainly feels better than blogger in many ways..

  9. Your lil Poohi is a darling :)
    aww @pincence (((hugs))for Poohi:)
    kiddie parties are quite somethinbg arent they?:)

    Happy birthday to lil Poohi! :) a bit early :D but still Pincence should start celebrating now :D
    Hope you get the venue and everything sorted out :)

    ((hugs))

    • Thank you Indyeah!! Yes, Kiddie parties are soemthing else! A lot of fun for them and a lot of headache for us – but all worth it – I guess- to see her happiness :)
      Thank you for the early wishes – will pass it on to her :) She is more than happy – she says ‘Thank you, I’m welcome’ to you :)

      Yes, most of the things are sorted out.. I just have to order a few more things – buts everythings under control – after my panic attack last week :)

  10. So Amma pincence and Daddy Pincence’s little pincence tries to fit into the role of a monster pincence ? I call mine Devils.

    I hope you manage something really good, for her ‘Happy birthday to me’ party. If you really find it tedious maybe the best way to make it interesting would be to take pictures of everything, the decorations – the cake baking ( or buying), her gifts and the carpet full of cake and blog about it! I am teased for looking at everything that happens these days with ‘blog-tinted-glasses’ … we are all the same I think :)
    Look forward to hearing if our best wishes worked.

    • Yes, IHM, she is certainly a monster – though she desperatly wants to be a ‘pincence’ :)
      I have finally managed to sort out things over the weekend :) So things are finally under control.. I almost freaked out last week :)
      Will definitely take loads of snaps and make a post out of it:) We blogomanics(thanks Solilo!) – can’t help thinking everything in blogging terms :)LOL – Blog tinted glasses!!! I am definitely going to use that :)

      Thank you so much for the wishes – am sure they have already worked their magic:)

  11. Welcome to WordPress. The big advantage is here the wide variety of templates. On the downside, limited options for tinkering with layouts, unlike Blogger. Also the integration with Google Reader that Blogger offers is not available here.

    • Thank you Pradeep, I am certainly enjoying WP.. Yes Blogger does have some plus points, but overall I think WP works out better..

  12. Happy Birthday in advance to the little Princess.. hope you will have a great party and waiting to enjoy it through your blog..

    nd why do little girls love Pink? mine still has not grown over the color…

    • Happy Kitten, Thank you!!! Will certainly let you know how it goes:)

      ‘why do little girls love Pink’ No idea!! i wish I knew! I had a tough time shopping in India this time, madam wanted only pink! no other colours! And the sad thing is that the prettiest clothes were not in pink! The other day she wanted a pink ‘watering can’ !!

  13. why not host the party in dubai..with recession hitting us hard..u r sure to get a good bargain..hahah..hey..btw..pass on our advance greetings to junior..and do stay connected…cheers..

    • Ya Ya Ramesh! How rich do you think I am!!!! My husband was glad enough that I did not do too much of shopping at Dubai Airport when I was passing by :) Will pass on your greeting to my little monster :) Thanks so much!

  14. I have no clue about this. But once you are done with this you need to put up a post that says Do’s and Don’ts of arranging birthday party !! and or may be a dummies guide for that !! what say ? :D

    Just a bouncer thought don’t they have event management companies to arrange such parties? :P

    • BlueMist, :) Thats a good one.. Dos and Dont’s – The most important Don’t – Don’t Laze around :) Yes, makes sense to do a post on that :) Am sure I will need to refer to that next year :)

      They do have event management places.. But most of the good ones are booked – Most of the good venues are booked – apparently – start of summer – loads of people celebrating – especially as its over the weekend. Anyways – its thankfully sorted out now :)

  15. So did you eventually find a place?

    We’ve been organizing a party on my nephew’s bday for a couple of years now . Once had it at home. The second time we had it at McDonalds. And to tell you the truth, I haven’t had more fun in any bday party ever!!! Kids loved it. Great energy. Good play space. Great music and games. And not quite crazy on the wallet. But this was in Dubai. Not sure how it is out there in UK but I’m guessing it will be on par.

    • Yes Masood – Thankfully we did! Now its all set :) Thank you!
      Yes MacDonalds is an option – we did consider it – daughter would be delighted – her favourite chicken! We were in 2 minds because some of the guests are quite strictly vegetarians.. Anyways – thankfully its all sorted.

So, what do you think?

